Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complex and beautiful - just like life
This is an emotionally engaging film study of two characters who have both suffered some childhood trauma and fall in love. The male has had maternal abandonement and it has left him seeking love and family - he is an 'unfinished' person, with a massively kind and loving heart but an inability to connect to his identity and build on it within a relationship. He is needy,...
Published on 19 May 2011 by L. Macleod

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but Forgettable
It is only two days since I watched this film and already it is fading from my mind. Even when viewing it, I was unmoved by the relationship between Gosling and Williams, well-acted though it was. Michelle Williams in particular went through a gamut of emotions, if not A to Z, then close to it. The camerawork, often using a hand-held camera, was stunning. The old people...
Published 12 months ago by mr blue


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complex and beautiful - just like life, 19 May 2011
By 
L. Macleod (Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Valentine [DVD] (DVD)
This is an emotionally engaging film study of two characters who have both suffered some childhood trauma and fall in love. The male has had maternal abandonement and it has left him seeking love and family - he is an 'unfinished' person, with a massively kind and loving heart but an inability to connect to his identity and build on it within a relationship. He is needy, emotionally fragile, and in his need for love he leaves himself wide open to a kind of emotional abuse that invariably he sets up in his behaviour. A child within a man. The girl has a bully of a father and it seems she has been quite promiscuous - not able to emotionally engage with men until she meets the young man who decides to marry her and accept her pregnancy. She is very intelligent and her choices are not often with her whole heart - she loves the young man but not enough because she is also not a complete person; she has too many conditions in her love and the young man is unable to live up to them or able to achieve his own potential. The story unfolds and is dramatic and deeply sad. Their young love was full of promise but the film shows that often love is not enough - human beings carry burdens and trauma from breakdowns in family relationships and this can effect their ability to build loving adult relationships later. Blue Valentine is an incredible film - it leaves you to do a lot of work and yet provides all the beautiful imagery and superb acting to see a marvellous human story unfold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 10 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Blue Valentine [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely mesmerising, incredibly heartbreaking, and strangely haunting. This film stayed with me for days. I think what puts people off this film is its resistance to resolution, and its unsettlingly real performances. Gosling and Williams manage to incite feelings of discomfort in the audience similar to watching a fight between a married couple at a dinner party. Love and hate go hand in hand here, as do overwhelming lust and intense emptiness. Perhaps this is what scares the reviewers who give one stars - that this film examines love and its inability to remain constant against its biggest enemy: time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep and troubling real-life drama, 13 Mar 2012
By 
F. L. P. Souza (Amstelveen, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Valentine [DVD] (DVD)
This film is unusual in its realistic depiction of a couple slowly falling out of love. It is very touching and feels very real, as if you were not watching actors on a screen, but rather eavesdropping on a real couple... The kind of feeling you often get watching European films, but seldom do you see this in a Hollywood production.

Gosling and Williams are great as the two main characters, and so is their little girl: it's hard to believe that kid is not actually their daughter in real life, she is such a natural in every scene!

Warning: this is not an "entertaining" picture, of the popcorn variety, nor is it something to watch on Valentine's day with your significant other... It is depressing to watch and will leave you thinking about it for days. Thank the great performances and the brilliant directing for that.

I do recommend it as a sort of "bad-tasting medicine": you don't enjoy watching it, at times, but you can't turn away from it; and it helps you reflect and understand some of your own issues, as you see the characters struggling with their relationship. This is a film you can learn from, and use for your own growth and development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Achingly sad, 26 Jan 2013
By 
Emma W (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blue Valentine [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This film is about a bickering couple whose marriage is disintegrating, juxtaposed with their younger selves at the very start of their relationship six years earlier. It is a wonderfully acted film which feels more like a fly on the wall type thing than a Hollywood movie, some parts are almost uncomfortable to watch and immediately after watching, it felt pretty depressing. However, it is one of those films that stays with you, which to me is a mark of a really good film. Oh, and despite the title, definitely not one to watch on Valentine's day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, 19 Feb 2012
This review is from: Blue Valentine [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the best films I have ever seen. It is a quiet, subtle movie and left me absolutely heartbroken by the end. It is a very truthful story of how people fall in and out of love. Here there are no big gestures, no happy ever afters - this film is about how day to day life often gets in the way. This is the kind of film that will get under your skin and be with you for days afterwards.

It is shot beautifully with a warm happy glow in the before shots & a cold sharp blue, metallic feel for the current day scenes. The Acting is second to none. I read that before shooting the second part of the film, they lived together in a small 1 bed apartment for a couple of weeks to feel that claustrophobic, frustration that these characters find themselves in. And the extra effort in doing that shows 100% on film. It is stunning.

This isn't a cosy romantic date night movie. It is an insight into a breakdown of a relationship. The entire movie is uncomfortable and at times brutal to watch - which is what makes it so brilliant.

An emotionally draining, beautiful film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If your having relationship issues this makes you think deep!, 22 Jan 2012
This review is from: Blue Valentine [DVD] (DVD)
Loved the movie. 1 & 2 bits were confusing to me however the plot of the movie and the story were great. If your having issues in your relationship as you watch this, it will make you think hard ( it did with me anyway ). Loved the quote in the movie ' How can you trust your feelings when they can just .... disappear like that'. Won't give to much away - Go and watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'A love story for anyone that's ever been in love'., 27 Dec 2011
This review is from: Blue Valentine [DVD] (DVD)
'A Love Story For Anyone That's Ever Been in Love', the tagline clearly indicates the dreary and realistic tone of the film, before you have even had a chance to learn anything about it. As i'm sure you are well aware, not all great loves have happy endings and this film certainly isn't one of them, so if you are looking for a remake of The Notebook, i'd steer well away from this one.

The film follows the highs and lows of Dean and Cindy, A couple which first meet while Dean is working as a removal man. Dean feels the two have an instant connection and persues Cindy. The film inter-cuts between the present day and past moments in their relationship, and we get a clear and unbiased overview of their relationship. There is a great deal of happy moments between the couple, generally made even better by the charismatic energy that Gosling and Michelle Williams portray on set, but we also see the negatives like the onset of arguments, and the slow increase in their frequency.

I don't want to say much more as I feel the pleasure is in getting to know the characters yourself as you start to feel for them, and Gosling and Williams allow you to feel involved in their lives. I had no clue what was going to play out on screen before me as I sat down to watch this film, and I think that is the best way to approach it.

Buy it and enjoy! The music is class and the cinematography is pretty interesting, so visually its also pretty lovely. Although I would warn those of you who are expecting a soppy love story, this isn't for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blue Valentine 140, 19 Oct 2011
This review is from: Blue Valentine [DVD] (DVD)
#Blue Valentine - Both the beginning and end of a passionate relationship entwined into a 112 min heartbreakingly brilliant performance. Love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a gorgeous movie!, 1 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Valentine [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Beautifully written, wonderfully acted, directed with great confidence, highly personal, true to life, moving, beautiful, painful, in short: a magnificent film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 4 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Blue Valentine [DVD] (DVD)
i'm a wreck. some films you can talk about everything that worked and everything that didn't, and some films just duck under your guard and knee you in the balls. this hit me on every primal level. it is a true, beautiful, awful, horrendously, tremendously accurate portrayal of relationships. possibly more so than any film i've ever seen. i cried at least twice, which kind of freaked me out.

this is the third ryan gosling film i've seen, and that was one of the reasons it sat on my shelf for a while. the first was the notebook. pile of crap. but i'm blaming the film for that - there was no saving it. the second was drive. pile of crap. and for that i at least partly blame gosling. his performance, for me, was utterly terrible.

this was different class. he was amazing. part of the problem is that he was best as the aged gosling. the flashbacks, where he's the gosling of now, weren't as good as the later gosling. i think he's gonna come into his own in about fifteen years. i know it's only about seven or eight in the film, but they aged him at least fifteen... anyway, he was superb, just superb, as was michelle williams. i get the feeling you're meant to split the blame equally, or not at all, but i definitely sided with him. but i think that's the problem. i think most of my exes would side with the girl. it rang very true, unfortunately. as a workshy immature drunk, i have everything gosling had here, except for the looks and charisma. lots and lots of flashbacks all the way through - it was a painfully true film, especially as i have a kid with my ex, and when he walked away, pushing the kid back towards the mum, it was a bit too close to home.

i enjoyed them getting together. all films that have to show couples getting together either have to do it the hollywood "too good to be true" route, or it's sometimes painful to watch, in that they're not good enough - it's not real enough. it was just right here.

i haven't really structured this review, haven't really made much of it at all, but it's a fantastic film. not one i'll watch again in a hurry, but one i'm glad i've watched.

it's got the same name as one of my favourite tom waits songs. glad to see they didn't screw it up :) worthy of the name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7a98fd8)

This product

Blue Valentine [Blu-ray]
Blue Valentine [Blu-ray] by Derek Cianfrance (Blu-ray - 2011)
5.61
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews