Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Definite Improvement and still the best Golf Game out there!
Although I played the last game Tiger Woods PGA Tour 11 - Move Compatible (PS3) a lot and really enjoyed it with all the Ryder Cup options - it didn't feel that different from its predecessors.

This one however, feels very different from the start in both the way it looks and the basic gameplay. The thing you notice is the shift in emphasis away from Tiger and...
Published on 6 April 2011 by Bruce

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Move Controllers
If you intend using the Move Controller and Navigation Controller then stay with John Daly's Prostroke Golf. To take advantage of Move Controllers in Tiger Woods 12, you have to use all three controllers, i.e. the Move, Navigation and the standard controller. That can not be described as User Friendly. The instructions are not clear - I still do not know how to select a...
Published on 8 July 2011 by Denis Garrad


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Definite Improvement and still the best Golf Game out there!, 6 April 2011
By 
Bruce "from Brighton" (UK - England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tiger Woods Pga Tour 12 : The Masters - Move Compatible (PS3) (Video Game)
Although I played the last game Tiger Woods PGA Tour 11 - Move Compatible (PS3) a lot and really enjoyed it with all the Ryder Cup options - it didn't feel that different from its predecessors.

This one however, feels very different from the start in both the way it looks and the basic gameplay. The thing you notice is the shift in emphasis away from Tiger and more onto the image of the Masters tournament as being the biggest prize in golf and that as your eventual aim. This makes a lot of sense in that the current Masters tournament runs this week, so ties in with the game release and the relative demise of Woods himself, doesn't really deserve to have an impact on what is a great game.

Straight away on PS3 the graphics look like a huge improvement - everything is clearer and crisper with sumptuous video clips that are as high in quality and definition, as the best Blu Ray discs on offer today! The game has a classy look which fits in with the stunning locations on offer and there are several new courses which look wonderful e.g. the Masters course itself, as well as some improved old favourites.

There are two big noticable differences - so the Caddy is standing right there with you and it is much more about working as a team. You can turn the Caddy off - but it means you get straight into the game without needing a lengthy introduction or big user manual to read.

I like the way that you could start as an amateur and progress through your performance. The other big difference is that this time, you are playing to impress big name sponsors like Adidas and Nike - who will give you better gear - clothes and clubs with bonuses. So you still have the shop - but this time it is the sponsors who are paying mostly and you can choose different sponsors and start to win different outfits and equipment that helps your game improve.

I enjoyed this feature and it made the shop more integrated into the overall process. The game does have a linear goal - it's driving you toward qualifying for the Masters - but you can still choose what tournaments and challenges to play. You can also download new courses to play on or just go with those provided at the start. You get a code to allow you to log onto the EA servers.

Overall - I found the game easier than previous versions - which may be due to my familiarity or just that starting as an amateur rather than a pro is an easy level. I opted to keep putt preview and the old 3-click swing - but that's personal preference and maybe this also made it easier for me. But I enjoyed progressing quickly and getting to the pro level where it gets tougher. It's like doing a tutorial while still playing the game. Well thought-out in my opinion.

What really sells this though, are the improved graphics and together with great sound (more restrained commentary) it really is the best golf game around and just gets better the more you play!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy the limited edition!, 27 April 2011
By 
Mr. B. N. THORNTON "Bazman" (Wragby) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tiger Woods Pga Tour 12 : The Masters - Move Compatible (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is great but you should get the limited edition to have more courses! Slightly ironically since i bought the BASIC edition i PSN has had its problems and therefore cannot buy the extra courses which this version is undoubtedly trying to get you to do!

However it is TIGER WOODS and it is the BEST golf game out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, shame about the rest!, 22 Mar 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiger Woods Pga Tour 12 : The Masters - Move Compatible (PS3) (Video Game)
Another brilliant release from EA Sports. Would have given 5 stars but for 3 gripes:

1) Having to purchase extra courses as DLC (downloadable content) is a real drag. When I buy a game, I expect it to be fully inclusive, just as if I buy a DVD I don't expect to be palmed off with 75% of the movie, having to log on to Blockbusters, or whatever, to have to cough up an additional fiver just to be able to view the denouement of the film. VERY tedious!!! The more game companies do this, in a blatant attempt to squeeze as many pennies as possible from gamers, the less likely I am to buy the game in the first place, and I urge other customers to do the same.

2) The putting is not 100% consistent. If you're of a reasonably good standard, you'll know that when you attempt a short putt with a high degree of difficulty, usually between 5 and 10 feet, where you hit the sweet spot directly, as well as bringing the bar back and forth straight, you'll sink the putt on one try; but on another putt, where you hit EXACTLY THE SAME shot, it will miss. Very frustrating, particularly if you're gunning for that perfect, bogey-free round, or if you've just got 6 birdies in a row and you need that all-important seventh, only to see a 6 footer slide by, when you swear it should've dropped!

3) The levelling up system is flawed. If you're an avid fan of this series, like me, you'll know that in this offering it is far too easy to max out the levels - and I mean BEFORE you get to the extra top-end clubs in the pro shop. If you're of a reasonably good standard (winning most if not all comps you enter), I found you can reach 100% power, etc., after winning relatively few tournaments, whereas, in order to reach the top-end, specialised clubs, you have to win loads of tournies, while your maxed-out stats remain static. The gap is too wide, and you end up snaffling comp after comp, frustratedly seeing your points go up and up by the thousand, unable to increase your stat bars any further. At this stage, what, I ask, is the point in having more points?!

Nonetheless, The Masters is an enjoyable sequel of sequels, and the ability to play at Augusta, albeit virtually, is great fun, and an opportunity most lovers of this series won't want to pass up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a huge improvement.., 22 July 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tiger Woods Pga Tour 12 : The Masters - Move Compatible (PS3) (Video Game)
Although some things have changed from Tiger PGA11, there isn't much diference. I personally don't like the new caddie feature because round take so much longer. On PGA11 you could motor through an 18 hole round, but now the fact that the caddie tips come up on every shot takes an age. The masters moments are OK, but the challenges on PGA 11 were better because there were far more to keep you occupied for much longer.
The graphics are far better, when there's high wind the trees sway in the backround. The greens are also more realistic, it's harder to get the ball to stop, compaed with PGA11 where you could hit a 5 iron into the green and get it to stop with one bounce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Move Controllers, 8 July 2011
By 
Denis Garrad (Camberley, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tiger Woods Pga Tour 12 : The Masters - Move Compatible (PS3) (Video Game)
If you intend using the Move Controller and Navigation Controller then stay with John Daly's Prostroke Golf. To take advantage of Move Controllers in Tiger Woods 12, you have to use all three controllers, i.e. the Move, Navigation and the standard controller. That can not be described as User Friendly. The instructions are not clear - I still do not know how to select a club other than that recommended by the caddy (or which of the three controllers to use to achieve this).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Move support? Don't make me laugh!, 19 April 2011
By 
Karen Hughes (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tiger Woods Pga Tour 12 : The Masters - Move Compatible (PS3) (Video Game)
I bought this game on the basis that it supported the PS3 Move controller. The misgivings started when I looked at the (short) instruction manual which showed only how the standard controller works.
Anyway, there will be a tutorial in the game - surely. The game loads and immediately lets me play a hole as Tiger. Unfortunately it doesn't recognise the Move controller. So I try again, and the game recognises the controller. But there is still no tutorial and the on-screen help is useless. I then scour Google and find some of the instructions that EA should have included. But even trying them proves an exercise in frustration and futility. Basically this game does not support the Move controller in any meaningful way and EA's advertising of this support is shameful.
It may well play reasonably with the standard controller, but I won't be buying another EA game after this fiasco!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Golf Game Ever!, 4 Jan 2012
By 
Brawny Withed (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tiger Woods Pga Tour 12 : The Masters - Move Compatible (PS3) (Video Game)
Quite simply Tiger Woods PGA Tour 12: The Masters is THE best golf game on the market at moment.

The gameplay has improved greatly over previous versions of the game with a structured career mode starting off in amateur competitions working your way up to National and then International tournaments.

The graphic's are crisper with added realism and beautifully rendered courses to compete on. You also have the option of a caddie who helpfully suggest's options open to you during play.

The sports televison style presentation of the game is up to a high standard and adds another aspect of realism.

I can't recommend this game highly enough, if you have any doubt's on how good a golf game can be The Masters will put all those doubt's to rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Game is superb, 13 Dec 2011
By 
R. Potter (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tiger Woods Pga Tour 12 : The Masters - Move Compatible (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is superb, once masterd it is the best yet, don't listen to those who moan about putting, in real golf putting is not easy and that can be said for this game, but with a little practise you will be competing with the best, HIGHLY reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is what I've been waiting for!!, 1 April 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tiger Woods Pga Tour 12 : The Masters - Move Compatible (PS3) (Video Game)
This is way better than last year's version. At last, I feel like I've got a new golf game rather than an update. This year, the difference is all in the presentation, the road to the Masters almost has a 'story mode' feel to it as you start your career as an amateur, playing mini tournaments and challenges, and working your way up to professional status, and the big tournaments.

The new caddie feature makes things very easy, and I finished my first round 8 under par, including 2 eagles and a hole in one, maybe beginners luck, or maybe too easy, I had it on 'normal' difficulty level though. You can always turn the caddie off though, but with his recommended shots, it really makes you feel immersed in the game like a real pro.

I was also impressed with the new camera views. Now you can view each shot 'tv style' instead of from the golfers perspective (I don't know if you could choose this option last year?) That plus automatic replays when you hit a good shot all adds to the sense that you are taking part in a real televised tournament.

There's so many other things in the menu that I haven't even explored yet, so this is more like a 'first impressions' review, but I just know I'm going to playing this for a long time to come. If you own last year's version, I would definately say it's worth upgrading to this years... go and get it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TW pga tour 2012, 19 Feb 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tiger Woods Pga Tour 12 : The Masters - Move Compatible (PS3) (Video Game)
TW pga tour 2012
Great game, every time they bring out a new one it just gets better.
The game for me scores 8/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tiger Woods Pga Tour 12 : The Masters - Move Compatible (PS3)
8.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews