Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You need to know this, and practice it., 4 Jan 2004
By 
mr_ska (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The title of the book 'Three Second Fighter: The Sniper Option' refers to Thompson's advice on how best to prepare yourself for a situation where you are under imminent threat of assault. He explains that most violent confrontations are over in about three seconds, with the person who strikes the first blow usually being the one who comes out of the situation in better shape. Thus Thompson's advice is that you learn and practice a very small number of techniques to give you as much of an advantage as possible in case you are caught up in a situation that is about to become violent but which you cannot escape from.
The bulk of the (quite short) book is taken up with explaining the 'attack rituals' of violent offenders such as muggers, and with showing you the core techniques you need to practice to help you deal with things in the event that you are about to be attacked. He makes it quite clear that although knowing a huge number of martial arts techniques can be very useful if a fight or attack lasts more than three seconds, the best thing you can do is master and practice, over and over, one or two powerful techniques that will become automatic responses if you ever need to act in self defense. These techniques will be your 'sniper option', the pre-emptive strike deployed to give you enough time to get away or put any more thought of attacking you out of the assailant's head.
The book is rounded off with a discussion of the law as regards self defense, and that should serve to really open your eyes to the legal situation as regards self defense and violent encounters. Overall the advice in this book is excellent. Thompson does not blow smoke up your nose, there are no chop-socky super martial arts techniques here. He tells you straight, and he tells you the truth.
The only reason I have given this four stars and not five is that the same information, and a whole lot more, can be found in Thompson's other and better book 'Dead or Alive: The Choice is Yours'. But if you cannot get hold of 'Dead or Alive' then this book will give you what you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a simple and unique way of looking at self defence, 16 Feb 2001
By A Customer
Pick up any self defence book on the shelves and you may see a catalogue with hundreds of techniques and applications. An old principle states that a few good techniques can beat a hundred techniques and this is what geoff thompson's philosphy is based around. Throughout the book he emphasises the 'Sniper Option' and shows how his few techniques can be called upon before a situation may turn physical. This book is well worth the read for anyone who dares to take a critical view of theirs and other arts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Real eye opener, 8 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This book is a very useful and interesting piece of text, which will help the reader to understand what an attacker is thinking and how to deal with the situation. Jeoff uses simple approaches that really work, he is obviously a great martial artist and a realist. Overall this book is a good read for anyone and can be a real eye opener for martial artists
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3 Second Fighter, 8 Jan 2004
The essence of this book has been conveyed well by the previous reviewers, but I'd like to add the following: Geoff Thompson covers issues that aren't even discussed in other manuals ie, how to prepare yourself for the pugnacious git who threatens you with all sorts of horrible consequences should you dare to fight him back (even good martial artists have been defeated with this tactic.) Or how to deal with the Old Bill once your pre-emptive power-strike has wiped-out the thug who's just tried to mug you.
This work is not just about 'real fighting', but is also about conflict awareness and reading situations before they get out of hand. Technical detail is not the strength or the purpose of this book; it is just a brutally honest, in your face, lesson about the psychology of violence spoken by someone who's been there.
Geoff thompson has certainly shown me the flaws in my martial training. Of all the books that I have read in this genre I feel that this one has made the greatest impression on me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This guy knows what he's talking about, a must have., 15 Jan 2004
By 
fran (Madrid, Spain) - See all my reviews
Although it is not lengthy at all (less than 90 pages) it is the best stuff I've ever read about real fighting (and by this I mean PURE street fighting, not UFC or things like that, which are nothing but sport); don't expect to find hundreds of illustrated techniques (in fact there are only 3 or 4 pics); what Geoff Thompson teaches us is the guidelines that we should bear in mind during the different stages of a violent encounter, from the verbal agression to the moment in which everything is over and the police are about to come; he focusses on the psychological aspect (having been at a door myself and having had some serious brawls, I can state that the fight itself has been decided moments before it starts, when the guy in front of you stares at you or challenges you verbally; the one that looses the psycological confrotation, and as Thompson says, confuses adrenaline with fear, will be beaten up) and in the pre-fight stage, but his advices about the in-fight stage are true and useful (I swear); the book is really good, but don't think that just by reading it you'll be able to arise victorious from every confrotation you'll be involved in, no way; you have to train hard (this is the main thing) and be mentally prepared, and books like this will be a help, so buy the book and go on with your training sessions and follow Geoff's advices; I'm going to read all of his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 Dec 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Geoff Thompson is an accomplished martial artist and an ex-doorman with a lot experience of how best to deal with the mugger/thug/guy in the pub looking for trouble. The title of the book is a reference to the fact that most fights are over after one punch.

What this short book mainly teaches you is how to recognise the signs that someone is about to give you a whack. If you know before someone is going to hit you, that they are about to do so, you can hit them first. Since the majority of fights are over after one punch you will be the 'winner' if you can do this. This of course pre-supposes that you have the nerve, and have done the neccessary training etc. He covers a number of other topics, most noteably his concept of the fence.

As with all Geoff Thompsons' books that I have read, I found this easy to read, understand and very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dont judge a book by its cover, 16 July 2003
By 
Pete F. (Carlisle, Cumbria United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
When I first opened the package and took out this book I thought:
"too thin ; just a few illustrations and it looked like a waste of money. However the book is not particularly a handbook on physical technique but on the technique of the mind in a combat situation. Here it makes a very significant contribution.
There is an excellent section on dealing with spontanious attack from a stranger and many other pieces of information that make you realise that the book is an essential tool in the armory of the self defence specialist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get Real - Time to start thinking outside of the Dojo!!, 16 Feb 2007
By 
Terry Tozer "TJSKA.com" (Reading & Bracknell, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I think I have all of Geoff Thompson's technical books now, and I believe this is the best one. In this book, Mr. Thompson covers the difference between a match fight, a gratuitous assault, and a pre-planned mugger's approach of disarming; the effects of muscle memory and action triggers; the different kinds of adrenaline and how they effect a fighter; why you should have a 'main artillery' weapon and how to use it; and training for incorporating these newfound principles.

One of the most valuable parts of this book is how to deal with the law when it comes to post-fight conditions.

Once again, Mr. Thompson, a karate black-belt turned bouncer, covers his 'fence' system and how to use it.

Overall, this book gives the reader a terrific game plan for self-defence by giving him or her true knowledge of how fights go down and what to expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get Real - Time to start thinking outside of the Dojo!!, 3 July 2007
By 
Terry Tozer "TJSKA.com" (Reading & Bracknell, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I think I have all of Geoff Thompson's technical books now, and I believe this is the best one. In this book, Mr. Thompson covers the difference between a match fight, a gratuitous assault, and a pre-planned mugger's approach of disarming; the effects of muscle memory and action triggers; the different kinds of adrenaline and how they effect a fighter; why you should have a 'main artillery' weapon and how to use it; and training for incorporating these newfound principles.

One of the most valuable parts of this book is how to deal with the law when it comes to post-fight conditions.

Once again, Mr. Thompson, a karate black-belt turned bouncer, covers his 'fence' system and how to use it.

Overall, this book gives the reader a terrific game plan for self-defence by giving him or her true knowledge of how fights go down and what to expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Three second fighter, 12 Sep 2010
By 
S. o'brien - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Most of the information in this book you will find in one of Geoff's other books 'Dead or alive: The choice is yours' but having said that good sound advice is often over-looked so i guess it can't hurt to be little repetative. Great work, brilliant book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Three Second Fighter: The Sniper Option
£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews