Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twilight for grown-ups
Love this show, it is much darker than things like Twilight and Vampire Diaries (neither of which I like very much). The storylines are completely absorbing and the characters are just brilliantly designed, realistically flawed but likeable, including the more 'evil' ones such as Eric.

I have read a couple of the books and much prefer the TV show, which is...
Published on 13 April 2011 by Spyro

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a guilty pleasure
It took me a while to get into the story, because it really has it's own little world. There is a mix of characters, some that you will hate, some that you will love and some that you will love to hate. The series takes it's own path, it mildly resembles the books, but at the same time it is completely different. Personally I think this series would be a lot better...
Published on 30 Nov 2011 by Chantal Noordeloos


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twilight for grown-ups, 13 April 2011
By 
Spyro (Colchester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: True Blood - Seasons 1-3 Complete (HBO) [DVD] (DVD)
Love this show, it is much darker than things like Twilight and Vampire Diaries (neither of which I like very much). The storylines are completely absorbing and the characters are just brilliantly designed, realistically flawed but likeable, including the more 'evil' ones such as Eric.

I have read a couple of the books and much prefer the TV show, which is rare but goes to show how good it is!

It is true that particularly the first few episodes of the first season feature a lot of sex and nudity, which I can only guess was made so graphic to draw viewers in (however it seems to have put off as many people! My parents, who would otherwise love this show, won't watch it because of the amount of nudity). It does tone down to an extent later on though, and the intruiging plot and characters more than make up for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch at all costs!!!!!, 22 Jan 2011
True blood is fangtastic, dont listen to negative reviews at least watch it and decide for yourself. I admit its not everyones cup of tea but even my dad and mum who generally wouldnt watch anything with sex or swearing in it are hooked. I myself, love vampires hence the name Buffy, and after reading the negative comments felt that i should write my own review. True blood is exciting and fresh, most of the vampire shows or films that have become popular ie twilight, vampire diaries are aimed at a different audience, not that i am conplaining as i love them all, but this is the only one that has a dark undertone which makes it more gritty, and leaves you wanting more. Each week i cannot wait for the next episode, the vampires are more what you expect, dark, dangerous and deadly. Love it x x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a guilty pleasure, 30 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Blood - Seasons 1-3 Complete (HBO) [DVD] (DVD)
It took me a while to get into the story, because it really has it's own little world. There is a mix of characters, some that you will hate, some that you will love and some that you will love to hate. The series takes it's own path, it mildly resembles the books, but at the same time it is completely different. Personally I think this series would be a lot better without it's leading stars Sookie, Bill and Jason... but that is a matter of taste. And it's a good thing that it's not up to me, or this series would be called Pam and Eric (with a side dish of Alcide, but that is just for my viewing appetites). True Blood is strangely addictive. I managed to discard the little indescrepancies in the plot or the constant reinventing of the characters and really enjoy it. There is a touch of brilliance in all the madness, and though a lot of things aren't exactly new and refreshing, it has been made new and refreshing in the way it is presented. If you are easily offended by blood or nudity, this is not the series for you. A friend of mine called it Spartacus with fangs (not completely true, but it gives you an idea, lol)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must see, 18 Mar 2011
i've watched all 3 seasons at least 3 times already and i'm one of the lucky ones whe have pre-ordered,the HBO's seasons 1-3 complete along with Dead Reckoning, the last book of SVM by Charlaine Harris. i'm looking forward to own them!!! i love the books and the tv show,the actors are all amazing. i'd recommend them to open-minded adults who are in for a good combination of reality as in everyday life with fantasy and adventure all mixed in a remarkable clever way.(pardon my english)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh joy, no adverts ..., 21 Oct 2011
By 
Leon Crawley (Worcestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I only started watching the 'True Blood' series in the middle of series 1, so of course I had missed the beginning. But even from that point I was hooked, so much so I got, and read, all 11 of the books by Charlaine Harris of the Southern Vampire Mysteries upon which the series was based. The American import of the series produced for television had the obligatorily American advertising intervals interrupting at annoyingly regular intervals. What bliss it was to see episodes uninterrupted by drivel, that is, the adverts.

The series was so addictive I actually sat through all of the discs in about 3 sittings, over several days, twice! I think I will leave it a few weeks before watching them again, but I will.

Having now been able to watch the series without the adverts it is easier to compare the series content with the books, and of course there are differences. But, a film will never match the book it is based on, unless of course the book is based on the film as in the case for instance of the film 2001 where the book was a version of the film script. But the differences between the film and book are acceptable. I am looking forward to the TV series catching up with the books. But as Charlaine Harris is writing the books it may be a few years before that happens. It is almost like the Harry Potter series of books and films in that way.

The initial tune theme by Jace Everett, 'Bad Things' is a great intro to each episode, but because of the adverts I had missed the final themes of each episode which in themselves are different after each episode and each give a snap shot of the American South and the music scene there. There is some good closing music.

If you have seen a few of the episodes on TV and enjoyed them, get the Blu-Ray set, or DVD set of the series, you will enjoy the series as the director intended, uninterrupted by dross.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Blood - True Quality, 4 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Blood - Seasons 1-3 Complete (HBO) [DVD] (DVD)
Never having seen True Blood, I spotted a recommendation for this box set, and it said 'never never dull' How true that is. These episodes are really well written, dynamic and unpredictable. You start by wondering if a vampire named 'Bill' isn't a bit silly, but you soon get right into these 'supernatural' characters and the action begins to feel very stylish. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its like marmite, 12 Mar 2014
By 
C. Taylor (Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Blood - Seasons 1-3 Complete (HBO) [DVD] (DVD)
I think this is great, but you either love it or hate it. The characters are all great, very well picked. There is a sexual tension that although blatant is not too much in your face. The story line is varied and keeps your interest. I would have struggled watching it all on telly, I couldn't have waited a week to see what happens next. If you can take it for what it is, good entertainment then you will enjoy it and I would certainly recommend it to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Blood - Seasons 1-3 Complete (HBO) [DVD] (DVD)
loads of tits and vampires! what more do you want.
series 1+2 are great.3 was bent and 4 was even worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
YAY 3 Seasons, 15 discs, lots and lots of extras, each season came in one Blu-ray case with 5 discs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it!, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Blood - Seasons 1-3 Complete (HBO) [DVD] (DVD)
I absolutely love true blood and got everyone around me loving it too. Good stories and humour. A must see for anyone that likes a vampire or two
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

True Blood - Seasons 1-3 Complete (HBO) [DVD]
48.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews