Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant man
A truly brilliant man with an amazing amount of selflessness and courage.
I downloaded the sample for the kindle as I was apprehensive about the high cost of the book, and within the first few pages was overwhelmed by the raw emotions experienced by Michaels parents on gradually learning of their son's fate which sounded so very much like a lot of us have experienced...
Published 14 months ago by Caz

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A BIT DISAPPOINTING
First thing to say is that I have total respect for this man and what he did. He is a true hero and deserves the greatest respect. None of the awards he received could make up for his sacrifice.

The book, was a bit disappointing. The page count allocated to the actual operation and his demise was minimal compared to the number of pages in the book. A lot of...
Published 16 months ago by Derek Ward Mcewan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant man, 26 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SEAL of Honor: Operation Red Wings and the Life of LT. Michael P. Murphy (USN) (Kindle Edition)
A truly brilliant man with an amazing amount of selflessness and courage.
I downloaded the sample for the kindle as I was apprehensive about the high cost of the book, and within the first few pages was overwhelmed by the raw emotions experienced by Michaels parents on gradually learning of their son's fate which sounded so very much like a lot of us have experienced upon learning of a death of someone close.
Although this is an amazing story of an amazing man,
I found that after the first few chapters, the book described largely in detail the training and specifics Michael WOULD of gone through to become a Navy SEAL and nothing about Michael, as another reviewer commented that the book was very much "bulked" out.
After reading the Lone Survivor by Marcus Luttrell it's the obvious next choice to read, but be aware that apart from the beginning and end....the mid part of the book I feel is a process rather than a story.
All the same, I feel I know a bit more about the man Michael .P. Murphy and I am a lot better off for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A BIT DISAPPOINTING, 6 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seal Of Honor (Paperback)
First thing to say is that I have total respect for this man and what he did. He is a true hero and deserves the greatest respect. None of the awards he received could make up for his sacrifice.

The book, was a bit disappointing. The page count allocated to the actual operation and his demise was minimal compared to the number of pages in the book. A lot of bulking out and so many acronyms used I had no idea what they were on about and did not have the energy to keep going backwards and forwards to the glossary for an explanation.

I felt the book let him down but it is getting his story out there and making people realise that these are human beings who give everything so the rest of us can sit and write a book review in the peace of own homes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive tribute to a fallen warrior, 15 Dec. 2013
By 
Peter Sonck - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seal Of Honor (Paperback)
This book gives the events that occurred during operation Red Wings where lieutenant Michael Murphy led his team on a reconnaissance mission.
They encountered a large force of Taliban insurgents and fought fiercely but 3 out of 4 brave warriors left there lives. Only Marcus Luttrell survived.
The book is also a comprehensive work about the training and formation of the SEAL's and it is a tribute to all the fallen warriors during operation Red Wings.
I first read Lone Survivor and wanted to read a different approach to operation Red Wings.
This book have me more for my money then I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars real hero, 18 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seal Of Honor (Paperback)
this is a real hero. its a pity the people in high places, don't appreciate guys like this, who fight to keep them safe, in there well paid jobs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the real heroe, 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seal Of Honor (Paperback)
knowing the operations is part of our past, in order to boost our capabilities, and how to know resolve the problems in the future, but here it's the perfect guide to know the man who accomplished those kind of missions, and learn more about how they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional book about exceptional people., 15 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a book that everyone should read.
I have so much respect for the navy seals and this book is a fitting tribute to the ethos of all seals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 2 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seal Of Honor (Paperback)
Could not put it down! Gave a deeper insight into Michael Murphy after reading lone survior. If you liked Lone survior you will like this!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ties in with the film 'Lone Survivor' as Michael P ..., 1 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seal Of Honor (Paperback)
Ties in with the film 'Lone Survivor' as Michael P. Murphy is one of the men who unfortunately doesn't make it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 11 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SEAL of Honor: Operation Red Wings and the Life of LT. Michael P. Murphy (USN) (Kindle Edition)
Not nearly as good as Marcus Lutteral book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bravery, dedication,, 12 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SEAL of Honor: Operation Red Wings and the Life of LT. Michael P. Murphy (USN) (Kindle Edition)
Bravery,dedication,throughly enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews