Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars11
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£19.95+ £1.26 shipping

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 March 2011
I never thought I'd enjoy this show, but I was pretty much hooked from the first episode. It's brilliantly written, brilliantly acted and absolutely hilarious - and that goes for both series. I can't wait for the third.

To confirm a previous viewer's statement, the sound is indeed only Dolby Digital Stereo, but if this was the format in which the series was originally aired on E4 then it cannot be a criticism of this box-set. I am however perplexed by the same reviewer's claim that since the Blu-ray comes in 1080i it is no better than an upscaled DVD. This is patently false. While it is indeed interlaced since that is the format in which high-definition programmes are aired on E4, the Blu-ray presents a native 1080 resolution picture which will *always* be superior to the 576i resolution of standard definition as will be found on the equivalent DVD, upscaled or not. Upscaling is essentially an method that attempts to approximate the information missing from lower resolution standard definition video, but native higher resolution sources already contain the original information that would be approximated through upscaling and so will demonstrate superiority due to the genuine increase in detail. I can confirm that the picture quality of this Blu-ray is very good indeed and if you have a Blu-ray player and a decent full-HD resolution television this is definitely worth purchasing over the DVD, especially given the price difference is not so dramatic.

In summary - one of the best shows on British TV for quite some time and this Blu-ray comes highly recommended.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2011
The series : excellent writing, excellent acting, excellent small budget production, funny and trashy. Keep all its promises.
The blu-ray : Visually stunning, like a window opened on the Misfits world.
Most satisfying.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2011
I'm not a big fan of tv so was a little late watching this compared to most people. A friend of mine said I should watch it because 'its amazing'. Well I wasnt sure after the 1st episode because it was so different to anything I'd seen before, but by the 3rd episode I was hooked. The MisFits is amazing. Fantastic storylines, awesome soundtrack, great acting, characters you shouldnt like but end up loving. It can evict emotion ranging from laugh out loud funny to downright dark and creepy. Series 1 and 2 are absolute MUST buys to my mind. It also helps that Antonia Thomas is gorgeous :p
Im reserving judgement on series 3 due to Nathan no longer being in it who is clearly the most charasmastic character out of all the MisFits, so to lose him doesnt feel right to me. Still, if they continue to think up such genius storylines I'm sure itll be a cracker.
Anyhoo: You owe it to yourselves to own this truly amazing series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2011
Possibly the funniest TV show I have ever seen. The characters are simply brilliant. After watching the first episode I then found myself having to stay at home all day so that I could addictively watch the rest. Simply awesome, a must see!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2011
Two most fascinating things about this series:
* How you first hate the spoiled little brats, then you slowly start growing fond of them as individuals.
* The rawness of the environment, filming and plot. Don't think I have seen this way of composing before (not that I am an expert).

We bought the Blu-ray verison. The Blu-ray quality really gives it a boost of reality, compared- to TV.
Love the raw British language as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2011
Bought this for my boyfriends birthday, we ended up both watching it together and i have to admit i unexpectedly did enjoy it! we laughed a few times and its nice to watch now and then
deffinatley recomend it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2011
My partner is mad about misfits! I ordered this for him as a present and he loves it! And what a great price too! If you or anyone you know is a misfits fan then this is a must :D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2012
Can't recommend this enough. Great concept with perfect execution. One of the most refreshing series in some years. Buy this and series 3 if you can.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2012
i love misfits and now its the two best series on bluray its even better. i watched both series myself and now again with my girlfriend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2012
Very funny series, good price aswell , its a must have in your collection,it made my xmas go very smoothly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.