Customer Reviews


166 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give it a fair trial
Well I must disagree with a lot of reviewers here, who think this compilation is boring and lacks photographic highs. I enjoyed watching "Whales & Dolphins" immensly, the 3D photography is superb, especially when examining the manatee. The depth is outstanding when the great beasts swim by the camera, the same is true when viewing the whales. Only thing that I didn't like...
Published on 10 July 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor, and very hard to watch
I bought a 3D TV last year and went all out, spending a small fortune on the best possible setup. I then spent months buying and renting 3D material to test it out.

I have tried and tested just about all the well known 3D titles out there, some of which have been very good.

This box set is SERIOUSLY not worth the money. The video quality is poor, the...
Published 21 months ago by RDBoon


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor, and very hard to watch, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jean-Michel Cousteau's Film Trilogy (Dolphins & Whales/Sharks/Ocean Wonderland Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I bought a 3D TV last year and went all out, spending a small fortune on the best possible setup. I then spent months buying and renting 3D material to test it out.

I have tried and tested just about all the well known 3D titles out there, some of which have been very good.

This box set is SERIOUSLY not worth the money. The video quality is poor, the dialog is dreadfully uninformative and childish, but what's worse than all of that is the terrible 3D.

Many people have commented on here about the dizzying/headache inducing, fuzzy and out of focus scenes and I can do nothing but agree 100% with this.

Ocean Wonderland was THE first 3D movie ever where I've actually been forced to take the glasses off because it was making me feel nauseated and bringing on a headache. Anything that moves quickly toward the screen is impossible to focus on, and when there is a lot happening on the screen it is very uncomfortable to watch. At times in Ocean Wonderland if you didn't look directly central on the screen the image everywhere else was out of focus. The shark disc was just as disappointing, especially any scene involving lots of out of focus jelly-fish.

If you've not experienced 3D before then you might be fooled into thinking this is good. It's not. When you've seen how 3D can be done, and then you watch this, you realise just how badly this has been made.

Material such as David Attenborough's Kingdom of Plants is a perfect example of just how good 3D quality can be when it is done correctly.

The branded IMAX products are also far better than this. These feel like cheap imitations.

Save your money, and look elsewhere for 3D material. Under these waters swims nothing but sharp and bitter disappointments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good, 22 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jean-Michel Cousteau's Film Trilogy (Dolphins & Whales/Sharks/Ocean Wonderland Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I was expecting a good 3D effect, as a friend of mine had shown it on his tv and the effects were excellent, I was thinking maybe this is a counterfeit as the quality is so poor, nothing wrong with my tv a Panasonic plasma 3D tv. Avatar etc, very very good..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jean-Michel Cousteau's Film Trilogy, 4 July 2011
This review is from: Jean-Michel Cousteau's Film Trilogy (Dolphins & Whales/Sharks/Ocean Wonderland Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Compared to the BBC's efforts, especially Attenborough's "Blue Planet" series (not yet on Blu-Ray) the photography was generally disappointing. 3-D moments are usually with harmless schools of fish swimming closer to the camera than the main subject, suggesting several things relating to the abilities, techniques and daring of the film crew. Lighting and choice of waterscape often uninteresting, again suggesting a catch as catch can approach rather than the far superior
standards of BBC film crews. Despite these disappointments the films clearly hint at the potential for underwater 3-D photography, something I feel deserves support and encouragement. Let's hope 3-D nature films rise to the occasion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give it a fair trial, 10 July 2012
This review is from: Jean-Michel Cousteau's Film Trilogy (Dolphins & Whales/Sharks/Ocean Wonderland Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Well I must disagree with a lot of reviewers here, who think this compilation is boring and lacks photographic highs. I enjoyed watching "Whales & Dolphins" immensly, the 3D photography is superb, especially when examining the manatee. The depth is outstanding when the great beasts swim by the camera, the same is true when viewing the whales. Only thing that I didn't like (although I warmed to it slightly by the end of the documentary) was Daryl Hannahs voice over. The photographic work here certainly rivals that of the BBC. pity Daryl's naration is flat and rote.... but there is always the mute buttom!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Jean-Michel Cousteau film trilogy, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jean-Michel Cousteau's Film Trilogy (Dolphins & Whales/Sharks/Ocean Wonderland Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Not 3D. Father would go crazy, technology crap ok if in 2D definitely not worth the trouble purchasing it or watching it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ocean wonderland 3D is of good 3D quality, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jean-Michel Cousteau's Film Trilogy (Dolphins & Whales/Sharks/Ocean Wonderland Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
1.SHARKS 3D .... there is 3D but is no good quality of 3D. My rate for the 3D picture of this is 0 stars

2.Dolphins&Whales ... there is 3D which is no good quality of 3D .My rate for the 3D picture of this is 0 stars

3.Ocean Wonderland 3D .. it is of good 3D quality ...my rate for the 3d picture of this is 4 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A trifle disappointing, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jean-Michel Cousteau's Film Trilogy (Dolphins & Whales/Sharks/Ocean Wonderland Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I think the packaging is more exciting than the contents! It's quite good but I've seen better 3d movies for the same price. However, delivered on time from a reliable supplier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent underwater photography without the gimmicks., 11 Aug 2014
This review is from: Jean-Michel Cousteau's Film Trilogy (Dolphins & Whales/Sharks/Ocean Wonderland Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
These discs have received many negative reviews and I have to agree with some of the comments, particularly the truly awful commentary! However, I think that many of the comments about the video quality is unfounded. Underwater is a hostile environment and poses a range problems for video photography. The water is not always crystal clear, the lighting is generally outwith the control of the photographers, cameras have to handheld and the subjects are wild animals and not subject to direction. Given the nature of the subjects covered the standard of photography on these discs is generally of a very high standard. These videos were originally produced for 3D IMAX screening and benefit from viewing on a big screen. The 3D effect is very subtle and natural and adds a great deal to the viewing experience. It is NOT overblown and gimmicky as you find on many releases. These are wildlife documentaries and do not require gimmicks. They are NOT intended to be 3D demo discs. If you want demo quality, spectacular 3D effects, look elsewhere. At their present price they are something of a bargain, but be aware of exactly what are buying and you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars only one good one in it, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jean-Michel Cousteau's Film Trilogy (Dolphins & Whales/Sharks/Ocean Wonderland Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
as the header sez only one of the disc showed a decent 3d effect, which was the ocean wonderland one,
the dolphin and whales one was just a diagram of each fish followed by a short clip of each with little or no 3d effects
the sharks one's content was a little better but neither one was worth putting the 3d glasses on for
would not recommend it at all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars do not buy, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jean-Michel Cousteau's Film Trilogy (Dolphins & Whales/Sharks/Ocean Wonderland Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
this is the second dvd i have bought of this title, one failed to play after one year the latest does not load at all i am returning it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews