Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brighton Rock in 1964?
As someone born and brought up in Brighton I was pretty open-minded about the notion of a second movie based on Graham Greene's novel, "Brighton Rock", and as a twenty-year-old in 1964, the year Rowan Joffe chose to place his re-imagining of the book, I was likewise open to how the town would seem at that time as a place in which to relocate the action. Of course many...
Published 16 months ago by Hywel James

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stylish but doesn't convince
The stylish cinematography (often expansive) and the menacing, mysterious score (almost like in Hitchcock films) give this film a big screen feel, but something doesn't quite lift it to the sort of suspense movie it could be. It has the makings of a psychological thriller but something doesn't quite work. I think its because the central character (Pinkie) is the weak link...
Published 22 months ago by maximus


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brighton Rock in 1964?, 27 July 2013
By 
Hywel James "Hywel James" (Devon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brighton Rock [DVD] (DVD)
As someone born and brought up in Brighton I was pretty open-minded about the notion of a second movie based on Graham Greene's novel, "Brighton Rock", and as a twenty-year-old in 1964, the year Rowan Joffe chose to place his re-imagining of the book, I was likewise open to how the town would seem at that time as a place in which to relocate the action. Of course many things in the original novel have been changed by Joffe (the screenwriter of Pawlikowski's "Last Resort",(2000), with Dina Korzun and Paddy Considine), themes are given different emphases, and Eastbourne stands in for Brighton in many of the scenes, including its famous pier. These things are in any case not sacrosanct.

But what of the movie as a movie? The cinematography is striking and the "look" of the film is starkly stylish with, in particular, some stunning crane shots - especially the scenes shot at Beachy Head. The individual takes are short and often fragmentary, which lend the film a brittle and nervy dramatic character, in keeping with Sam Riley's playing of Pinkie, the central character, a murderous youth with a very short fuse. Andrea Riseborough (quite unrecognisable in spectacles) is outstanding as Pinkie's "girl", Rose. The rest of the cast is highly distinguished and includes terrific performances by, among others, John Hurt, Helen Mirren, Andy Serkis, Nonsoe Anosie and Phil Davis.

Better or not so good as the 1947 film with Richard Attenborough? It doesn't matter. The 2010 "Brighton Rock" is different, both from the novel and the earlier movie, and as such is well worth viewing. It has its own highly successful dramatic integrity, pace and character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stylish but doesn't convince, 18 Jan 2013
By 
maximus (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The stylish cinematography (often expansive) and the menacing, mysterious score (almost like in Hitchcock films) give this film a big screen feel, but something doesn't quite lift it to the sort of suspense movie it could be. It has the makings of a psychological thriller but something doesn't quite work. I think its because the central character (Pinkie) is the weak link in the cast. it ends up looking like a small screen drama being given the cinematic treatment and not quite getting lifted. I think also we miss some of Pinkie's motivations because there isn't much background on him when the film starts, it's almost as if there is half an hour missing from the start of the movie. Nevertheless Helen Mirren and John Hurt are class acts, impeccable in their craft as always. I like the 1960s setting, it looks very authentic and with superb eye for detail to bring that era alive on the screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gritty & thought-provoking, 18 Sep 2011
By 
Andy Millward (Tiptree, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Brighton Rock [DVD] (DVD)
Despite the largely negative opinion, I rather enjoyed this adaptation, an interesting and gritty contrast to the Attenborough portrayal, which looks and sounds very true to the era (the story having been transported to the 1960s) and the gangster culture of that time, makes excellent use of its tawdry Brighton locations, depicts very three dimensional characters, and comes over as thoughtful, intelligent and menacing in equal measure. I'm less sure the subtlety of Pinkie & Rose's relationship is really understood, though the beautifully handled finale, using Pinkie's self-recorded 45 does a splendid job of romantic wish fulfilment for Rose, whose desire is to be loved. Worth seeing, especially for the excellent cast. Everyone knows Helen Mirren, but I always love to watch Phil Davies (remember him in Quadrophenia?) - look out for more fine British character actors too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unengaging and flat, 28 Dec 2011
By 
Dariush Alavi "DariushAlavi.com" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I suppose this new adaptation of Graham Greene's 30s novel deserves some credit for having ambitious intentions. It shifts the action to the early 60s, thereby placing it against the backdrop of the Mods and Rockers conflicts. It features heightened, starkly lit visuals. And it attempts to draw intense performances from its actors. But somehow, the disparate elements never gel. For a start, the pacing is poor. Once the initial premise is set up - a young hoodlum enters into a doomed relationship with a waitress in order to prevent her from implicating him in a crime - several functional scenes follow each other in predictable succession with little sense of tension or danger. The other problem - which stems from the first - is the presentation of the theme of Catholic guilt. Using shots of churches, crucifixes and religious paintings, Joffe keeps insisting that we take his film as a study of people seeking salvation for their souls, but because we haven't grown attached to the central characters, these spiritual ideas fall flat too. A disappointing mis-fire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dark and gritty, 8 Nov 2011
This review is from: Brighton Rock [DVD] (DVD)
Good re-make and very absorbing, but why alter the ending of Graham Greene's novel? Don't watch if feeling down, it won't help!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Is the re-make better than the original?, 3 Aug 2014
This review is from: Brighton Rock [DVD] (DVD)
In my opinion, yes it is! Not often that I like a re-make of a film more than the original but this is one! Although I still love the first film I think this one surpasses it hands down. Pinkie and Rose are played to perfection, in fact there are no weak links in any of the characters. Sam Riley takes Pinkie's character to another plane, brilliant actor! I saw it at the cinema, bought the DVD and have watched it many times. If I had to pick fault at all it would be with the scooter riders; don't look too hard, a lot of the riders were probably teenagers when the original was made! But that aside I really rate this film as excellent. The ending was different and unexpected, I thought it worked really well. Wish all re-makes were this good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Badly acted boring rubbish, 24 Oct 2011
By 
Fraz (Glasgow,Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brighton Rock [DVD] (DVD)
Another Brit film with great reviews. I put it on thoroughly looking forward to it and ended up turning it off after 45 minutes as it was so bad. The acting is weird. It is affected and almost theatrical from all the characters. The film lacks suspense and was really boring to the point where you just do not care about what is going to happen to the characters, none of whom are very likeable. I like Andrea Riseborough having seen her in other stuff, and she is very sexy,but she seems unable to play characters in anything but this almost comic style. She was really miscast and came across as very irritating in the film. It is rare that i find a film to be unwatchable to the end, but this was one. Very boring film, and it should have been one i liked as the story line was right up my street, and you have to wonder what is going on with all the great reviews. Could it be that because this film is British the reviewers are blinded as to how awful it is? possibly. Avoid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brighton Rock [DVD] (DVD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dark But Not Menacing...., 8 Mar 2014
This review is from: Brighton Rock (DVD)
This was ok,stuck to the original story but didn't give you that menacing dark feeling as the original, I think that's because original film was in black & white. Would recommend to friends though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars O.K, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brighton Rock [DVD] (DVD)
came in reasonable time even though it was Xmas, Hubby liked it but still a bit violent i feel for the 15 age certificated but Hubby wanted to see it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brighton Rock [DVD]
Brighton Rock [DVD] by Rowan Joffe (DVD - 2011)
£6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews