Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but..
There is a complete lack of instructions so when you read a power error you get a false positive. it appears you need to plug the main mobo power and processor socket into it and you get a good reading. if you plug anything else in by itself only the lights glow. IT works well, once you've figured out how to use it.
However I was disapointed by the quality as the...
Published on 13 Sep 2011 by ekul81

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars PSU Tester
You get what you pay for and at less than £10.00 you shouldn't expect too much. The case quality is OK but not top quality with rough edges around the join. The display also on mine did not seen 100% lined up. It does the job though but as I've only just received it I cannot comment on how long it will last. Ideal for home use but maybe for professionals you would want...
Published on 24 Jun 2012 by Designman


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars PSU Tester, 24 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DIGIFLEX ATX Power Supply Tester 20 24 Pin SATA LCD Diagnose PSU (Electronics)
You get what you pay for and at less than £10.00 you shouldn't expect too much. The case quality is OK but not top quality with rough edges around the join. The display also on mine did not seen 100% lined up. It does the job though but as I've only just received it I cannot comment on how long it will last. Ideal for home use but maybe for professionals you would want something better with a few more features.
The tester comes without any sensible instructions but the following might help others. Description is with the display towards you.
On the RH side, plug in your 24 pin plug with pin 13 (orange wire) at the top and 24 (black wire)at the bottom. If you have a 20+4 plug arrangement join them together making sure the wire colours are as noted above. On the LH side plug in a 4/6/or 8 pin plug as indicated on the tester. Only put in ONE plug. These have black and yellow wires or possibly black/yellow stripe. Note with all plugs make sure the retaining clip is on the same side as the lug on the tester. On my PSU I have three of these plugs and it works with any of them.
Turn on the power supply and the tester will beep twice and the display will give a number of readings testing the voltages on the 24 pin plug. If there is no 4/6/8 plug connected the +12V2 readout second left at the top will say LL and the tester will beep continuously. You can Google ATX POWER SUPPLY to get details of the 24 pins and the voltages you should get.
To test your various connectors just plug each in one at a time into the appropriate socket; ie. Molex, FDD and SATA. With the SATA plug this pushes onto the edge if the circuit board inside so make sure the connecting terminals are on the top as there is no nicety like a shaped aperture to get the orientation right. The green LEDs illuminate to show the voltages available.
The main display reads PG on the RHS to indicate Power Good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but.., 13 Sep 2011
This review is from: DIGIFLEX ATX Power Supply Tester 20 24 Pin SATA LCD Diagnose PSU (Electronics)
There is a complete lack of instructions so when you read a power error you get a false positive. it appears you need to plug the main mobo power and processor socket into it and you get a good reading. if you plug anything else in by itself only the lights glow. IT works well, once you've figured out how to use it.
However I was disapointed by the quality as the plastic cover for it's LCD screen was displaced and had to be reinserted once I removed it from its box.

It does however work well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PSU Tester, 28 July 2011
By 
P. Joyce (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: DIGIFLEX ATX Power Supply Tester 20 24 Pin SATA LCD Diagnose PSU (Electronics)
The tester is pretty self explanatory - despite the lack of much in the way of instructions, you just connect up a variety of plugs from the PSU you wish to test, switch the PSU on, and the tester springs into life. It has a clear display, showing all of the voltages and such, and also has audible cues during the initial power up stage.

I needed one in order to test a potentially broken PSU, as I've put together several PCs myself. The tester quickly told me that the PSU was indeed the fault in the system, and allowed me to RMA it and not have to go swapping hardware around, or taking it somewhere to be looked into professionally.

Excellent service from the seller Digiflex too - item arrived the following day! Wouldn't hesitate to order from those guys again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Works but not idiot proof - safety issue with keyed sockets, 19 Nov 2012
By 
CA Pearse (West Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DIGIFLEX ATX Power Supply Tester 20 24 Pin SATA LCD Diagnose PSU (Electronics)
I agree with others who have commented on the lack on instructions, but it was fairly easy to sort out the main connectors and I was getting clear readings (voltage to one decimal point, though I don't know how accurate it is as I have not compared it with another tester).

But then the problem... At one end of the tester there are two sockets, one marked for testing 8 or 4 pin, the other for 6 pin, with the additional warning "Use correct connector". This is where a little knowledge can be a dangerous thing. I have built quite a few computers and I know that the connectors are keyed so that it should be difficult, if not impossible, to fit the wrong plug (male connector) into the wrong socket (female connector). I started swapping plugs around to test them. Suddenly there was smoke and the smell of burning. After that neither the tester nor the power supply would work. :-((

What I had done was plug a 6+2 (ie 8) pin PCI-E connector into the 8 pin 12v power socket. I should not have done this! But I should not have been able to - because the two plugs have a different arrangement of the shaped pins (square and rounded). In fact it was easy to put the wrong plug into the wrong socket, I tested it with the benefit of hindsight and it really was very easy, and did not feel at all forced. Also, there is no correctly keyed socket for an 8 pin PCI-E connector, the tester will only cope with 6 pin PCI-E.

I am writing this in the hope that others will learn from my mistake. But it would be much safer if the instructions included a warning of this risk, or better still if the 8 pin socket would not accept an 8 pin PCI-E connector. Because this is a safety issue, I am only giving the product 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power Supply Tester, 4 Oct 2011
By 
B. Margetts (Suffolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DIGIFLEX ATX Power Supply Tester 20 24 Pin SATA LCD Diagnose PSU (Electronics)
Excellent item, good price, fast delievery and well packed. Tested 12 power supplies and found 3 faulty. Quick and easy to use and results presented in an unambiguous manner. Much quicker than using a multi meter. Excellent product. Make sure you purchase from Digiflex as they are an excellent company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ATX, BTX, ITX Power Supply Tester 5/5 24hr delivery to boot..!!, 29 Mar 2011
By 
David Glasgow "Wego" (Co.Tyrone, United Kingdom.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DIGIFLEX ATX Power Supply Tester 20 24 Pin SATA LCD Diagnose PSU (Electronics)
Bought this Power supply tester.. as it looked good so I took the risk..!!

I am pleased to say the ATX, BTX, ITX SUPPLY TESTER is both Excellent (does its Job) and its of reasonable cost.

It was delivered to me inside 24hrs at my request to the seller, they immediately responded, as it was needed urgently.

All I can say it works well, you DO NOT NEED to read the instructions because if your a (PC builder) you will understand the readings and voltages.

This is the only true tester that works on Amazon, (I purchased 1 other PSU TESTER and failed to post.!) - So AVOID the other kit, and buy this

ATX, BTX, ITX POWER SUPPLY TESTER.

ONLY IF YOU ARE IN A HURRY AND NEED SOMETHING THAT WORKS.... again I had mine within 24hrs after a message to the seller.. 9/10.

thanks for reading...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DIGIFLEX ATX Power Supply Tester 20 24 Pin SATA LCD Diagnose PSU (Electronics)
Brushed metal case. Cool blue LCD display. Accurate when tested against a multimeter. Good for on site diagnostics. Same product sells for more than double after certain vendors re-brand it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can save you a lot of time, money and grief, 9 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DIGIFLEX ATX Power Supply Tester 20 24 Pin SATA LCD Diagnose PSU (Electronics)
ATX, BTX, ITX Power Supply Tester With LCD Display If you have ever known that sinking feeling when your PC stops working, then you should have one of these. Without it, it is often hard to tell whether the problem is the power supply or some other component (motherboard, etc.). Replacing these parts one by one is a pain and can be expensive. When my PC failed most recently, the power supply appeared to be generating all the right voltages and the lights on the motherboard pointed to a CPU failure. I didn't have a spare CPU and you couldn't buy them in the same package any more. So I was forced to replace motherboard, CPU, CPU cooler and RAM, which cost about £300. Unfortunately, the problem was in the power supply (it wasn't generating 'power good'). Had I invested in this excellent little Power Supply Tester, I would have found out within minutes that it was the PSU at fault and saved £300. A great little unit and outstanding value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DIGIFLEX ATX Power Supply Tester 20 24 Pin SATA LCD Diagnose PSU (Electronics)
Having read the various reviews I opened the package with a little trepidation, half expecting a cheap looking plastic tester that MAY work. With delight I discovered a robust, extruded aluminium case that more than looks the part. Contrary to other reviews there are instructions (of a sort) on the back of the package. The main display is quite clear and simple to read and gives information on the various voltages on the ATX connector, also the 4/6/8 pin motherboard plug voltage is displayed too,when connected. You can also test your drive leads as well(One at a time), these voltages are shown on status lights. Unfortunately for me I also discoverd the continuous beeping means a duff PSU.
All in all its a nice simple to use piece of kit and joins my tool kit permanently. Its cheap but it really does do what it says.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great portable device, 29 July 2012
By 
sliverfox (hampshire, uk.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DIGIFLEX ATX Power Supply Tester 20 24 Pin SATA LCD Diagnose PSU (Electronics)
the device is small enough to fit in your pocket and certainly a valuable tool for any PC repairer. although the device cannot show how the power supply will operate under load conditions it does indicate a duff one immediately and it's fantastic for showing noisy or defective Power supply Fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews