Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An amazing edge-of-the-seat thriller!
127 hours is the incredible true story of one man's nightmare ordeal. Although we all know the outcome the film is still a fascinating watch. After falling through a cave & having his arm trapped by a boulder we watch as Aaron first tries to move the boulder & scream for help as well as chiselling through the rock to no avail, but as the hours pass it becomes clear that...
Published on 13 May 2011 by AV1

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Manic hack attack
Several people have claimed there's no need to watch Boyle's latest film because the fact that everyone knows the plot's ending drains the movie of all tension. Hitchcock would probably have said that the suspense actually stems from the certainty that the credits won't roll until the bloody deed has been carried out, and he would have been right. When it does finally...
Published on 28 Dec 2011 by Dariush Alavi


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An amazing edge-of-the-seat thriller!, 13 May 2011
This review is from: 127 Hours [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
127 hours is the incredible true story of one man's nightmare ordeal. Although we all know the outcome the film is still a fascinating watch. After falling through a cave & having his arm trapped by a boulder we watch as Aaron first tries to move the boulder & scream for help as well as chiselling through the rock to no avail, but as the hours pass it becomes clear that he will die here. Fast running out of water, Aaron begins to think of an unthinkable task he must do if he wishes to survive...

The film delves into Aaron's state of mind as he begins to lose it. There are random flashbacks, dreams & fantasies all building up to the uncomfortable finale, there are moments where Aaron realises that he never told his Colleague where he was going that weekend or his mother when she phoned him. He realises that by the time he is reported as a missing person it will be too late. We also see Aaron leave video messages on his camcorder describing his feelings, views & goodbyes so that whomever finds it can return it to his family eventually.

I would say please don't be put off by what you may have heard about the film. Whilst it does get a little gory it is not for the sake of entertainment like the 'Saw series' but to show us what this man had to go through in order to survive. The moment he eventually gets free is a sigh of relief for the viewer too!! And it all ends well for Aaron if you see the text in the end scene.

The film boasts a career performance from James Franco who has come a long way from Spiderman. Danny Boyle should be proud too of this movie.

Definately worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, Just amazing., 24 Jan 2011
This review is from: 127 Hours [DVD] (DVD)
I may not be A film expert but I do study film studies and I have to say this film ticks every box for success. The story in its self is just so insperational and after watching the film I personaly came out thinking over what I would do in Aron's situation and maybe I should be valuing my family and friends a little bit better than I am at the moment.
The film really does take you on an emotional roller coaster thats for sure. At first I didnt really like the character due to his cocky attitude and smugness but once the boulder stops him in his tracks and strips away the persona he puts on you really get to see another side to him and the audience really begins to feel connected to this character and are with him the whole journey.

This film isnt just about A guy cutting his arm of its about the value of life, the way we value our family and friends and what actually matters to us and actually having something to live for. In the wrong hands this film could have been A disaster it could have been unfaithfull to the real story, boring and just overall cheap and poorly made. Luckly Danny Boyle grabbed the story and really made something special and true to the book and the story.

Alot of people were complaining about the arm scene saying it was too much and there was no need for the sounds...WHAT?! You cant honestly go to see a movie about a man who cut his own arm off and expect it to be over in 3 seconds. That scene is what makes the audience feel even more connected as you end up wanting to shout at the screen "C'mon you can do it!" and at then end when he does become free its a celebration what had me in tears.

Danny Boyle and James Franco and everyone else involved in the production and even the man himself Aron Ralston should be VERY proud of this movie, its one of the best ive seen in a long time and I cant wait to own it on DVD and if your thinking of buying it...BUY IT! You will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best movies ever, 11 Jun 2011
This review is from: 127 Hours [DVD] (DVD)
Well Danny Boyle is one of my favourite directors and he doesn't disappoint in this film. How, I wondered before I watched it can you make someone stuck in a ravine for 127 hours entertaining? Danny pulls it off. The story is really gripping and absorbing and typical Danny Boyle gritty and bleak at times. James Franco's acting is excellent. The arm cutting scene is gorey and not for the squeamish and I'll admit I closed my eyes but it's not as bad as you might think as by the time he gets to that point you really want him to do it to save his life and you hate that arm as much as he does. I think you also appreciate that Aron was so close to death and delirious that he probably didn't feel a lot of pain at all. What makes this film so good though is the way we get to see all the emotions the character goes through and how he deals with his situation and you can't help thinking 'what would I do'. I thought the ending was spectacular, I was in floods of tears in the cinema, something that's never happened to me before! One of the best films I've ever seen and without a doubt the best I've seen so far in 2011.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very lucky to be alive., 7 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 127 Hours [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is the true story of Aron Rolston, who in 2003 went on a walking holiday without telling anyone where he was going, and ended up falling down a hole, trapped by a rock and facing certain death. Doesn't sound great, does it? And personally i thought Aron Rolston was an idiot who ignored the guide books and insisted he knew best and ended up in a disaster of his own making. Despite all this, this follow up to Danny Boyle's excellent multi award winning Slumdog Millionare is one of Danny Boyle's best films, up there with Slumdog Millionare, Trainspotting and 28 Days Later. James Franco from the Spiderman movies gives a superb performance as Aron Rolston and despite the accident being his own fault in my opinion, you do feel for the guy and want him to get out of it. The much talked about amputation scene is nowhere near as bad as it's been made out to be in the press and you're only likely to be freaked out if you can't stomach an episode of Casualty or E.R. A very well made, gripping film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Story, Franco Is Fantastic, 19 Feb 2011
By 
D. Reynolds (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 127 Hours [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
James Franco before the release of '127 Hours' was only really well known from his role in the Spiderman movies in which he's played a rather cardboard character. However, in '127 Hours' he carries the film from start to finish in a highly captivating yet harrowing story based on the true events experienced by canyoneering enthusiast Aron Ralston. It's one of them films where you already know the story but due to the nature of it, and just how coincidental it is (that this boulder falls and traps Ralston), it's intriguing.

Throughout the film, I found myself wondering whether I would do the same actions that Ralston does. It's uncomfortable to watch but very thought-provoking. I've seen some people complain it's boring and nothing happens which makes me wonder if these people had any idea of what they were going to see before they did. Boyle faced a tough task of directing a film which is set in one primary location however this obstacle he has tackled with ease! This is not only due to Franco's performance, but also the brilliant editing.

Obviously, you wonder how Boyle was going to go about the amputation scene. You know it's coming and so you just wonder how disturbing it's going to be. Honestly, I found it quite painful to watch and it was quite uncomfortable but at the same time, it was well done. It wasn't dragged out but lasted for long enough. Clever editing and acting from Franco help make this scene what it is really.

I don't think that Aron Ralston is a hero, more a bit of a fool for going out there alone and not telling anyone, but I do also think he's a brave man with an incredible story. You can't help but feel sorry for him that he's been thrown into this situation and it does make you think, "If I were in that situation, would I do the same thing?'. Upon freeing himself, I couldn't help but find it slightly tearjerking though uplifting when he eventually does find rescue in a scene where music from Sigur Ros is so effectively used. In Ralston's book, he says that when he was freed, it is like he was being born again and you can understand why.

It is a different film, but in a good way and I think the acclaim and nominations it has received are justified; so I recommend it. As one reviewer has already said, it's not a film about a guy cutting his own arm off, it's about a fight for survival and realising the valuation of life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 2 Nov 2012
This review is from: 127 Hours [DVD] (DVD)
People focus way too much on what he did wrong. Yes he should have told someone where he was going. Yes he should have had better equipment and been more prepared. Danny Boyle didnt think 'oh lets make a film about an idiot who decided to cut his arm off'. This film is an inspirational, real story about an arrogant man (Aron Ralston) who has taken for granted a lot of things in life and not appreciated those close to him. He gets trapped in a canyon with his arm stuck between a giant boulder and the canyon wall. After days of trying different methods to escape and rationing his little food and water he decides to do the unthinkable and amputate his own arm. The fact he did this, found the inner strength to to escape and carry on living his life to make the most of it, That is the inspirational part. James Franco is absolutely brilliant in the role of Aron, fun, quirky and really brings into the emotions Aron would have been feeling in the canyon. The final season is easily one of the best scenes i have seen in the cinema. I would aslo recommend buying Aron's book 'between a rock and a hard place' which goes into detail of his ordeal in the canyon and his life before hand. Aron is an inspirational man and this is his inspirational story of survival.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Manic hack attack, 28 Dec 2011
By 
Dariush Alavi "DariushAlavi.com" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 127 Hours [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Several people have claimed there's no need to watch Boyle's latest film because the fact that everyone knows the plot's ending drains the movie of all tension. Hitchcock would probably have said that the suspense actually stems from the certainty that the credits won't roll until the bloody deed has been carried out, and he would have been right. When it does finally arrive, the climax is suitably visceral and cringe-making, but it would have been far more effective had it been preceded by a few judicious lulls in the action. In his attempt to place the audience right in the core of adrenaline-junkie Aron Ralston's predicament - his arm was irretrievably lodged beneath a rock during a freak accident in an isolated Utah canyon - Boyle appears too frightened to allow the pace to slow down for an instant. The viewer is constantly attacked by surreal visions, split-screen techniques and quick-fire editing, to the extent that one is never allowed to appreciate the more reflective moments of what must, at times, have been a profoundly still and silent experience. The film's use of sound and music is masterful and James Franco delivers a commendable performance, but a less manic telling of this extraordinary story would have been more memorable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cautionary tale, 30 Mar 2011
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 127 Hours [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
28-year old Aron Ralston was an experienced hiker and climber who set out for a day of fun in Canyonlands that changed his life forever. He fell down a crevice, a boulder pinned his arm, and he was unable to free himself. Over the next five days, Aron recorded his thoughts on his video camera and dreamed about his family and friends, then, with no food or water left, decided to end his ordeal.

This movie is filmed almost like a documentary, a virtual one-man show for James Franco. He's very good and believable as the hot shot outdoorsman who kept his head in a hopeless situation. The whole film leads up to the famous scene where Aron got free the only way he could, by severing his arm. That scene is very graphic and hard to watch, but it is short.

The movie is a testament to one man's courage and resourcefulness. It wasn't the best movie I saw last year, but it was very well made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'COULD YOU' ? ?, 26 July 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 127 Hours [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Based on the true story of 'Aron Ralston's' (James Franco) journey and the expierience's
of his remarkable battle for survival.
'Aron's trip to a remote region leads to a near death expierience when trapped by a large boulder, the night and days pass with little or no hope of rescue.................didn't even tell anyone where he was going.
It's a dramatic tale of choices which very few of us could make, could you ? .........don't think i could of.
great movie, it'll make you cringe for sure, super visual content................a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Film is Awesome, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 127 Hours [DVD] (DVD)
This film is pretty damn amazing. You can watch it alone or with someone it doesn't really make a difference, but think about sharing the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

127 Hours [DVD]
127 Hours [DVD] by Danny Boyle (DVD - 2011)
6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews