Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great voices
this cd is the best poetry disc ihave ever had the pleasure to listen to. richard burton reading the ancient mariner gave me goose pimples and had my hair standing on end.a really pleasurable listen.
Published on 23 Aug 2009 by Mervyn Hamilton

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Uneven mix
I was delighted to locate a CD which included Burton's "Ancient Mariner". His highly individualistic delivery is perhaps too overpowering to share with the likes of Gielgud and Ashcroft, each of whom acquitted themselves superbly. I was less impressed by Anthony Quayle's John Donne. He was never the subtlest of actors and should not have bawled the sun out as if it was...
Published on 10 Jun 2012 by Norman Batterby


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great voices, 23 Aug 2009
By 
this cd is the best poetry disc ihave ever had the pleasure to listen to. richard burton reading the ancient mariner gave me goose pimples and had my hair standing on end.a really pleasurable listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Voices Read Poetry (Audio CD)
As you would expect, great intonation and perfect diction. I was particularly moved by the Robert Donat section at the end; it is a very intimate moment towards the end of his life and a reflection of what a great actor he was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Voices ReadPoetry, 20 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Delightful selection of poetry read by familiar voices. I find it lovely to listen to in bed when sleep is not coming, and the CD switches itself off should I eventually fall asleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice selection, 18 Aug 2011
This CD is indeed very good company for a quiet evening, with the selection of poems read by lovely, impressing voices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poetry, 6 Mar 2010
By 
Rosalyn White "music lover" (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love poetry and sat listening avidly to poems I had not heard or read for many years. I would recomment this for all poetry lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Voices Read Poetry, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Voices Read Poetry (Audio CD)
This was for a relative whose sight is diminishing. He loved reading but this is now virtually impossible. As he loves poetry this has made a lot of difference to his life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Uneven mix, 10 Jun 2012
By 
Norman Batterby "legnano" (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was delighted to locate a CD which included Burton's "Ancient Mariner". His highly individualistic delivery is perhaps too overpowering to share with the likes of Gielgud and Ashcroft, each of whom acquitted themselves superbly. I was less impressed by Anthony Quayle's John Donne. He was never the subtlest of actors and should not have bawled the sun out as if it was late on parade. Perhaps he should have listened to the Cecil Trouncer version which would have been available at the time of this recording. Nor was I impressed by Christopher Hassall's handling of "Westminster Bridge", which he seemed to patronise, as if to say "Here we go again with this dear old favourite". Surely a poem should be read, and heard, as if for the first time. My view here is that the whole thing was thrown together without much forethought. Not a CD I shall often return to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Relaxation Bliss, 29 Nov 2009
By 
D. Hage "blackpool" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Easy way to enjoy favourite poems with favourite music as a backing read by appropriate readers. the ultimate way to relax.[[I Dreamed a Dream
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Voices, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Voices Read Poetry (Audio CD)
Yes looking at the names decided metro buy this C D but what a disappointment. It was like listening to a continuous dirge. I heard it once bad never again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite Poetry, 28 Nov 2009
By 
I bought this as a present for a friend. I understand he enjoys listening to it when relaxing and whilst lying in bed at night before going to sleep. He seems to be enjoying his present. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews