Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A welcome return to an old name
I was a big fan of the Penguin Cafe Orchestra, and bought this knowing that it was not the same band, but a band of new musicians led by Arthuer Jeffes. However, from the first track, it's like an old friend returning. It's all there: the jaunty rythmns, changes in key, mournful strings and minimal percussion. Occasionally, I did feel it sounded a bit too forced, and...
Published on 3 Feb 2011 by The Soft Machine Operator

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
After being a fan of The Penguin Cafe Orchestra since the 1970's with me first buying a number of their albums in vinyl and then repeating the same on CD's, I was really looking forward to this new material by the revamped band. However this album by Simon Jeffes son Arthur lacked any of the odd ball imagination and variety his father's music, therefore I disappointedly...
Published on 12 Oct 2011 by biffbiffin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A welcome return to an old name, 3 Feb 2011
By 
The Soft Machine Operator (COVENTRY, WARWICKSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Penguin Cafe: A Matter Of Life (Audio CD)
I was a big fan of the Penguin Cafe Orchestra, and bought this knowing that it was not the same band, but a band of new musicians led by Arthuer Jeffes. However, from the first track, it's like an old friend returning. It's all there: the jaunty rythmns, changes in key, mournful strings and minimal percussion. Occasionally, I did feel it sounded a bit too forced, and really would have loved to have heard some folks like Geoffrey Richardson on there, and maybe a bit variety in the instrumentation (Too much piano!), but it's Jeffes' legacy now and it appears to be in good hands. A joy from start to finish, and essential for any fans of the Penguin Cafe Ochestra. It's great to see it back open for business, and let's hope there's more where this came from!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music Matters., 20 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. B. A. D. Plowman "Brendan" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Penguin Cafe: A Matter Of Life (Audio CD)
Mr. Soft Machine's review has summed up this release and the whole ethos of Penguin Cafe in a very concise manner. Hats off! Therefore, I will keep this review brief.

Listening to this wonderful album right now, I am bowled over by its consistently gorgeous melodies. Tunes such as "Landau", "Harry Piers" and "From a Blue Temple" are taking my soul to such lofty heights. Simon Jeffes would be very proud I'm sure of what his son Arthur and his dazzlingly talented group have created here.

Simply, listening to "A Matter Of Life" frequently induces the same amount of euphoria within me that the original Penguin Cafe Orchestra were so often capable of raising. I can think of no higher praise than that!

Buy this and give your spirits a guaranteed musical lift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Familiar but different, 25 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Penguin Cafe: A Matter Of Life (Audio CD)
Mr Soft Machine and Brendan have basically said all I want to say but thought I would chip in anyway. It is familiar to those who know the Penguin Cafe Orchestra - but also different as there are some new musical influences in there. I saw the Penguin Cafe in concert this week and it was fantastic. And lovely. Arthur Jeffes is a top bloke and was even a bit emotional at one point talking about his father. A nice group of people who all looked as though they were thoroughly enjoying themselves (apart from one of the ukelele players who was trying the moody look but just ended up looking bored!). My favourite tracks are the first two and Pale Peach Jukebox and Harry Piers (which Arthur wrote for his father's memorial service). But the whole album is really good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome back to the Cafe :-), 19 April 2011
By 
mariopops "Andy Rogers" (SOLIHULL, WEST MIDLANDS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Penguin Cafe: A Matter Of Life (Audio CD)
well, this is a real bonus ! When Simon Jeffes very sadly passed away in 1997 I thought we'd hear no more new Penguin Cafe music and indeed, all has been quiet for a long time.. But thank goodness his son Arthur has thrown open the doors to the cafe and is creating some fabulous music that while being similar in many ways to his father's stuff has enough of his own personality to take it forward. When playing this I was immediately back in the world of the PCO - all the elements are there, piano, cuatro, strings percussion etc .. in feel it reminded me more of the PCO earlier albums such as Broadcasting from Home than later albums- no bad thing. To summarise- if you liked the original Penguin cafe Orchestra you can buy this with confidence. I think Simon Jeffes would be very proud of his sons new album, not only keeping the PCO spirit alive but moving it forward :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars is, is not, 9 Mar 2011
This review is from: Penguin Cafe: A Matter Of Life (Audio CD)
I bought this without having heard a note from it. I was a bit worried that it wouldn't stand up to the wonderful past works of The PCO....but...it really does. And on its own 2 feet! The quirky Penguin style is still there; playing with time signatures, shifting rounds, different world music influences, and instrument combinations. There are a few musical nods to the old PCO which do justice to both the old and the new. I really like this; It is the Penguin cafe, it is not the old Penguin Cafe Orchestra. Can't wait to see where the new captain will be guiding his ship. Mr. Jeffes, ya dad would be chuffed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic, 6 Mar 2011
By 
A. Williams (Southampton, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Penguin Cafe: A Matter Of Life (Audio CD)
I ordered this out of curiosity but was delighted to find that the new Penquin Cafe has all the strange magic of the old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fine Sparky Chip off the Old Block!, 4 Aug 2011
By 
C. Owen (Stockport, Cheshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Penguin Cafe: A Matter Of Life (Audio CD)
Yes, love it! I've just come back from hearing Penguin Cafe at the 2011 WOMAD Festival. It picks up right where Simon Jeffes was so prematurely obliged to leave off, though there is every sense that it is going where Arthur and the new band wish to take it. What a joy that the show goes on in this way! I hope there's another album soon and that I can catch them live again in the not too distant...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A matter of life, 24 Mar 2011
This review is from: Penguin Cafe: A Matter Of Life (Audio CD)
Having seen this group live I wanted more to keep. Lively CD with a good selection of their music. Easy listening
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb., 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Penguin Cafe: A Matter Of Life (Audio CD)
Another superb recording from the Penguin Cafe. They've moved on from the early days and I do miss the quirky tracks, but still thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars New from the old, 28 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. Richard Moore (WA Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Penguin Cafe: A Matter Of Life (Audio CD)
A musically valid set that obviously draws inspiration from PCO roots but has its own voice and some beautiful highlights
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Penguin Cafe: A Matter Of Life
Penguin Cafe: A Matter Of Life by Penguin Cafe Orchestra (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews