Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really pleased with the layout and presentation
The Nikon d7000 "digital field guide" is an excellent book designed for those beginning their journey into photography. With a clear layout, and 16 useful chapters, its easy to find which particular part or setting you're struggling with, getting a clear explanation on how to work that specific part. If you're a complete beginner, then all 16 chapters will useful for...
Published on 11 April 2011 by Stephen Luff

versus
31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of an improved manual than a field guide but good at what it does
All books on photography receive mixed reviews because camera owners are on different points of the photographic learning curve and have different expectations. This book is aimed primarily at two categories. Firstly, those who have taken the plunge and bought a D7000 as their first DSLR. Secondly, those upgrading from an entry level DSLR who, in spite of good intentions,...
Published on 11 Feb 2011 by Derek Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of an improved manual than a field guide but good at what it does, 11 Feb 2011
By 
Derek Jones - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All books on photography receive mixed reviews because camera owners are on different points of the photographic learning curve and have different expectations. This book is aimed primarily at two categories. Firstly, those who have taken the plunge and bought a D7000 as their first DSLR. Secondly, those upgrading from an entry level DSLR who, in spite of good intentions, have never found the time to convert fully to regular manual control from point-and-shoot. Some intermediate users will buy it to remind themselves about the menus and controls of their new camera. The book will certainly not transform an intermediate into an advanced photographer. The purpose of the book is made clear in the introduction: "an adjunct to the manual, explaining the camera and its functions in more detail, in a way that's easier to understand." In other words more of an improved manual than a field guide.

After describing all the external controls and the information display in the first chapter the author moves on to examine some of the most commonly changed settings in the camera such as exposure modes, metering, autofocus, white balance and ISO. As throughout the rest of the book the author throws in numerous tips for those relatively new to DSLRs. The discussion of the Picture Control System here is one of a number of topics which is much superior to the manual.

Following a chapter on setting up the camera, including an examination of menus, the author moves on to discuss lenses. The experienced will groan at this (particularly when they see vibration reduction yet again) but the author does at least write in a concise and informative manner, and he does mention lenses other than Nikon - something not always done in such books. He proceeds to a chapter on exposure, including useful advice on histograms, exposure compensation and bracketing before covering flash, Live View and video mode.

Most of the remainder of the book discusses portraits, weddings, concerts, sports photography, night photography and macro photography. Many (like me) will already have read books on these subjects but the author is very readable (I particularly enjoyed the chapter on portraits) and all the photos have details of the settings (EXIF information) plus the lens used. The 300 page book concludes with a chapter on in-camera editing.

This book is not without faults. For example, on multiple exposures it is at first sight even briefer and less helpful than the manual. At least the manual (somewhat cryptically) states that multiple exposures make use of RAW data to "produce colors noticeably superior to those in software-generated photographic overlays." It is true that the book mentions high dynamic range (HDR) in two later references to multiple exposures but with relatively little detail, and HDR does not seem to feature in the index. However, this is being "picky". This book is a useful size, attractively presented, is concise and readable, is well priced at under a tenner, and I believe that it will be useful to the many DSLR beginners and near-beginners who will buy the D7000.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful Only for Beginner/Intermediate Level Photographers, 25 April 2011
By 
HeavyMetalMonty (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The first 114 pages of the book are an expanded D7000 manual rather than a field guide. Most of the rest of the book is generic photography advice which, while practical and interesting, does not relate purely to the Nikon D7000. Other than the chapter on selecting and using lenses for the D7000, which is extremely helpful to novice and advanced photographers alike, there is little in the book that experienced photographers won't already know. For beginner/intermediate photographers, though, the book offers useful knowledge on exposure, light, live view and video, event photography, landscape and nature photography, macro photography, night/low-light photography, portrait photography, still-life photography, stock photography, and viewing/in-camera editing. The guide comes with a gray card and colour-checker card, to help D7000 users achieve accurate white balance and colour.

If you're an experienced SLR user, you won't learn anything new from this book. If, on the other hand, the D7000 is your first SLR, this guide represents a practical learning tool for your journey into SLR photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really pleased with the layout and presentation, 11 April 2011
By 
Stephen Luff "Stephen L" (Worthing, Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Nikon d7000 "digital field guide" is an excellent book designed for those beginning their journey into photography. With a clear layout, and 16 useful chapters, its easy to find which particular part or setting you're struggling with, getting a clear explanation on how to work that specific part. If you're a complete beginner, then all 16 chapters will useful for you.

By the time you've completed the book, you will feel more knowledgeable and have a definite understanding on how to use your new camera and a guide to basic, and even more advanced photography.

Not only does this book effortlessly explain how the camera itself works, but it gives you useful tips on general photography that can be used with any SLR camera. The book provides an overview on which lenses you can buy to use with any Nikon SLR model. I found this particularly helpful as it can be confusing to understand which lens you need to suit a specific photography need.

Overall, I am completely satisfied and happy with this product, and I would recommend it to anyone who owns the Nikon d7000, and even some of the other Nikon models like the d5000, as most of the settings and features are the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT TOO SURE ABOUT THIS GUIDE BOOK, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I hardly leant anything new from this book. I am quite disappointmented as I feel the information is not properly explained. i have
decided to buy Nikon D7000 for Dummiesby, to see if it is better explained and more suitable for anyone having just purchased a Nikon D7000 and who wants to get to know the camera.
the guide book doesnt go into more detail and walks you through all the controls, features and functions, it just tells you what the fetures do but doesnt show you how to do it which is very annnoying
This may not be useful for experienced photographers, it taught me about handling the camera rather than how to take better photos, but for anyone else it's less than ten pounds well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading cover to cover, 9 Feb 2013
By 
A. Corcoran "4Pak" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really helpful guide to getting the best out of your camera. As I get more confident with my cameras functionality I keep coming back to this guide to re-read bits and learn more,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nikon D7000 Digital Field Guide Review, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although this book is extensive and acurate in covering the D7000, for me it was a dissapointment as I feel the information is poorly explained, unlike the nikon D40 Digital Field guide which was very easy to follow.
I then decided to buy Mastering the Nikon D7000 by Darrell Young, and found it much better, well explained, and very suitable for anyone having just purchased a Nikon D7000 and who wants to get to know the camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good for beginners., 25 Sep 2012
By 
Andy O'Boogie (Widnes, Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
You don't just have to own a D7000 to enjoy this book. Particularly if your are a novice there is a lot of very useful advice. Experts know it all and probably wouldn't find much of use in here. If you have a Nikon D7000 you already have the manual which takes up a sizeable portion of the book. However there is much much more for the beginner to learn. A well written book which I am happy to recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable for the beginner-to-intermediate shooter, 19 April 2011
By 
Squeebles (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have always shot with Nikon cameras and have had three previous DSLRs prior to the D7000 (namely D50, D70, D90) and up and until now I have never bothered reading the supplied book of instructions. I've always found The Nikon menu system to be intuitive and I have my own method of shooting, so why start now?

Well, in effect, the D7000 (the new mid-level release) is such an amazing & complex piece of technology I felt I had to learn to be able to operate it fully otherwise I wouldn't be get the best out of it and my money's worth.

Admittedly this book is more of an update and expansion to the official Nikon guide, but it does go into more detail and walks you through all the controls, features and functions in easy to follow instructions and full colour pictures. Finally the inclusion of a grey/colour balance card is a nice, handy touch, they can be more than a tenner themselves.
This may not be useful for experienced photographers, it taught me about handling the camera rather than how to take better photos, but for anyone else it's less than ten pounds well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars D7000 manual but better than that!, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This proved to be very well worth the money because it helped me to understand the dslr and get the very best out of it in no time at all. Strongly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just right, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A book for those new to this excellent camera. Its not too big or small in size so can be packed into a camera bag for quick reference. It also has useful cards that can be removed if the book cant be carried with camera. As said by others this book may not be of use to those that have a lot of experience in handling DSLR cameras. My teenage daughter tried out this camera from her uncle but didn't understand a lot of what this camera had to offer, so took a chance and got this book which she likes. Now she has got a good used D7000 and finds this book very handy and a lot easier to read than the supplied Nikon hand book, Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nikon D7000 Digital Field Guide
8.65
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews