Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fusion of great directing and acting
This film is proof of what a great cast and director can do when inspired by a great script. Jon Voight (in his first major feature) is superb as Joe Buck, the naive twentysomething who comes to New York to seek his fortune by becoming a gigolo to the wealthy women of NYC. Invariably the dream goes sour, especially after he is ripped off by con man Ratso Rizzo (Hoffman)...
Published on 19 Nov 2002

versus
56 of 64 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Blu-ray Quality- Keep your DVD!
I stupidly sold my nice Steelbook 2 disc DVD recently before this Blu-ray was released. I expected a breathtaking transfer that would be an improvement on the DVD but it isn't- there's no difference! Fox have wasted time and money doing this. Also unlike on most Blu-rays when I chose the special features I could only select them while the film was playing! When I inserted...
Published on 10 May 2011 by Robert


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fusion of great directing and acting, 19 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Midnight Cowboy [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
This film is proof of what a great cast and director can do when inspired by a great script. Jon Voight (in his first major feature) is superb as Joe Buck, the naive twentysomething who comes to New York to seek his fortune by becoming a gigolo to the wealthy women of NYC. Invariably the dream goes sour, especially after he is ripped off by con man Ratso Rizzo (Hoffman) who eventually see's Joe as a lost soul just like him and a friendship forms. Voight is terrific and it is a shame that he now plays a Hollywood 'Rent a Villain' when he is capable of a performance like this. Hoffman too is fantastic and brilliantly grubby as the underclass who is suffering from TB. As a snapshot of the 60s Scheslinger portrays a New York that is both wealthy yet contains abject poverty. His location shooting of the city is atmospheric in a way that only Scorsese has since been able to capture (in Taxi Driver). Overall a film that is both poignant, political (remember the civil unrest in the country at the time) and a study of humanity in the face of abject misery and suffering. A classic film that uses its musical soundtrack brilliantly to get just the right feel to each scene. Incidentally, considering that the two stars and the director are still alive (as is Brenda Vaccaro in a small but important role as one of Joe's 'clients'), why don't MGM go to town and put together a definitive version of this DVD with commetaries etc? It would be well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLY AMAZING... GIVE IT RESPECT!!, 25 April 2005
By A Customer
Absolute class. From the crisp acting to the passionate directing John Schlesinger's moving adaptation of James Herlihy's bestseller is a movie that stuns and amuses to great extent. Dustin Hoffman is brilliant as a small time con man with big dreams of the Florida high life, and Jon Voight proves his acting talent as a Texan with dreams of his own, and as they wind their friendship through 'get rich quick' schemes and the sleazy side of the big apple, this film has emerged as a cult classic, with a top notch soundtrack, an unforgettable ending. And the all round pure heart that should be embodied into every film. It is an overlooked masterpiece and one of the best productions of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a real masterpiece, 2 Aug 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Midnight Cowboy [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
Midnight cowboy is a film that runs through a good range of emotions,its a film that is ultimately tragic,a film with good laughs,poignant,reflective,thrilling and is a coming of age drama as well.Its a film that was released in 1969,won an oscar and both dustin hoffman and jon voight were nominated for best oscar awards.

Jon Voight plays joe buck who has dreams of moving to new york and makinghis fortune but he is a naive country fellow,and he meets hoffman who plays ricco who represents the slime of society that lie in the underbelly of new york.

Eventually through a series of events these two become friends and undertake a series of plots to make themselves money but find out that nothing is easy regardless of whether you have nothing to lose.

The film is iconic and has a good soundtrack and this film is both spoofed and tributed in film in the years that followed.Its a film that gets better with repeated watches so if you want a film that stirs the emotions then this is one of the all time greats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 64 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Blu-ray Quality- Keep your DVD!, 10 May 2011
By 
Robert (St. Neots, Cambs, ENGLAND United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Midnight Cowboy [Blu-ray] [1969] (Blu-ray)
I stupidly sold my nice Steelbook 2 disc DVD recently before this Blu-ray was released. I expected a breathtaking transfer that would be an improvement on the DVD but it isn't- there's no difference! Fox have wasted time and money doing this. Also unlike on most Blu-rays when I chose the special features I could only select them while the film was playing! When I inserted the disc the film started playing and there is no still menu so a total disaster of a release!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cowboy, indeed!, 28 Nov 2011
This review is from: Midnight Cowboy [Blu-ray] [1969] (Blu-ray)
One of my favourite films. Waited so long for this Bluray release. As the others have said, don't waste your time and money. The picture quality is the same as the regular DVD. Film studios should not be allowed to get away with this sort of deception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wish I'd watched this years ago, 1 Feb 2008
This review is from: Midnight Cowboy [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
Not only did I see this film for the first time just a couple of weeks ago, but I was fortunate enough to know hardly anything about it, other than the two lead actors and the fact that it always seem to appear on any 'films to see before you die' lists.

Shame on me - this is a fantastic film, unsettling, deeply sad, with two amazing central performances from Jon Voight and Dustin Hoffman.

I'm not sure whether I could ever watch it again, as it was emotionally draining, and that's the only reason why I haven't given it 5 stars.

However, this is one of the most moving and powerful films I have ever seen and two weeks on, I feel compelled to put electronic pen to paper.

It genuinely is a film to see before you die.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars - what more can be said, 1 April 2014
By 
Mikey (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight Cowboy [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
As with the majority of reviews on here, Midnight Cowboy is worthy of five stars. Seeing this for the first time, years after it's initial release, I can only agree that every scene in this film is a gem. The accompanying music fits in very well with each scene. The direction and acting are first class.
Well worth a re-watch sometime!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome film, terrible transfer!, 6 April 2013
This review is from: Midnight Cowboy [Blu-ray] [1969] (Blu-ray)
It's a shame that there is no law that forces film companies to try their hardest to ensure the film being offered is the best version possible. If you are going to try and get the public to buy yet another version, please don't use any old copy lying in the vault.
This is not good, unlike the film which deserves everything being thrown at it (a decent HD transfer with some restoration work please!!).

Awesome film, but buy it on DVD until they bother to do something about it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still impressive, 28 Jun 2011
By 
Tyke (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Midnight Cowboy [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
Famed for being the only `X-rated' movie to win an Oscar, this bleak drama, dotted with moments of dark humour, has lost nothing since it was released in 1969.

Joe Buck (Jon Voight) is young, handsome and tired of his dead-end job washing dishes in a Texan diner, so he splashes out on some cowboy-style duds and heads to New York. There he intends to make a good living as a `Hustler', servicing the horizontal needs of bored, rich women.

Unfortunately, his youth and enthusiasm are matched by his naivety and he soon finds himself homeless and a frequent victim of all manner of low-life and weirdo. A mutual dependency develops between himself and one such character, Rizzo (Dustin Hoffman), a limping, greasy consumptive, who dreams of finding health and popularity in the fabled sun-drenched land of Florida.

Joe's own dreams are gradually eroded as he slides into male prostitution and he is haunted by memories of his insecure childhood, when he was abandoned into the care of his lascivious grandmother and of a recent terrifying ordeal which parted him from the girl he loved.

Joe is fundamentally a decent guy, but to survive he must do indecent things, including violence. The pitiful Rizzo is both his tormentor and helper, who unwittingly prevents Joe from attaining his dream at the very moment it is to be realised.

Similarly, Rizzo's own dream is taken from him at the moment of attainment, leaving Joe a frightened but wiser man.

This is a seminal movie from what was a newly-emerging style of American film-making, which had begun to cast off the sunny optimism of post-war cinema and tackle darker, grittier themes.

DVD picture quality is good but volume drops for about 20 mins at around the halfway point. Also the booklet referred to in the product description was not included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars masterfully done, 28 Aug 2010
This review is from: Midnight Cowboy [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
A seminal piece of cinema from a time when boundaries were being pushed and the cinema of realism was being experimented with by America...it truly works, it's a dark film with moments of levity and prescience that mark it out to be the classic it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Midnight Cowboy [Blu-ray] [1969]
Midnight Cowboy [Blu-ray] [1969] by John Schlesinger (Blu-ray - 2011)
8.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews