Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down
I bought this title on my Kindle, after reading an extract in Wired magazine.

This book makes hacking thrilling. What I liked was that the author doesn't skip over the technical details of how the hacks work. You zoom right in, and discover how the attacks are accomplished.

For example, reading Kingpin was the first time I actually understood what a...
Published on 9 Mar. 2011 by Mr I Harris

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable, but could do with more meat...
Great story, fairly well told, if you find the subject interesting.
Only 2 complaints: this would have been more interesting if it had more content and perhaps links out to safely hosted content for those wishing to dig further and I have to say that this deficiency makes it a little on the pricey side. Found the story fascinating though.
Published on 8 Dec. 2012 by Mr Ian Golding


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read, 22 Mar. 2013
By 
D. Yates - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingpin: How One Hacker Took Over the Billion-Dollar Cybercrime Underground (Kindle Edition)
This is a real page turner and I zipped through it. It reads more like fiction than fact and this adds to the draw as the story pulls you in. A few eye opening hacker techniques are also revealed but nothing too technical. An interesting window on the 'hacker/cybercrim' world as was.

I've been online nearly 20 years and I enjoy reading the odd hacker book as they generally introduce some really creative and innovative individuals along with some of the darker corners of the the tech world. This is one of the better books along those lines. The Cuckoo's Egg is another that's worth checking out, although this is set around the early days of the Net pre-Web it again reads like a novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingpin: How One Hacker Took Over the Billion-Dollar Cybercrime Underground (Kindle Edition)
An absolutely fantastic insight into the other world. It is amazing how Kevin gets the scoop on these events he is a trusted and well respected member of all communities. A fantastic really even if you are not interest in the techy parts of computer security.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed this book, 24 Dec. 2012
By 
W. B. Taylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingpin: How One Hacker Took Over the Billion-Dollar Cybercrime Underground (Kindle Edition)
If you have any interest in crime books, technology books, IT security or hacking (black or white) then you will enjoy reading this book. As another reviewers say, it doesnt just mention specific hacks and security loopholes but briefly explains how various hacks actually work. i.e Trojans, SQL injection, network security etc. Also explains how credit card cloning works. It is not a how-to book but an informative read if you have an interest in any of these topics. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well written, interesting, and a bit scary, 15 Oct. 2012
By 
David Rand (Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingpin: How One Hacker Took Over the Billion-Dollar Cybercrime Underground (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. As a software developer with experience building websites that accept card payments, I found this book very interesting. As someone who regularly made card payments over the Internet during the 90's, I found it slightly terrifying. Overall I enjoyed it -- I often found myself wanting to read "just one more chapter" when I should have gone to bed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and Engaging, 10 Oct. 2011
By 
Ian Barber (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kingpin: How One Hacker Took Over the Billion-Dollar Cybercrime Underground (Kindle Edition)
I really didn't expect the book to be just as well written as it was, but it is as absorbing as any comparable work - for my money up there with Steven Levy's classic Hackers. Kevin Poulsen combined meticulous research with a gift for story telling, and is technical enough to satisfy readers familiar with the field, and accessible enough to be readable by anyone with an interest in computers. Brilliant stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great highly enlightening read, 24 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingpin: How One Hacker Took Over the Billion-Dollar Cybercrime Underground (Kindle Edition)
A real eye opener on how cyber crime works and how you can become a victim so easily. Well written and entertaining. Could not put it down and have been boring all my friends to death with bits from this book down the pub. Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this book over the course of about a month and a half. It was really intriguing and dealt with how a man's passion for light-hearted electronic mischief was both a gift and a curse for him. It had some pretty good revelations and a good sense of time passing through the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well written and researched, 29 April 2013
By 
Mark (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book explains how one hacker hacked an online black market selling stolen credit card details, fake IDs the lot. How he was tracked down and caught. It's a more focussed version of Misha Glennys Dark Market, which offers a broader view of the whole story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read, 20 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a must read for anyone remotely interested in IT. I normally only read fiction but I must say the authors writing style is direct & captivates the reader from the first paragraph.
Fantastic book & surely a film script beckons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 12 Jan. 2013
By 
D. J. PITT "dpitt" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is such a well written, interesting, enthralling read, i am left very keen to read a lot more from Poulsen.

No matter your technical knowledge you'll be able to follow the story easily.

Read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews