Customer Reviews


320 Reviews
5 star:
 (237)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Throughly enjoyable and a delight to watch
Disney's core audience are children. I have to applaud Disney for encouraging children to express interest in classical music through the inspring and clever use of animation. Adults would appreciate the beauty and splendour of what the animation offers. I simply could not resist gaining a taste of Fantasia. Disney conveys the core values of humour and charm in this...
Published on 24 April 2011 by Mr. P. Datta

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disapointing presentation
Having watched this during the mid 1990's on vhs, and being amazed at the sheer delight of the mix of animation with classical music, I must say I was looking forward to seeing it again on a special edition dvd as a young adult. For a start it did not begin with mickey and fluently progress from there, it started in sections and I feel it did not work as you never got to...
Published 24 months ago by M. Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Throughly enjoyable and a delight to watch, 24 April 2011
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fantasia - [DVD] [1940] (DVD)
Disney's core audience are children. I have to applaud Disney for encouraging children to express interest in classical music through the inspring and clever use of animation. Adults would appreciate the beauty and splendour of what the animation offers. I simply could not resist gaining a taste of Fantasia. Disney conveys the core values of humour and charm in this stunning musical piece of Fantasia. The unique love of animal characters are utilised effectively. The scenery at times varies to provide a fresh dimension to the animation as you are about to observe. It is a break-taking and truly amazing experience to watch. Initially, Fantasia in its earlier days was a commercial failure during its released in 1940. Fortunes have swiftly changed. It has become a massive success and enjoyed by millions. Theatres provide regular shows. Watching it on DVD is extra special. The Dvd version is the original work. I really appreciate the level of work and money invested in reviving this animation.

I love musicals and really enjoyed this well crafted piece for displaying a surreal world to really appreciate. It is engaging and educational. I find it hard to believe the animation was released 70 years ago. A narrator and the orchestra group are quickly introduced in the opening sequences amazingly in colour. Adding colours in films was possible to achieve in those days as Disney applied a technique known as Technicolor. In those days, it was quite expensive and sophisticated for other film-makers to follow the similar route. The sound and picture quality adds an amazing and unique viewing experience to the animation. The narration is first class and informative. The musical pieces featured are well thought out and displayed to perfection. The innovativeness of mixing animation and music promoted a new dimension.It continues to inspire future generations of animation.

The music comprises a selection of acts from some of the finest and gifted composers who embraced the world. The animation is divided by eight set pieces. We experience the world in its rich beauty, nature and humanity through the amazing world of what animation offers to viewers. The main pieces include Nutcracker Suite, The Sorcerer's Apprentice, Dance of the Hours and few others as well. Each piece unfold a story and the music is expertly used to convey the story for its audience. The music tone changes for each piece. It changes from its soft touch to a dramatic atmosphere. The magic of Disney re-ignites. Fantasia is a delight to watch on DVD, as it is unique,charming, stunningly attractive, surreal and expertly displayed. It is a great collection item to include. I thoroughly enjoyed it and would highly recommend for anyone who loves musicals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revolutionary Perfection, 4 Mar. 2004
By 
Mr. T. Speller "tomtedspeller" (London, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fantasia [DVD] [1941] (DVD)
Not your average film, I know. But I just loved this film, because of two aspects-
1)The visuals are absolutely stunning, and at the same time absolutely revolutionary. If you consider this was 1940 when they made this, what they managed to achieve was incredible, really taking techniques to the limit. I know these methods have now been superseded by other techniques, but what they achieved THEN was cutting-edge; and you just cannot help feeling admiration for the film-makers. Plus who will be able to forget Mickey Mouse as the Sorcerers Apprentice, the dancing hippos to Ponichelli's Music, the Rite of Spring sequence, the fire of Night on Bald Mountain, the visuals used in tandem to Bach's Toccata and Fugue? I certainly haven't! Okay, not your average plotline, but if you just take this film as showing what they could achieve when taking techniques to the limit, you cannot help but be amazed.
2)The music. I'm sorry, I just LOVE music! And in particular, I love classical music, and never will you get a better collection of classical music in a film(although Kubrick's Clockwork Orange and 2001 have wonderful soundtracks). Bach's Toccata and Fugue played by a full orchestra was a hugely revolutionary thing to do, given that it is an organ piece- and yet it is an absolutely brilliant arrangement. Dukas' Sorcerer's Apprentice, works so well in the film. Stravinsky's Rite of Spring, absolutely revolutionary in itself(causing riots when first performed in 1913), also wonderful piece of music(also listen to his Firebird or Petruchka). Beethoven's Pastorale(6th Symphony), okay not as good as his Fifth, his Eroica, his Moonlight Sonata or his Ninth(my fave classical piece), but again worked so well. Ponichelli's Dance of the Hours, unforgettable sequence with hippos that has to be heard and seen to understand the brilliance. Tchaikovsky's Nutcracker Suite- ballet at its best. As for Mussgorgsky's fiery Night On Bald Mountain seguing into the angelic Ave Maria of Schubert, a wonderful experience when combined with the visual. I know I'm being irrational, but the sounds just work so well with the visuals that the film just works. I cannot explain why, it just...works.
So... not your average film then. But a must buy for film and music afficionados, as this is just perfection at its most revolutionary, and revolution at its most perfect, both aural and visual. Fantasia is just revolutionary perfection, you will be spellbound watching and hearing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking!, 14 Jun. 2006
This review is from: Fantasia [DVD] [1941] (DVD)
If you only ever see one Disney movie PLEASE make it Fantasia. From the opening sound of the orchestra until the last note dies away it is a total joy. Eight legendary pieces of music by some of the world's most beloved composers joined by characters that only Disney could come up with. The most well known section, of course, revolves around a certain Mouse but that aside there is definitely something here for everyone. My advice is watch this once but don't judge it immediately watch it again and I think you too will fall in love with Fantasia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic unforgettable, 25 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fantasia [DVD] [1941] (DVD)
It is absolutely beautiful, every note is perfectly linked to the images: abstractionism, surrealism, but also funny. A powerful tool to stimulate the youth to the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars startling for its time, and still great for older and much younger viewers, 24 April 2012
By 
hillbank68 "almac1975" (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fantasia - [DVD] [1940] (DVD)
This was one of the earliest of Disney's full-length cartoons, and one of the boldest. I watched it with pleasure about 50 years ago, when I was 15. Now I have had the great pleasure of seeing it again, but this time in the company of grandchildren aged 3 to 6. They see many DVDs, but this one is not like the others, and I noticed that several times they actually gasped at the surprising visual things that were onscreen - and they were a little bit frightened too here and there, but pleasurably so. They loved it. For myself, I loved most of it (there's a bit too much sugariness about the centaurs and their ladyloves in the 'Pastoral' Symphony for me), and particularly the famous 'Sorcerer's Apprentice' 'The Rite of Spring', 'The Dance of the Hours' with its hippos, ostriches, crocodiles and elephants, and 'Night on the Bare Mountain'. OK, there is some Disney cuteness, but there is also a great deal of inventive animation, humour and atmosphere. Stokowski was an old showman, but he was also at the head of one of the very great orchestras of the time, the Philadelphia, and he was indisputably a great conductor. The music is mostly excellently presented, with only just too much drastic cutting in the 'Pastoral' for my taste - to tell the whole 'story' of a 40-minute symphony was perhaps a little over-ambitious. 'The Rite of Spring' was an interesting and bold choice in 1940. Presumably a good number of the target audience would never have heard it, and it was still a fairly advanced score for that time (there is in fact a neat little joke about this in the intro, when the tubular bells are knocked over off-camera). But the music and graphics work excellently, with necessary but sensitive editing of the score so it could fit the narrative in the images. In a nation which still has a vocal fundamentalist minority now, it's nice to see Disney offering, 70 years ago, the accepted scientific evolutionary view of creation. So there are far, far more plusses than minusses here, it has worn well and it still gives very great pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasia - Fantastic, 30 May 2008
By 
K. Taylor "Media Addict" (Southend-on-Sea, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fantasia [DVD] [1941] (DVD)
Even though this film is over 60 years old it hasn't aged a bit. It still retains it's magic, sparkle and entertainment value. I first saw this at the cinema when I was in my early teens and even though I've seen quite a lot of disney films in my time, nothing comes close to the experience of the pure sounds and visuals of this film. Disney exceeded himself when he made this and I believe he has never bettered it, regardless of the advancement in technology. If you've never seen this I would highly recommend it. Children and adults will find different aspects of enjoyment in this film, but both will enjoy it on many different levels. This is a true Disney masterpiece, very different to the types of films the Disney studio tends to churn out these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney film, 12 Dec. 2010
By 
Ms. S. Sinclair (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought the DVD/Blu-ray version as it means when I can afford to treat myself to a blu-ray machine I will still have the disc to watch and don't need to dash out and re-buy the film. I bought this film in memory of my mum, first & foremost as she saw this when she was a child and always said it was her favourite, she had it on video which I never really got round to watching, it was my loss as I really enjoyed watching this when I got it there's so much in it, cartoons & music. It's a film the whole family can enjoy young & old. Get it and enjoy it with your kids on a cold snowy day which they say we'll be getting again soon, I've watched it several times now and find something new about it each time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diamond Edition due late 2010, 21 Oct. 2009
By 
James B. Spink "Jim" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fantasia [DVD] [1941] (DVD)
This 60th anniversary edition of the classic Disney animation Fantasia was released in the year 2000 and deleted from the catalogue at the end of 2004. It is now a much sought-after collector's item. If you can wait a bit longer Disney has announced that a "Diamond Edition" will be released in late 2010 in both standard DVD and Blu-ray formats, along with the sequel Fantasia 2000. Hopefully this will finally give us the definitive version of this old Disney masterpiece which has appeared in many cuts and versions over the years. This 2000 release is the most complete version to date, with just a little editing, and deserves a full five stars. It's just a pity that it is not still more widely available!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic fantasia, 30 Mar. 2011
By 
R. Poole "baby boomer" (london uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantasia - [DVD] [1940] (DVD)
at last!! lovingly restored and out at a great price this shows up the pretender fantasia 2000 for what it was DROSS!a brilliant way to get children into classical music (tho' night on bare mountain might be a bit frightening for younger children) and still marvellous for all us adults who can use them as a cover to watch it all again ourselves.if you dont have children then you can watch it as a guilty pleasure;you wont be disappointed as its lost none of its charm or humour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasia., 14 Sept. 2009
Delivered quickly and a very good price. Although this was for the japanese market there was the option to have the original english sound track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fantasia - [DVD] [1940]
Fantasia - [DVD] [1940] by Wilfred Jackson (DVD - 2011)
£7.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews