Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Ever
Have not stopped playing this CD since I got it, I am not sure if it the songs as when I hear one I think great and then the next comes on and again I say great. I think that Micheal or someone has made a very good choice of songs for a new CD, if Michael does like them all then I can only say great choice. From Let the Heartaches Begin it only gets better. For myself the...
Published on 14 Mar 2011 by keith warden

versus
5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I love Michael Ball and have been a massive fan for many years. However I have to say that I was really disappointed with this CD. He has such an amazing voice and sings the songs of musical theatre with such passion but this offering is not much better than lift music in my opinion. I listened for about three songs and then turned it off, I am building up the courage...
Published on 18 Mar 2011 by Ellie


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Ever, 14 Mar 2011
By 
keith warden - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heroes (Audio CD)
Have not stopped playing this CD since I got it, I am not sure if it the songs as when I hear one I think great and then the next comes on and again I say great. I think that Micheal or someone has made a very good choice of songs for a new CD, if Michael does like them all then I can only say great choice. From Let the Heartaches Begin it only gets better. For myself the CD is worth the money for the following two tracks, Ill Never fall in Love again really well done and to my ears the best version I have heard and then followed by Play Me a underrated Neil Diamond song.

So if you like Michael Ball or are wondering if you should buy his CD, just buy itand you will really enjoy it. 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album Ever, 9 April 2011
By 
Mrs. S. Cronin "Big Sis." (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroes (Audio CD)
This is the best album Michael has ever done. There isn't one weak track on it. From start to finish I love it. As a great Neil Diamond fan I have to say Michael's version of "Play Me" is as good as if not better than the original. Love his version of "I can't Help Falling In Love With You"more in keeping with the Kings version than Andy Williams. Not to mention his brilliant "Weekend in New England and "You Don't Know Me. His duet with Tony Christie on the brilliant "Avenues and Alleyways" is a great finish to this album. Perfect late night listening, early morning listening even doing the ironing listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 24 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroes (Audio CD)
Not only is Michael getting better looking with age (the photo on the front cover is evidence of that)...his voice is getting better too.

What an AWESOME CD, there's not 1 bad song on here.

To try to narrow down my favourites is very difficult, but i would have to say my top 4 songs are (in no particular order):
1) Play Me
2) Weekend In New England
3) I can't Help Falling In Love With You
4) He'll Have To Go

I can't recommend this CD highly enough.

Keep up the excellent work. xxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heroes, 24 Mar 2011
This review is from: Heroes (Audio CD)
If you are looking for an album of musical theatre standards, which undeniably show Michael Balls voice at his very best. 'Heroes' is not it, however this album is the best non theatre album Michael Ball has recorded for years, probably the best yet! With it's lovely arrangements and quite unusual song choices which represent several decades of music, Michael's voice has never been in better shape.

Another reviewer commented that no-one can compete with Any Williams with 'I can't help falling in love with you' but many would say Elvis was responsible for the definative version of the song. This illustrates the versitility of the songs on this album, they lend themselves to different interpretations. In my opinion Michael Ball has created a fine version of this song and like all the others on the album, they sound as fresh today as they did when they were first recorded.

Favourite tracks 'I'll never fall in love' and 'Avenues and alleyways' are two, but there really isn't a track I dislike or skip.This album is a great contrast to all the theatre related projects Michael Ball has been doing over the last couple of years, and it illustrates beautifully another facet of his amazing voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous, 9 April 2011
This review is from: Heroes (Audio CD)
This is a great album. There is not a song on it that is not fabulous and Michael Ball's voice is so beautiful. He has always been a favorite of mine and it would be hard to pick a favorite album, but this one is at the top of my list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroes (Audio CD)
One of my favorite artists, enjoy all the CDs I have and play them time after time, keep recording, Michael.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing as always!, 15 Mar 2011
By 
Gitte Thuesen (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heroes (Audio CD)
I LOVE it! - definitely one of the best(maybe THE best)album Michael have ever done.
Favorites so far: Play Me, New York State of Mind, Joanna and For Once In My Life.
But they are all great!

"I Can't Help Falling In Love With You" is absolutely AMAZING!
I didn't think it would be possible for anyone, even Michael, to sing this song as good as Elvis did.
But this blew me away. I think I love Michael's version better than Elvis'.

Definitely 5 stars - I wish I could give it more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroes (Audio CD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Ball Heroes, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroes (Audio CD)
Michael has always been my favorite and can do no wrong as far as I am concerned - love everything he does
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good choice., 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroes (Audio CD)
Very easy listening. Just right for the journey into work and home again. Very pleased with this purchase, definitely recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heroes
Heroes by Michael Ball (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews