Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best new British band since the Answer?
Tying their colours firmly to the mast of the rock till you drop ship (?), these young men have come up with something special. Sure there are derivitive moments on here but they add a melodic twist to an Americocentric style of riffage (clumsy phrase that!) that pleases immensely. I would liken them to bands such as The Sword, Buckcherry, Blackstone Cherry and Black Tide...
Published on 14 Feb. 2011 by Big Jim

versus
3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Underwhelmed
Best debut since Appetite for Destruction? In short you have heard this all before, it's plastic attitude sleaze rock by numbers but the songs, ulitimately, are just average. I'm not against gibberish lyrics, it's just some bands can string a whole load of unrelated sentences together and make it sound like they mean something, this lot can't.

Gun's N Roses...
Published on 25 Mar. 2011 by Thelomi


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best new British band since the Answer?, 14 Feb. 2011
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sons Of The North (Audio CD)
Tying their colours firmly to the mast of the rock till you drop ship (?), these young men have come up with something special. Sure there are derivitive moments on here but they add a melodic twist to an Americocentric style of riffage (clumsy phrase that!) that pleases immensely. I would liken them to bands such as The Sword, Buckcherry, Blackstone Cherry and Black Tide rather than AC/DC although fans of the latter will still find lots to like here. There isn't anything remotely like a ballad on here but there is a snatch of gospel at the start of St Peter and the sheer exuberance and tunefuleness of the band means that the 40 odd minutes of this album fly by and you can immediately hit the repeat button and return to the start for more of the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good CD, 1 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sons Of The North (Audio CD)
I first heard this band from a free CD in Classic Rock and I thought it was a great song and the best on the sampler cd. On reading a good review I bought the CD. It takes a few listens to learn the songs but they are really well structured great and catchty hard rock songs with super vox and sing along chorus and bridges galore. It's not a AC-DC 3 chord rock (not that's that is bad!) but that's just the impression the Amazon samples give which I think is really unfair. The songs are dam catchy. Take 'KISS tried to kill me' or 'Just like a woman'. Then 'Easy Peasy@ is a masterstroke with a female vocalist trading off verses with the lead singer. It's inspired - it's got groove and a got that Southern US rock swagger without sounding pretentious given they are brits. In fact you hear that Southenr Rock edge all the way through. That's what makes it different than your standard brit hard affair. 'Blood of the Kings' is the epic masterpeice weighting at some 7 minutes and excellent (if I recall that was the song on the Classic Rock sampler but if not I would be happy to be corrected). A bit further on there's man's Ruin with is a seriously good song for example. Just a great CD with 10 hard rocking songs that are not your usual generic Brit Rock.

Takes a few listens but for me it's been the first CD in the player each night I get in from work for the last 2 weeks. I think that says it all. The price is a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good a debut album as you can get, 7 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Sons Of The North (Audio CD)
Make no mistake - this album is a classic. Think of all of those debut albums in the past that made you think "wow - this is amazing" - you can safely add "Sons Of The North" to that list. The Black Spiders know how to dish out no-nonsense, kick-ass, rock-n-roll and they never let up throughout the 10 tracks on this essential addition to your ear diet.

Buy it now - you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cure for arachnophobia..., 26 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sons Of The North (Audio CD)
Black Spiders have assembled a fantastic collection of hard rock tracks on their debut album. As a KISS fan I loved their 2nd track... KISS Tried To Kill Me. Highly recommended to those that crave rock with balls!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock n Roll!!, 1 Mar. 2011
By 
Stavros (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sons Of The North (Audio CD)
This really is no-nonsense, heads down, balls out, dirty Rock n Roll! One heck of a debut album and I would not be surprised if this was many people's ROCK album of 2011.

The guitar riffs are huge and many of the songs had me tapping my foot or jumping around like a maniac ;-) The band definitely has a sense of humour. Exemplified best on 'KISS tried to kill me, where the fantastic rocking start had me cranking up the volume! The chorus/lyrics for this song are catchy and amusing, guaranteed to have you singing along in no time.

Many of the other songs follow suit (Blood of Kings, Medusa's Eyes, Just like a woman to name a few..) and this is 40 mins of creamy rock goodness. If you love Hard Rock music, then you should love this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Band, great attutude, 24 Mar. 2011
By 
S Finnerty "Steve" (Hedge End, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sons Of The North (Audio CD)
First saw these guys supporting "The Answer" where they were brilliant, playing with utter conviction and really getting the crowd on their site. This album captures their attitude with 10 great tracks of unpretentious hard rock from a band that seem to enjoy living the life. Straight on from the opening track "Stay Down" through the surreal "Kiss Tried to Kill Me" to the finale of "What Good's A Rock Without A Roll?" the album grabs you and never let's go. The production is clear and captures how the band has improved. They are headlining smaller venues around the UK at the moment and are well worth catching for a great night out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars F**k You And This One Horse Town, 19 May 2011
This review is from: Sons Of The North (Audio CD)
This is a supberb album, after having heard the EPs I was hoping that a full album would deliver and it does. Essentially it is just good old-fashioned hard rock that does what it says on the tin. I would recommend this album without any shadow of doubt but where the Black Spiders really deliver is as a live band. Go see them and you will buy this album and want more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard rock at its best, 25 May 2011
By 
Mr. Robert Ward (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sons Of The North (Audio CD)
An excellent album of hard rock, with enough variety to keep it fresh and alive. OK, not new and innovative, but it doesn't have to be when it is done this well. No weak points but stand outs are Kiss tried to kill me, Just like a woman and Si, El Diablo. The drumming on the latter is a treat.
Saw the band at Leeds Cockpit - and strangely the album is better than their live show. Sorry chaps, it need a little refining and better sound quality for the vocals; and the angry young man bit with the audience was naff - you have to earn the applause. Thought the bass player had very attractive blonde hair - and he thought so to as he posed in front of the lights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rocking tunes, 18 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Sons Of The North (MP3 Download)
If you like the previous EP's you will not be disappointed. A couple of older tracks appear on the album but these are a lot more polished. The Blacks Spiders are an excellent band one of the few I have seen that sound just as good live if not better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Steel City metallers, 26 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Sons Of The North (Audio CD)
Black Spiders sound as if they are having a rollicking good time and don't take themselves too seriously, so why do all their reviews contain references to Black Sabbath! It might have something to do with the fact that Black Spiders come from another industrial city, Sheffield, that was once noted for its steel-making. The band is composed of Pete 'Spider' Spiby (vocals & guitar), Ozzy 'Owl' Lister (lead guitar), Mark 'The Dark Shark' Thomas (lead guitar), and Adam 'The Fox' Irwin (bass) and 'Tiger' Si Atkinson (drums).

The band released the single `St. Peter' (Dec 2008), followed by `Cinco Hombres, Diez Cojones' EP (June 2009), `No Goats in the Omen' EP (May 2010) and finally the full-blown album `Sons Of The North' (Feb 2011). They have toured extensively alongside Airbourne, and with The Datsuns, Winnebago Deal, Parlor Mob, Stone Gods and Danko Jones. All of this hard work and sheer determination led to them being named the 'Best Underground Band' in the Metal Hammer Golden Gods awards in 2010. Their style is hard rock with equal measures of swagger and humour thrown in.

Unleashing a full-frontal guitar attack and a sing-along chorus of `parental advisory warning' proportions "Stay down / Stay down ...... fxxx you and this one horse town". This is followed up by `KISS Tried To Kill Me' where I can almost envision Gene Simmons bursting into their backstage room with an axe and a murderous intent to rid the world of the band that could possibly upstage him.

`Just Like A Woman Should' finds them expressing their latent sexuality "It's like a chill right down my spine / you make it happen every time / just like a woman should". Comparisons to Led Zeppelin come to mind in the thrusting `Easy Peasy', which contains dueling female vocals from Danni Maibaum of Double No No.

`Blood Of Kings' has jagged riffing with time changes and thumping bass lines leading the way. It contains a hidden track of a gospel chain-gang singing "I'll be waiting by the railroad, waiting for Jesus to come / I'll be waiting for Saint Peter / Waiting for Jesus to come" before they lay into some stark, doom laden guitar and foreboding bass in `St. Peter'. Can you picture the scene as the Black Spiders queue up at the pearly gates waiting to see if they can get into heaven "Saint Peter won't you let me in / Lord knows all the trouble I'm in". They also cross over to the other side with `Medusa's Eyes' and `Si, El Diablo'.

The final track has an opening riff that takes you straight back to Saxon's early days and contains equally preposterous lyrics "Eat thunder". Black Spiders have their tongues stuck firmly in their cheeks and their amps turned up to eleven!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sons Of The North
Sons Of The North by Black Spiders (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews