Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Nu Tone excels himself
good album? yes. worth spending cash to put in your collection? yes. The debut album Brave Nu World had 9 full on anthem tracks and just a few bad ones. Words and pics has 7 full on anthems and 6 not slower less exciting ones. but, these 6 have been given a healthy dose of lyrics, excellent vocalists and some unique soulful sounds to keep them interesting...
Published on 1 July 2011 by Nomessingabout

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Uninspiring and a disappointment
This album is just a bit bland. It doesn't really offer any big tunes that really hit you and its attempts at soulful d&b leave me feeling pretty uninspired. I wouldn't bother.
Published on 6 Mar 2011 by tboyc


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Nu Tone excels himself, 1 July 2011
This review is from: Words And Pictures (Audio CD)
good album? yes. worth spending cash to put in your collection? yes. The debut album Brave Nu World had 9 full on anthem tracks and just a few bad ones. Words and pics has 7 full on anthems and 6 not slower less exciting ones. but, these 6 have been given a healthy dose of lyrics, excellent vocalists and some unique soulful sounds to keep them interesting.

overall this is a more soulful, refined, lyrical and chilled out album. but for a bit more speed brave nu world is not too far behind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great liquid album, 23 Jun 2011
This review is from: Words And Pictures (Audio CD)
Although only getting into drum & bass recently, I have listened to a lot and this rates as one of the best drum & bass albums I have heard. Each vocalist adds something different to each track and they all bring their own distinct feel to the album. All the tracks are quality but if I had to pick out some top tracks they would be: One (feat. Sophie Paul), Set Me Free, Shine In (feat. Natalie Williams) and Piece of You (feat.Stac). However my favourite would probably be This Feeling (feat. Ben Westbeech) which is an absolute soulful banger.
All in all I would highly recommend this album. I love every single track and despite being relatively new to drum & bass this album would really place as one of my top albums of all genres. I would recommend it to both d&b vets and newcomers alike as it truly is a liquid masterpiece and is simply really good music.
Also worthy of note is the bonus track called In the Lonely Hour (feat. Logistics) which you can buy exclusively off the Hospital site - definitely worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nu Tone words and pictures, 5 May 2011
By 
Daniel Bolonski "danny bee" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Words And Pictures (Audio CD)
Having heard various samples on the hospital podcasts i was quite intreeged about the album.I've been a Nu tone fan for some years but never really liked more than a handful of his tracks.I'm glad to say this is the turning point,with some great vocal samples and just some amazing new sounds this is the album you must have,it's just got a good combination of good beats and amazing spine tingling vocals that will keep entertained for more than 5 mins,In short nU tone with a new bag of tricks,You won't be dissapointed if you liked back of beyond,and brave new world,you will absolutly love this album.Top marks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!!, 12 Mar 2011
By 
R. Denton (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Words And Pictures (Audio CD)
Another superb album by Dan Gresham his best yet!!!

Its a must for all Drum and Bass/Hospital Records nuts!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First time NU-Tone...., 29 Dec 2011
This review is from: Words And Pictures (Audio CD)
... And I will be coming back for more. I am already in the hunt for some more of their cd's, this was a really good introduction, track 1 is a classic for me. BUY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning dnb, 9 Mar 2011
By 
C. Pusey (Bucks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Words And Pictures (MP3 Download)
One of those albums where you really cant pick out one tune in particular as outstanding, as they are all sensational in there own right. Calibre's 'even if..' album is another recent example for me.

How another reviewer can describe this album as 'uninspiring' is beyond me. I found the album truly inspiring, its got such a good feel to all the tunes; the vocals and bass lines are completely on point and are presented with a very different sound.

Cannot wait for summer, this album will be even better with added sunshine :D

Overall, if you like feel good drum and bass, tasty basslines or vocals in your dnb: an absolute must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Words And Pictures (Audio CD)
Great, Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Uninspiring and a disappointment, 6 Mar 2011
This review is from: Words And Pictures (MP3 Download)
This album is just a bit bland. It doesn't really offer any big tunes that really hit you and its attempts at soulful d&b leave me feeling pretty uninspired. I wouldn't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Words And Pictures
Words And Pictures by Nu: Tone (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews