Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest stories ever told
I have always loved classical mythology and recently started getting interested in Hindu beliefs and myths. The Ramayana is a central text and I downloaded the kindle version of Krishna Dharma's retelling for 2 reasons. First of all, I wanted a prose version as I prefer to have meaning over meter. Secondly, this version was rated higher than the other versions. On both...
Published 16 months ago by James Worby

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ramayana
It is a classic tale in the true sense. It tells of a time in the world when gods, men and supernatural beings roamed freely.
The prologue/introduction does unravel some of the mistery surrounding the descriptions of beings with more than the usual number of limbs and heads.

A really good read if you want to "escape" for a while
Published 22 months ago by Enzo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest stories ever told, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ramayana: India's Immortal Tale of Adventure, Love and Wisdom: India's Immortal Tale of Adventure, Love, and Wisdom (Kindle Edition)
I have always loved classical mythology and recently started getting interested in Hindu beliefs and myths. The Ramayana is a central text and I downloaded the kindle version of Krishna Dharma's retelling for 2 reasons. First of all, I wanted a prose version as I prefer to have meaning over meter. Secondly, this version was rated higher than the other versions. On both counts I got exactly what I was looking for. The Ramayana is one of the truly exceptional stories told by humankind. It is a story of duty, truth,virtue and love overcoming all obstacles and it is told beautifully by someone who is not only intelligent and insightful, but also truly loves the Ramayana and all the characters in it.

I would recommend this to anyone who is interested in world mythology or anyone looking for something special in an increasingly mundane and technological world. It is a story that is meant to speak directly to your soul and is told by a true storyteller who understands that. The only regret I have is that it has taken so long to read this. A truly brilliant and life affirming story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ramayana retold by Krishna Dharma, 11 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a somewhat specialised book; perhaps the market is for the westerner who wants to understand the life of Rama through reading the Ramayana, one of the great spiritual epics of India. I'm half way through this book and have to say that it's growing strongly on me. If you haven't read the Indian epics before, the nearest comparison to the Ramayana would be the mythology of ancient Greece. There are some parallels - it's about an heroic age from the distant past, honour and correctness of conduct are part of spiritual evolution, the deities interact much more with events on earth than they do today, amazing miracles and transformations occur, and so on. However, there's a special realism to the Ramayana and you do find yourself being drawn into a mysterious and beautiful world of very long ago; this world seeps into your being in a very positive and energising way. Krishna Dharma tells the story well. I bought this version because I wanted to read the Ramayana and Krishna Dharma's got a 5-star rating. It's a great book and it deserves another five stars, in my opinion. Having never been exposed to the Ramayana before, I'd say this is a great experience. Check it out, if the literature of India attracts you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent timeless epic., 17 May 2009
By 
M. Landolina "sapphire" (london.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This amazing retelling of the classic indian epic has been around for thousands of years,it tells of the battle between good and evil and how the qualities of a true leader and hero prevail. Anyone of all ages will be enthralled by the love courage and wisdom enacted by Lord Rama the incarnation of The supreme Godhead on earth 10.000 years ago. It is said in vedic literature that whoever reads the ramamyana will be blessed by good fortune and peace. Krishna Dharma makes this version very accessible to adults and children alike, an added bonus are the beautiful illustrations throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ramayana, 11 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written for the Western psyche but without re-arranging the story. I love this book and it is one which I will read (and have read) time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and True to the Spirit of the Original, 1 Nov 2010
By 
Mayuri (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
This is a beautiful retelling. I enjoyed it immensely and highly recommend. I didn't think anything could get close to the Ramesh Menon's retelling, however this version now has a special place in my heart too. It's not only a great pleasure to read, it also inspires devotion and nobility. What could be a greater tribute this wonderful epic?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very pleasant reading, 21 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have started reading this book recently and the author has a very pleasant writing style which facilitates easy reading. The story is a wonderful mythology. As I read I keep wondering why people don't want to make a nice movie out of this. With all the special effects available nowadays, I think this story can beat a Harry Potter or Lord of the Rings by miles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book has been out for a few months. It's the best !, 28 Sep 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Ramayana (Hardcover)
I bought the books a few months ago. It is available. Excellent reading. The best edition yet of this classic. All the details are there in a modern novelized version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ramayana (Hardcover)
Awesome storyline with little hints of wisdom throughout the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Epic Version of an Epic Tale!, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ramayana: India's Immortal Tale of Adventure, Love and Wisdom: India's Immortal Tale of Adventure, Love, and Wisdom (Kindle Edition)
I am personally a very big fan of Krishna Dharma's writing style, and have read many of his books, some of them many times over! This book is no exception! I have read it at least 4 or 5 times already and will definitely read it again in the near future!

His writing is so descriptive and colourful that you can feel as though you are actually sitting in those beautiful flower laden groves, or marching with the colossal vanara monkey's, or fighting in the great battle of Lanka!

The Ramayana is such a beautiful and epic tale and this particular version draws you in with such ease! I'm sure that even non-readers would be able to pick this up and get into it!

Cast off any doubt about which version to get stuck into and buy this one now! Believe me, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ramayana, 7 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ramayana: India's Immortal Tale of Adventure, Love and Wisdom: India's Immortal Tale of Adventure, Love, and Wisdom (Kindle Edition)
It is a classic tale in the true sense. It tells of a time in the world when gods, men and supernatural beings roamed freely.
The prologue/introduction does unravel some of the mistery surrounding the descriptions of beings with more than the usual number of limbs and heads.

A really good read if you want to "escape" for a while
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews