Customer Reviews


347 Reviews
5 star:
 (197)
4 star:
 (72)
3 star:
 (50)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 68 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unknown
This action/thriller/mystery is a little far fetched to say the least but great fun non the less. Similar to {Taken 2008 also starring Neeson which is excellent} in many ways with the theme that anything can happen to a unassuming American "with a bad accent" in Europe" The action isn't amazing but decent enough with the main credit being drawn from the twist towards the...
Published on 20 Jun. 2011 by Mr Kandes

versus
98 of 107 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but no Taken *may contain spoliers*
I must admit i approached this film with geat anticipation after the revelation of Liam Neeson's ass-kicking ability displayed in the excellent Taken.
And although big Liam holds top billing in both that is where the similarities end. That doesn't mean this is a bad film because its not, it has however been done before.
Man and wife check into a Berlin hotel for...
Published on 28 May 2011 by Cb1306


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 68 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unknown, 20 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Unknown [DVD] (DVD)
This action/thriller/mystery is a little far fetched to say the least but great fun non the less. Similar to {Taken 2008 also starring Neeson which is excellent} in many ways with the theme that anything can happen to a unassuming American "with a bad accent" in Europe" The action isn't amazing but decent enough with the main credit being drawn from the twist towards the end I won't give to much away but i found it more original than most movies I seen recently. I will say the one major unfeasible point is that after a bump on the head and short team memory loss Neeson's character had acquired a set of morals and desire to destroy his former friends colleagues. I finish by recommending this flick to those who liked taken or an action film with some thought put into the storyline however unlikely it maybe i was entertained throughout.
For a better action film set in Europe go watch Bourne for a better mystery thriller with misplaced character go watch shutter Island. If you like both of those titles I think you should find this movie more than watchable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


98 of 107 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but no Taken *may contain spoliers*, 28 May 2011
By 
Cb1306 "CJB" (South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unknown - Double Play (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
I must admit i approached this film with geat anticipation after the revelation of Liam Neeson's ass-kicking ability displayed in the excellent Taken.
And although big Liam holds top billing in both that is where the similarities end. That doesn't mean this is a bad film because its not, it has however been done before.
Man and wife check into a Berlin hotel for a science summit, man realises he has left a briefcase at the airport and jumps in a taxi to retrieve it. Taxi crashes, man wakes in hospital with partial amnesia, returns to the hotel to find wife with another man claiming to be her husband. So begins the game of cat & mouse.
The story is good, performances are too and the action is done very well once it starts but the story is reminiscent of films like Timebomb with Michael Biehn & more recently The Long Kiss Goodnight.
One to try before you buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Neeson's run of great films continues!, 9 Sept. 2011
By 
theone&only (Nottingham, Notts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unknown [DVD] (DVD)
What is it with Liam Neeson these days? We had Batman Begins, Taken, A-Team - all great films. Now we have Unknown. Personally I'm not sure where the Taken comparisons come from. Ok, at its heart its a revenge movie but where our hero in Taken was an unstoppable force of vendetta filled, single minded power, here things are little more complicated.
Dr Martin Harris (Neeson) has to piece together his missing life in order to get his wife back. The action involved is more about his survival than his bloodthirsty vengeance as we see him try to overcome his difficulties in order to solve the mystery. He is aided by a young woman he meets on his adventure, set in Berlin, so this movie has more in common with Harrison Ford's 'Frantic' (remember that one?) than with Taken.
Things heat up later on in the film with an excellent plot twist that changes the game and I did not see coming (although there are a couple of clues if you look carefully).
Its slower pace help to build the characters and tension and the addition of Herr Jurgen the ex-spy help do this tremendously. I highly recommend this film as a solid, action filled mystery thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The polar opposite of Taken, 16 Mar. 2012
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Unknown - Double Play (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
Unknown was always going to draw comparisons with Taken, and in my opinion, unfairly; because although they share the same lead actor, the similarities end there.

In fact, the two films couldn't be more different.

Taken was an OK film in my opinion. I'd give it three stars. I found it pretty flat to be honest. The story line was boring and the action, although there was plenty of it, couldn't have been more run of the mill.

Taken is the exact polar opposite of Unknown.

Where Taken's story line was boring and simplistic, Unknown's was riveting. It was slow to build where as taken was in your face; and 'slowly' draws you in and keeps you guessing. I found myself very engaged in it.

And whereas Taken's action was non stop but mediocre, I found Unknown's to be sparse (at first) and very exciting when things boiled over.

I'm surprised by some of the harsh reviews for this film - but then reading some of them, I see that people either didn't watch the film to the end or are fans of Taken. Well, I'm sorry, but you can't comment on a plot until you know the twist and see the big picture, and if all you want is action, action, action and can't enjoy anything else you're a bit of a moron.

Unknown is an excellent espionage thriller, and I thought it worked very well. You might guess one of the twists by about a third of the way through, but you'll never see the whole 'big picture' right until the end. And isn't that just how films are meant to be...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing!, 14 Dec. 2012
By 
Dave B (Somerset,uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unknown [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very watchable film that keeps you guessing with its unusual plot.Great storyline and with Liam Neeson in it...well,need I say more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unknown review, 28 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unknown [DVD] (DVD)
wow! amazing! I originally watched this film at the cinema and just had to buy the DVD afterwards! Its true- 'fans of Taken are gonna love this'. I did. Its one of those movies that you only fully understand at the end but it just makes it more exciting throughout watching it as you cant guess whats going to happen! One of my favorite films by far- Amazing price on amazon. Well worth the watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WILL THE REAL MARTIN HARRIS PLEASE STAND UP?, 6 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Unknown [DVD] (DVD)
Along with his wife, Liam Neeson is in Berlin for a biotech conference. He forgets his briefcase at the airport and realizes this when they arrive at the hotel. He takes a cab ride back to the airport to retrieve the briefcase and has an accident along the way. Four days later he awakens from his coma, after being dead for 7 minutes. He has no ID.

He goes to the hotel where he sees his wife, except she is with a man whp has the same name as his (Martin Harris) and he claims that he is her husband and his wife likewise makes the same claim! At this point I was divided as to what is going on. Is this a Twilight Zone where a guy goes to an alternate reality? Maybe a "Dark City" experiment. Is this an elaborate hoax? If so why is his wife a part of it? Maybe they decided to remake Hauser's Memory (am I showing my age?) Liam contacts the underground in Berlin to help him find out what is going on.

The acting was good, as expected. The chase and action scenes were about a C+. It could have used some good swagger music, which seems to be the norm in modern movies.

No sex or nudity. Thank you Frank Langella for keeping your pants on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of Liam Neeson's best, 24 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unknown - Double Play (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
This is one of Liam Neeson's best movies and certainly the most intriguing in my view. I much prefer its Alfred Hitchcock style plot to the rather more straight forward 'Dad on the rampage' story behind 'Taken' to which 'Unknown' has been compared. Set in Berlin, it is a real mind bender with major twists which takes Neeson's character to the brink of insanity. Ably supported by January Jones and Diane Kruger, this is a highly enjoyable stolen identity thriller which, despite mixed reviews at the time, did very well at the box office. Recommended.

Chris Allen is a Technical Author and writer with the following books available through Amazon:
The Beam of Interest: Taken by Storm
Hypnotic Tales 2013: Some Light Some Dark
Call of the Void: The Strange Life and Times of a Confused Person: 1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unknown dvd, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unknown [DVD] (DVD)
great film ,with a good twist in the end ,not as good as Taken ,but still a good film worth having
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Film, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unknown [DVD] (DVD)
I remember going to see this in the cinema and although it is similer to Taken Liam Neeson is verry good in the lead role so I would recomend this Dvd to all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unknown - Double Play (Blu-ray + DVD)
Unknown - Double Play (Blu-ray + DVD) by Jaume Collet-Serra (Blu-ray - 2011)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews