Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great voices
this cd is the best poetry disc ihave ever had the pleasure to listen to. richard burton reading the ancient mariner gave me goose pimples and had my hair standing on end.a really pleasurable listen.
Published on 23 Aug. 2009 by Mervyn Hamilton

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Uneven mix
I was delighted to locate a CD which included Burton's "Ancient Mariner". His highly individualistic delivery is perhaps too overpowering to share with the likes of Gielgud and Ashcroft, each of whom acquitted themselves superbly. I was less impressed by Anthony Quayle's John Donne. He was never the subtlest of actors and should not have bawled the sun out as if it was...
Published on 10 Jun. 2012 by Norman Batterby


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars poetry, 15 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Voices Read Poetry (Audio CD)
wonderful to hear these voices of some of oiur great but belated actors. poetry should be encouraged more for younger children
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality recording, 3 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Voices Read Poetry (Audio CD)
Husband very disappointed with the quality of the recording.
Was bought as a gift for him so I'm disappointed too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bought for my wife!, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
She enjoys poetry and there are some very good items on this cd. Also some padding, but you do expect that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful., 28 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Voices Read Poetry (Audio CD)
The poems are those of some of our best loved poets - combined with the wonderfully mellow voices of great actors ;of the past this CD is a delightful treasure to play over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull and dated, 4 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I suppose I should have guessed by the date of the recordings that this would seem dated but I bought it on a whim to listen to in bed. Read by over-acting actors and poets (T.S.Eliot and John Betjman) using that excruciating BBC English, I think the poetry loses a great deal of its appeal. Even Richard Burton's beautifully enunciated Welsh accent reading Dylan Thomas starts to grate after a while. I can' judge Robert Donat as his readings didn't download for some reason. Nevertheless, I realise now why so many of us were put off poetry early on. I would much prefer a quiet and sensitive interpretation to a show-off theatrical one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Voices Read Poetry, 3 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Great Voices Read Poetry (Audio CD)
Can't review this as I didn't buy it for myself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth it, 15 Jun. 2014
By 
P. A. Taylor "Yorkypaul" (North Yorkshire ,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyable,thank you
Paul A Taylor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For use in Hospital, 18 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Voices Read Poetry (Audio CD)
Good selection and clearly read. very suitable for hospital private use with individual machine.Not tooeasy to find each individual track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great voices read poetry, 13 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Voices Read Poetry (Audio CD)
very pleased with great voices read poetry, it has given a lot of pleasure to my wife and myself and i would recomend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars poetry, 3 Sept. 2009
By 
Mrs. L. Rogers "lynne" (hertfordshire england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is different to my expectations,listen to it when I am in the mood , not a cd I would listen to often .But then I have only just discovered poetry, so probably me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Great Voices Read Poetry
Click for more info
Sign up to be notified when this item becomes available.
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews