Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Dawn Of War Yet
For Dawn Of War fans this is an absolute must. Not only does it bring another popular race to the table - the Imperial Guard - but adds a number of new units to the existing races to add to the slaughter. The campaign is good fun (even better with a friend thanks to co-op) but now you can play it with the race of your choosing. Multiplayer is still brutal and unforgiving...
Published on 31 Mar 2011 by Signum_01

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh how far we have fallen
My summary of Retribution: Stagnant, soulless & without merit. I'm not even sure it has any of the S in RTS left.

Lets' recap. The original Dawn of War was straightforward old-school RTS. You had one or two hero units, but the meat of the game was base building & wave after wave of attacks of disposable peons. Strategic slaughtering unadulterated fun. It was...
Published on 16 Oct 2011 by J. Hotchkiss


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Dawn Of War Yet, 31 Mar 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dawn of War II: Retribution Collector's Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
For Dawn Of War fans this is an absolute must. Not only does it bring another popular race to the table - the Imperial Guard - but adds a number of new units to the existing races to add to the slaughter. The campaign is good fun (even better with a friend thanks to co-op) but now you can play it with the race of your choosing. Multiplayer is still brutal and unforgiving as ever, so if that's not your cup of tea then there is still the brilliant The Last Stand mode to satiate your online requirements.

It's worth mentioning that the Collectors Edition comes with special war gear for each race, normally available as paid DLC on Steam so it comes at a bargain price on Amazon. Also Relic have ditched Games For Windows Live in favour of the Steam overlay which makes inviting friends a much easier task.

Overall a brilliant addition to the Dawn Of War franchise, crafted with the passion and dedication you'd expect from a top developer. Nice one, Relic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, 30 May 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dawn of War II: Retribution Collector's Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
THQ sticking to what it knows best and, incidentally, THQ at their best.

Lets start with the arrival of the game. Comes in a meaty box with a plastic surround to protect the case. Inside the case is the game disc itself, the manual, a nice big DOWII: Retribution poster and some art cards. Nice.

Inseting the game will bring up steam. Yet another steam DRM game, no bother. For those who don't want to download all the files see below, otherwise allow it to download the files.

STEP 1. DON'T want to download.

- Insert disc and let steam download SOME files, then pause, right click -> delete local content.

- Exit steam completetly, leave the disc in tray.

- Go to Run

- Type: C:\Program Files\Steam\Steam.exe -install E:

NOTE: C: is the letter of your hard drive and E: is the letter of the DVD drive where the game disc is inserted.

For windows Vista and 7 (32-bit and 64-bit) users the path will look like the one below:

C:\Program Files(x86)\Steam\Steam.exe -install E:

- Steam should now restart. Log in and let it install.

- When install from disc is complete it will arrive around 90-95% done. The 10 or 15% accounts for updates or other content not on the disc.

- When complete. PLAY!

THE GAME

Graphics:

The graphics haven't really progressed from DOW II: Chaos Rising and DOW II though you can zoom right in on your units and see almost every tiny detail.

Gameplay:

The gameplay is same old same old. You get a story line dependant upon which race you chose at the start and you follow them through it and accompany some mini-bosses and, predictably, a huge fight at the end which is, sometimes, a complete bitch to win.

In this game you have your standard Heroes but you can swap them out for a squad of different troops and an increased population cap. You can also buy new squads and/or tanks when in the battlefield by capturing command post etc.

Story:

Intricate and detailed. Sadly, its sometimes poorly told by the characters which seem to cheaped it rather than make it deep and immersive.

Controls:

Quick, simple with virtually no learning curve. Gets more complicated as you use hotkeys etc.

Replayability:

This game has tons upon tons of replay value as you can select, i think, is one of seven different story lines which you can complete each of them and they are all centered around the different races in the DOW world.

Overall:

A great game that will keep you entertained for days upon days thanks to the massive campign choice. Everything else is more or less the same as the past two games except now you have heroes and squads to purchase.

8.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh how far we have fallen, 16 Oct 2011
By 
J. Hotchkiss - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dawn of War II: Retribution Collector's Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
My summary of Retribution: Stagnant, soulless & without merit. I'm not even sure it has any of the S in RTS left.

Lets' recap. The original Dawn of War was straightforward old-school RTS. You had one or two hero units, but the meat of the game was base building & wave after wave of attacks of disposable peons. Strategic slaughtering unadulterated fun. It was epic in scope if not in story. Even then, the developers made an effort to engage the player and I loved the characters & the glimpses into the W40K universe. Fast forward to the original Dawn of War II. Gone is the epic in scope, but instead we are treated to an in-depth viewpoint on the Space Marines, a tight RPG-like focus on heroes, wargear, upgrades, and tactics, as well as an engaging story. Again, I couldn't help but fall into the universe, and shepherd every marine as though they were my own children, considering it a personal failure if one died (I exaggerate slightly but you get the idea - I got immersed). In short, DOW created a saga, one that kept pulling the player back in.

By comparison, Retribution feels like a game thrown out on the basis that fans will buy any garbage with W40K on it. It lacks the tight RPG focus on heroes, because now you get those same disposable waves of peons to work with should you screw up. It lacks any meaningful story - indeed the wonderful exposition by Gabriel Angelos in the intro ... is about it. There's less pithy back and forth, no sense of evolution of heroes, almost no visible changes in them - it's a thoroughly spartan effort, as though the soul of the game got devoured in Warp transit, replaced with a little points counter & Steam achievements. So, unlike the preceding Chaos Rising which was pretty much more of the same DOWII, it has nothing really going for it.

It's not epic in scope like DOW or Supreme Commander, it's not epic in story, it's not got any decent characters so far as I've played, and lord knows I've tried to find something to like about a game I was looking forward to. It doesn't pick up where Chaos Rising left off in terms of your heroes' development, and the laughable 'six races campaigns' translates to the same campaign (with identical voiceovers and maps) repeated with a different race. The missions aren't even well designed. They make no practical sense when played as some of the races, and are depressingly linear, feeling more like Torchlight dungeon crawls than any sense of strategy. Meet enemies, shoot them, watch them die, repeat. About the only thing the expansion got right was to ditch GFWL.

If you are an addict and can't get by without watching W40K units blow up, and Youtube just isn't enough for you, you will find more here. Anyone looking for actual gameplay may have to look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dawn of War 2 Retribution, 9 May 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dawn of War II: Retribution Collector's Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
LOVE IT!!!
Being a big fan of the previous Dawn of War 2's I was really looking forward to playing the other races in the campaign, and im yet to be disappointed! I love how the campaign follows roughly the same story line, and how you can choose 6 different outcomes for the sub-sector! BRILLIANT!!
The new paint scheme editor is really useful how you can take a look at all the units and see what they are like in your colour scheme. And the graphics just make it brilliant!

Overall then, best game I've bought in ages!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A design misfire, 13 Jun 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dawn of War II: Retribution Collector's Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Apocalyptic battle, the legendary Warhammer 40k setting, successor to two fantastic games (DoW 2 and Chaos Rising), Eldar on wings and Orcs in Pirate hats. It should be fun, but in reality it just misses the mark for me. I've just found the solo-campaign to be unspeakably boring, principally because of the (in my view) foolish decision to apply an interface designed for micro-management to a more traditional RTS scale; it simply does not work.

The tactical opportunities are still there in this game, the problem is that one ends up with so many units to control that tactical finesse becomes more of a chore than an enjoyable part of the game.

If you enjoy DoW II for it's solo-campaign, as many do, Retribution will probably dissapoint. This is a game that, I would venture, has been tailored for the online DoW players; if that's your bag, the huge enhancements to multiplayer and the Last Stand make this title a worthy purchase. Otherwise I would wait until the price drops pretty sharply to satiate your curiosity about the campaign... just wish someone had told me that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring and unrewarding, 22 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. J. Archer (Plymouth, Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dawn of War II: Retribution Collector's Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
What i loved the most about Dawn of War II and its expansion pack was the ability to watch your characters grow and develop as the campaign progressed. This was not repeated in Retribution. I was looking forward to developing my imperial guard characters, seeing my sergeant develop into a seasoned veteran but every time I worked hard for a piece of equipment or stats upgrade, i started to realise that it was largely unsatisfying and didn't really change anything!
Wargear (barring largely the weapons' types) and armour all looks the same. Did you really enjoy that moment when you developed tarkus into a veteran squad or equipped your commander with an iron halo or jump-pack with legendary armour? This will not happen in this expansion... you could equip your character with a clown outfit and screaming banner shouting "ripoff" and your character would still look exactly the same... the same basic model that you started off with.
And this (lack of) character development also runs alongside what is basically a poor campaign. Linear, no freedom and rather boring.
The battles are average, not anything different from previous expansions. The battles' saving grace, however, must be autocannons: the one element i enjoyed about the game.

If you enjoy watching a cannon fire loudly into a band of eldar and mushing up their infantry, buy this game, but you'll get little more than what a Youtube video can accomplish. Otherwise, it's a waste of time, money and a previously enriched franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 13 Sep 2011
By 
P J Thompson (Market Harborough, Leicestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dawn of War II: Retribution Collector's Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This game is a massive let down in comparison to the previous dawn of war 2 games such as Chaos is Rising expansion pack and the first Dawn of War 2 game.
You are paying for a game with exactly the same unit choices as in the previous games, except that each race has a new unit. You may say that this is not true as you get a new race to play with, Imperial Guard. However I'm not even going to bother to class this as a race, as the hero choices for the race are lacking in depth and character both in game and on basic looks. Furthermore, the actual units you get are appalling to play with and are useless in game. The way the units are structured is again poor and lacking in imagination, as each of the units is supposed to fill out a certain role and yet they simply fail at this when compared with the same kind of units from other races. The heavy weapon teams are poor, the basic guardsmen are worse than useless in a fight and you have to send masses upon masses of them to get the job done and the catachan devils which are supposed to be `effective in close combat', but they are not and the weapon choices are boring and not imaginative, even if they can be used for `every occasion.' The only redeeming factor about the Guard is the tanks which are fairly cool. But, overall the Imperial Guard are a boring race, with poorly structured tiers of troops and their heroes are dull. THEREFORE, IMPERIAL GUARD IS A RUBBISH RACE.
Personally I not a player who buys a game for the campaign, but even though you get a new campaign for each race, the missions are very similar with only slight changes every mission for each race. So again boring, also the first 4 missions for each race campaign come up with the same tips and tutorial messages that are deeply patronising and make the assumption that you have the brainpower of a Nat.
The graphics if anything have only got worse and that seem to have reduced the effectiveness of many of the abilities in previous games. Furthermore, they now have a big thick red bar that denotes the unit's health which demotes the combat system of the game as it makes it less realistic and more like a game.
In conclusion, the game is not worth the money. At first I was hesitant about buying it, but I liked the previous two games and couldn't resist buying the next one on. However, after a few hours of game play I realised that I had had good reason to be hesitant, as the game play has been worsened the new race is to be frank rubbish and the campaigns are dull and unimaginative. So, a poor job and a real let down for me personally, as I have never written a review before, but this game was so utterly poor that I just had to warn other innocent gamers like me not to buy this appalling rip off of a game and to instead play another RTS such as Star craft 2 or maybe even go back to the Chaos is rising expansion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dawn of War II: Retribution Collector's Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
A present but was well recieved
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i dont know, 26 Feb 2014
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dawn of War II: Retribution Collector's Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I love it but its not the best game if ur bird its more for friends to play with u
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A worthy final chapter, 23 Feb 2014
By 
Griesmayer (Wien, Österreich) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dawn of War II: Retribution Collector's Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
It is a shame THQ went down. But thankfully they were able to give us some truly epic titles in their final years (Space Marine, DoW II Retribution, CoH 2, Metro 2033 etc.). Here are the reasons why you - if you own Dow II and/or Chaos Rising - should buy this game:

CAMPAIGN:
I've heard everyone complaining about the campaign but went ahead and played the Space Marine one and I have to say....it was better than I thought. It is undeniable that the Dawn of War II campaign was and still is the best in the DoW II trilogy, however I have to say that the Chaos Rising campaign actually isnt really better than this one...simply because the Chaos Rising campaign felt awfully short. While the Retribution campaign isnt as long as DoW II campaign, it certainly is longer than the Chaos Rising campaign and also takes you to more locations, although the missions themselves are certainly more bland and boring than those in the campaigns of both previous 2 DoW titles. They also did away with rewarding your degree of success with stars for completing a mission in record time, keeping everyone alive from start till finish and/or killing 100% of enemies. Furthermore, most missions have an annoyingly obvious corridor-like layout where the path literally winds itself like a snake from one end of the map to the other to prevent you from rushing it. Bridges or cliffs have been purposefully broken to prevent you from taking an alternate route. Very sad they resorted to this kind of poor mission design.

Still, what redeems the Retribution campaign is that they have taken a completely new approach: your squadmates no longer lead squads, but are one-man units. You have the option of replacing them with squads taken from the skirmish component of the game. E.g. you can replace Cyrus for a squad of Assault Terminators, The Ancient for a squad of Tactical Marines etc. They have also done away with skilling up your characters and instead only focus on unlocking new abilities with skillpoints. Some of these abilities get transferred to the squad that is taken instead of the character, when you choose to do so. Another great feature of the campaign is that you can now recruit units along the way instead of being stuck with the same 4 squads you started out with. All these improvements make more of the skirmish mode flow into the campaign than was the case in previous DoW II titles.

This of course makes perfect sense when you can replay the campaign as one of the five other races, thus being able to field all of their units as well and hear different dialogues between new characters, earn alien artifacts instead of space marine ones, enjoy slightly different takes on mission objectives, and a different storyline as well (though featuring the same planets in the same subsector). And while the mission maps you play these on are largely the same, sometimes there are different enemies to defeat when you switch sides, thus giving you lots of replay value, even if it might not mean that this game actually offers SIX completely unrelated campaigns. People have too high expectations - there is no RTS game out there that does something like that anyways.

FEATURE FACTION:

While Chaos Rising introduced Chaos Space Marines, Retribution introduces the Imperial Guard - a fan favorite faction from the early days of Dawn of War 1 itself, the Imperial Guard are your standard field army relying on tanks, artillery barrages and the lowly guardsman to win you the day. It feels nice playing as one of the "normal guys" for a change.

THE LAST STAND:

This extremely addictive game mode is expanded upon with a brand new map, called the Anvil of Khorne. Furthermore, you have access to an Imperial Guard HQ character - the Lord General, and also to the Tau Battlesuit Commander (DLC) giving you even more fun out of this game mode we have probably played to death since DoW 2 originally released.

MULTIPLAYER:

New maps, new units for all existing factions (the mighty Land Raider Redeemer with its two Flamestorm Cannons for the Space Marine faction, Slanneshi Noise Marines for Chaos, the Autarch for the Eldar, the Battle Wagon with built-in Deathrolla for the Orks and the terrifying Swarmlord for the Tyranids) and of course the new Imperial Guard enrichen the already diverse MP experience. While the original Dawn of War 1 quadrilogy concluded with 9 playable races (11 if you add the Grey Knights from the Inquisition Daemonhunt mod and the Tyranid mod), it is somewhat sad to see that Dawn of War II ended with only 6 playable factions. However, given that the scope of the game is different, I think these are good enough.

What I didnt like about this game is that - for some reason - I found the graphics/contrast on the campaign maps to be better in previous DoW II games (the Retribution campaign maps are downright ugly, and there's not a single mission that takes place at night anymore); the campaign could have also used some more interaction between characters through meaningful dialogue, and finally I hate the DLC policy - there's so much that buying all of it will cost you a fortune. Oh and Diomedes is an absolute joke. Now I know why he became a meme on the internet. But I guess this was Relic's attempt at bringing some form of humor into the otherwise completely grimdark future of Warhammer 40,000. "THIS is captain Diomedes :3 Brother I am pinned here >.<! BRUVA I AM HIT :("

A 4, out of 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dawn of War II: Retribution Collector's Edition (PC DVD)
£19.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews