Customer Reviews


215 Reviews
5 star:
 (121)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent underwater photography without the gimmicks.
These discs have received many negative reviews and I have to agree with some of the comments, particularly the truly awful commentary! However, I think that many of the comments about the video quality is unfounded. Underwater is a hostile environment and poses a range problems for video photography. The water is not always crystal clear, the lighting is generally...
Published 7 months ago by KennyM

versus
41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor, and very hard to watch
I bought a 3D TV last year and went all out, spending a small fortune on the best possible setup. I then spent months buying and renting 3D material to test it out.

I have tried and tested just about all the well known 3D titles out there, some of which have been very good.

This box set is SERIOUSLY not worth the money. The video quality is poor, the...
Published on 24 Jan. 2013 by RDBoon


‹ Previous | 1 2 322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars do not buy, 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jean-Michel Cousteau's Film Trilogy (Dolphins & Whales/Sharks/Ocean Wonderland Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
this is the second dvd i have bought of this title, one failed to play after one year the latest does not load at all i am returning it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor 3D quality, 25 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jean-Michel Cousteau's Film Trilogy (Dolphins & Whales/Sharks/Ocean Wonderland Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I purchased this 3D blu ray box-set as a bit of a treat for myself. After looking at the reviews I decided to give this a go (The reviewers must have been clinically blind). I looked at 4 stars that it had and decided I could not go wrong with this (how wrong I was).

So imagine my shock when a few minutes into the first disc the 3D quality was extremely poor. The turtle is out of focus, as if the cameras where to for apart. The jelly fish made me think I was drunk as the blur from them was ridiculous. The narration is very childish.

Overall I am extremely disappointed with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars introduction into 3d bluray, 21 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jean-Michel Cousteau's Film Trilogy (Dolphins & Whales/Sharks/Ocean Wonderland Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This 3d bluray is value for money but dont expect earth shattering effects. You can expect a very informative narrative & interesting film on all 3 discs. If you have just purchased a 3d tv you could choose a worse introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a great experience, 1 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jean-Michel Cousteau's Film Trilogy (Dolphins & Whales/Sharks/Ocean Wonderland Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Had hoped as these were originally IMAx that these would be great unfortunately I was disappointed by the level of 3D and the films themselves could have been put together better to tell a story at times felt like they were educational snippets lashed together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars THE WORST 3D FILM I HAVE EVER SEEN!!, 11 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jean-Michel Cousteau's Film Trilogy (Dolphins & Whales/Sharks/Ocean Wonderland Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
If anyone rates this film as good regarding the 3D aspect must be watching on a tiny TV set?
The 3D effect is way too strong. my TV is a 50 inch full HD active system and I view from about 10 feet(about 3 metres) I don't have problems with any other 3D films.
It is my opinion that the film was made with the 3D cameras (stereo pair) too far apart, maybe for IMAX where the viewing distance is greater - and then the film is cropped for home viewing?
The distance between normal human eyes is about 2 1/2 inches (6 cm) and we accept a certain amount of squint when an object moves closer to our face, I would suggest that the two cameras used to film these movies where about 12 inches or more apart? meaning that if an object - maybe a small fish where to swim too close to the camera-the effect is too strong for the human eye/brain to accept!!
I have formed the opinion that if this where the film you took to the store to test the 3D system before you buy you may very well not bother-due to unacceptable eye strain!!
I have to say that the movie is ok overall - as I can turn the 3D effect off, but that leaves me with the somewhat childish narration,(maybe written for kids) but that is the script writers fault -not the person speaking(I hope?)
I am aware that this review will cause some backlash from the seller or high star rating reviewers but some people are easy to please-sorry.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a disappointing documentary!, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jean-Michel Cousteau's Film Trilogy (Dolphins & Whales/Sharks/Ocean Wonderland Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Filming is very primitive and repetitive.
It seems like narration is made more for a 2-year old, rather than any grown up out there.
Simply awful.
Don't know how to get rid of it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just OK, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jean-Michel Cousteau's Film Trilogy (Dolphins & Whales/Sharks/Ocean Wonderland Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
It's just OK,
The 3D effects are good on the first, regular on the second and very basic on the third.
No news for the contents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great 3D effects, but narration is duller than British sea water..., 29 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jean-Michel Cousteau's Film Trilogy (Dolphins & Whales/Sharks/Ocean Wonderland Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The 3D effects on this DVD box set are amazing, second to none, however, the narration sounds like it is aimed at pre-school and is very boring. Great to watch if you can't sleep - you will drift off... excuse the pun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have done better., 16 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jean-Michel Cousteau's Film Trilogy (Dolphins & Whales/Sharks/Ocean Wonderland Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Three interesting documentaries from the son of Jacques Cousteau. The 3D is not that good and made me want to screw my eyes in places to improve the 3D effect. It was better to watch in 2D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 19 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jean-Michel Cousteau's Film Trilogy (Dolphins & Whales/Sharks/Ocean Wonderland Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
If you already got a taste of BBC nature documentaries with David Attenborough (such as Life, Planet Earth, Frozen Planet, ...), this 3-disc set will be a great disappointment.

Each disc contains a rather short (about 50 min) episode. There is actually very little information on the creatures, the narration is boring (perhaps meant for children or very young audience), the image quality is nothing to write home about either (yes - despite being advertised as IMAX movie - but again, try to watch this blu-ray after you've seen Life and you will understand).

Given the price, it may serve as a cheap test of one's 3D equipment - but if you are interested in nature, do yourself a favor - pick some other documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews