Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dogtanion Review
Bought this for my kids and it took me back to my childhood. It's still a great story and really good value for the amount of DVD for the price.
Published on 28 Feb 2012 by Harps40

versus
2 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Adventures Of Dogtanian [DVD], a great idea?
The box set looks like a great idea but some dvds are slightly deteriorated and scratched on the readable side, which seems to be a manufacturing defect as apparently no sign of shipping damage has occured. So, I understand that it is the manufacturer who is to blame because only him can prevent poor items to be traded, not directly Amazon as they tried to find the best...
Published on 14 Mar 2012 by Anonyme


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dogtanion Review, 28 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Complete Adventures Of Dogtanian [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for my kids and it took me back to my childhood. It's still a great story and really good value for the amount of DVD for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 13 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Complete Adventures Of Dogtanian [DVD] (DVD)
Takes me right back to university and Philip Schofield in the Broom cupboard days. I remember Philip desperately asking for viewers to write in with any ideas what the lyrics in the title song were about. They got got Richeleu down perfectly, the decadent and diffident court of the King and the festering internicine nature of the era perfectly and not only mostly done with dogs but cartoon ones at that. With good fight scence, if you can get over the incredulity of a talking mouse its' better than David Starky, certainly better than the Tudors and lots and lots of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything Dogtanian in one set, 25 Jun 2012
By 
D. M. Monid "davidmonid1" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Adventures Of Dogtanian [DVD] (DVD)
If you haven't gotten Dogtanian yet and want to experience the show, along with the 2nd series and TV movies, then this is the set for you. All 9 DVD's released by Revelation Films are here in this one set and it's defenately great value if you choose to buy it.

Discs 1-4 is the entire first series of Dogtanian, all 26 episodes are present and tells the tale of how Dogtanian first becomes a musketeer (or later known as a muskehound) and prevents Cardinal Richelieu's evil plans to try and obtain control of France for himself, and introduces you to Dogtanian's friends; Porthos, Aramis Athos, Pip and the lovely Juliette.

Discs 5-8 is the entire second series, another 26 episodes total. This series takes place years after the events of the first, with Dogtanian, now having a family, now has to defend France from King Louis XIII's evil twin brother; Blanbec. The animation to this series is different from the first, as series 1 was animated by Nippon Animation in Japan. This series was animated in Taiwan by Wang Film Productions and was a co production with Thames Television in the UK, obviously trying to re-capture the success of the first, but didn't quite in the end. But overall it's not a bad series. Yes some voices come back, while many others are replaced for this series, which didn't help it's popularity much. But it's still OK.

Disc 9 features the TV movies, the movie for Series 1 is the better of the two, they both use clips from both series and put them together, however the movies will have different vocal performances from the show. The series 1 movie features Cam Clarke; the original Dogtanian in the main role once more. There are a few cast changes, but the voices overall were fine for this movie. The one to avoid is the TV movie of Series 2, this was recorded YEARS after Series 2's official recording and was done by a company in London, England and not in America like the other recordings. The voices don't sound right for most of the characters and they even changed many of the names. Defenately avoid it, unless you want a laugh!

So if you want everything Dogtanian, that's all 9 discs, then defenately get this set. If not, then you may be better off picking up the seperate series sets and the lone DVD of the TV movies, but in my point of view, this is a very good value set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great timeless classic, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Adventures Of Dogtanian [DVD] (DVD)
I used to love dogtanian as a child and now my six year old loves it. She is fascinated by the muskahound's adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nephew, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Adventures Of Dogtanian [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my nephew when he came down to see me and we watched most of them together I was such a huge fan when I was growing and I was so gutted that he took it with him when he left will have to buy one again for myself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All for one... decent price, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Adventures Of Dogtanian [DVD] (DVD)
Had such fond memories of this show when I was a kid, so bought this to show my kids what TV was like when I was their age. They absolutely love Dogtanian, and I'm enjoying watching it all over again too... just don't tell the wife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh! those Staturday mornings., 10 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Adventures Of Dogtanian [DVD] (DVD)
With a push of the play button I was taken back to Saturday mornings a long, long time ago, when my only worry was getting up in time for lunch and not missing Dogtanian before meeting up with the lads in the pub, obviously I never owned up to my secret viewing, but now I can enjoy the memories without the worry, What fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Adventures Of Dogtanian [DVD] (DVD)
fab!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Adventures Of Dogtanian [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Adventures Of Dogtanian [DVD] (DVD)
good selection of dvds lots to watch good present, arrived quickly all as described good value for the money.all good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Adventures Of Dogtanian [DVD]
The Complete Adventures Of Dogtanian [DVD] by Shigeo Koshi (DVD - 2010)
£10.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews