Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The new edition of a Classic
This is the new edition of Kraig's classic course on high magick of the western tradition. Here you will an excellent primer to get you going on the path particularly if you are interested in Golden Dawn Traditions and Thelema (although does not cover Thelemic rituals), although the course does contain a section detailing modern Wicca and Tantric material.

The...
Published on 10 Mar. 2011 by Ogmios

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good primer
This is not the easiest book to read from cover to cover and was not really designed to be read in that way. It is a lesson book, but sometimes i found you had to constantly jump forwards and backwards to reference stuff, fortunealy this was on my kindle which makes it so much easier rather to do.
Published 17 months ago by Nick Brennan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The new edition of a Classic, 10 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the new edition of Kraig's classic course on high magick of the western tradition. Here you will an excellent primer to get you going on the path particularly if you are interested in Golden Dawn Traditions and Thelema (although does not cover Thelemic rituals), although the course does contain a section detailing modern Wicca and Tantric material.

The new edition is much larger than the previous edition and includes some much better larger photos and diagrams, plus helpful summary sheets. New material is also inserted into the text at various points with Kraig's anecdotes, tips and updates on matters since the previous editions. At times these are insightful, witty and perhaps a little annoying but overall make for an updated better text than the original.

The New Chapter making this '12 lessons' includes Kraigs Synopsis of NLP, Chaos Magick and 'Post Modern Magick/Linguistics' ideas of Patrick Dunn. Personally, I found the section on NLP to be rather too brief to be of much value other than to just point the interested reader in the right direction. At a guess I might say there is 20% new material included in the book at the very most, comprised mostly of the new 12th chapter.

Overall an excellent buy, even if you have the old edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A "MUST" FOR THE APPRENTICE, 18 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Magick: Twelve Lessons in the High Magickal Arts (Kindle Edition)
If your interests lie within the Golden Dawn order, and in the early stage of acquiring knowledge, I "FIRMLY" advise Modern Magick as a "MUST" read. Not only does it teach you "ALL" you need to know to kick start your esoteric endeavors but, in a very "SAFE" fashion!! With the Banishing Ritual of the Pentagram and the Banishing Ritual of the Hexagram you can be sure you'll be safe upon your magical journey; (an issue that's overlooked in most occult literature).

The book comprises of over four hundred page's "so reading will take some time," if reading is all you intend to do? For myself, about 11 days was needed to complete the book (just reading, no practical), reading for at least five hours daily. "It's no quick breeze through!" So, if you wish to become a productive Ceremonial Kabbalistic Magician, depending on your current knowledge, then, a few months of practical work is needed "at least!"

Modern Magick has an excellent section on Talismanic magick (the only section pertaining unto the performing of real magick), bringing to light the difference between low Talismanic magick and high talismanic magick.
Influenced by Crowley, Kaballah and the Golden Dawn order, along with references from the key of Solomon among other sources, this book makes interesting reading.
Credit due to Mr Kraig for his enlightening aspect regarding "NO" spirit will be bought to visible "physical" appearance in the "triangle of art." which, Mr Mathers in "The Key Of Solomon" advocates without due diligence to educate the reader otherwise. Thanks Mr Kraig... (Evocation, seer, in the mirror. "Okay, I got it").

Sex magick, "oh boy," totally not my cup of tea. Read a few pages but then proceeded to skip the entire section due to the disturbing knowledge I was "unwillingly" being fed (then I "willingly" bypassed to the next chapter). Personally, I do not see the need in having sex simultaneously while casting a spell, whats the point? If you want to have sex, well, have sex!! And, if you want to do magick, well, do magick!! I don't see the need for doing both simultaneously, especially if the ritual comprises of mixing "sexual fluids" with wine and drinking it!!! NOT FOR ME, SORRY...

Mr Kraig's habit to afresh the reader, be it true or "more so" overstated, regarding individual jewish intellectual contribution and crucial historical events linked to individuals of jewish origins were at times seemingly a little braggadocio for my appetite.

It is also teeming with "deliberate" error's. For example, page 113, look at the picture of the Golden Dawn Pentacle, observe the last symbol (VII Aretz), now look at the following page and compare the Hebrew transliteration!!!
Kraig "and other famed occultists" consistently advise the student that the path of a true magician is one of investigation, and not to blindly follow others. "beware"

Overall, this book is excellent for the novice and well worth the read. You are furnished with knowledge which spreads from making ritual tools to banishing rituals to talismanic magick. This book, if studied profoundly, will give the novice all he requires to start practicing. But beware, you must study, and practice the material well to gain any real benefit.

Money well spent...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb introduction, 6 Dec. 2010
I purchased the first edition many years ago but recently failed to find my copy - so I ordered the latest edition. Wow, what an improvement. The original presentation was good, but the current edition is excellent. The format is much larger, and the images are great. As for the text, it captures much of the teaching of GD, and the later hermetic groups BOTA and SIL. This is a very clear and practical text that will engage the readers for years. A must purchase for anyone interested in the western mystery tradition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Revolution: Real Education!, 13 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Magick: Twelve Lessons in the High Magickal Arts (Kindle Edition)
Finally! This book alone is worth the dozen or so hefty magickal classics written by the 'greats'.
Why?
It's a little like 'self-help' meets magick. It gets you out of the habit of just reading, and into actually DOING.
In a few short weeks, thanks to its lucid explanations and wonderfully clear and genial tone, I have progressed further in real magickal pratice than I have in the last few years of reading. This book encourages the reader (over and over again) to physically put the book down, get up and actually practice what is being taught. And that's when the magick happens.

The book's lesson format reminds me of the two similarly designed works of Paul Foster Case (which are equally worth while, by the way), and are very cumulative indeed. And as long as you progress through it in a sequential manner, with patience and due diligence, you will find that the knowledge presented along the way sinks in edffortlessly. And mind you, it covers the easy stuff, but quickly moves onto some pretty serious work. Also worth noting are the little indications that the author has been a practitioner and advanced teacher for many years, as he presents handfuls of practical, modern-day solutions and tips (and personal anecdotes) for getting the most out of techniques and rituals.

It becomes apparent within the first few pages that this is a carefully constructed book, condensing many years of practical knowledge (and I must emphasise PRACTICAL, in several senses of the word), and is presented to the entire spectrum of spiritual seekers in a way that satisfies readers of all levels. It's a great achievement, and I feel very fortunate to have stumbled across its path. (And yes; it DOES work - there are real, tangible results within a week or two!)

If I could keep just one book on magick, I honestly wouldnt think twice about this one (and I am considering the ilke of Regardie, Crowley, Case and Cicero). It's one-of-a-kind, and I wish there were more like it. It's the book that self-initiates have always been looking for. Don't be fooled by a pretty cover that suggests superficial work - this is a serious, and incredibly worthwhile collection of true knowledge - gained through experience. Once you've worked through it, you'll begin to wonder why it isnt sold at three times its price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great first magick book., 7 Aug. 2012
This book is easy to read with good lessons on the basic magick rituals. One of the best books for beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!!, 4 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent manual for anyone wishing to study the occult. Unlike many authors I have read, Mr Kraig not only explains the workings of a ritual in detail, he also explains why to do them in the first place - this is important. So many students these days copy ritual work for the sake of copying, with little understanding of why they are performing them, and hence stifle their own development.

Everything you need is in this book, and a great bonus is the fact that if you get stuck you can email Mr Kraig and he does get back to you (quite quickly too! Check out his profile on the llewellyn website)

Clear, concise, good format.

Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good primer, 19 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Magick: Twelve Lessons in the High Magickal Arts (Kindle Edition)
This is not the easiest book to read from cover to cover and was not really designed to be read in that way. It is a lesson book, but sometimes i found you had to constantly jump forwards and backwards to reference stuff, fortunealy this was on my kindle which makes it so much easier rather to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book for serious practitioners, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is highly recommended if you are serious in this art. It offers great knowledge and indepth information. The exercises given are related to the golden dawn tradition and together with some other good books as this,you can have enough knowledge to perform ceremonial magick and know what you're doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillant!, 23 Sept. 2013
By 
Ms. L. Roberts "lene507" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is my second copy of this book..The first one fall apart from over use!This is another release of the book..which has an extra chapter.Working my way through the book and enjoying it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing book a must buy, 12 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this book is quite literally amazing i have loved reading it and it has been so useful and helpful in my journey it was a couple days late in postage but extremely glad to have brought it as i said in the title a must buy item :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews