Customer Reviews


289 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (74)
3 star:
 (40)
2 star:
 (38)
1 star:
 (49)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought-provoking and disturbing
I watched this expecting to find it a bit pretentious. However, I loved it! It was extremely odd, but compelling - primarily an exploration of one girl's fight for perfection and the madness she drives herself to. I particularly enjoyed the way that as a viewer you are left unsure which parts are reality and which part her imagination. Critics have noted it's not a...
Published 24 months ago by LMK

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars black swan
once again l build myself up only to be disappointed but l am sure l am in the minority here
Published 2 months ago by house elf


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought-provoking and disturbing, 24 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I watched this expecting to find it a bit pretentious. However, I loved it! It was extremely odd, but compelling - primarily an exploration of one girl's fight for perfection and the madness she drives herself to. I particularly enjoyed the way that as a viewer you are left unsure which parts are reality and which part her imagination. Critics have noted it's not a real presentation of ballet - I think that's true, so don't watch if that's what you're after. Also I saw one reviewer mentioned unnecessary sex scenes - although they are fairly graphic, I felt they were an integral part of the destruction of the character. Certainly not an "easy" watch, nor designed to be fun, but very intelligent (lots of metaphor throughout) and Portman was excellent. I recommend if you enjoy something a little dark and different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'SUPERBLY INTENSE', 10 July 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Black Swan [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A tale in which 'Nina' ( Natalie Portman ) is consumed within the ballet 'Swan Lake'
Obsessed by failure, oppressed by her mother, 'Nina' lives out her fantisies within the story itself.
The film is intense, beautiful yet sad, and like the ballet itself tragic.
The performance by 'Natalie Portman' is stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


97 of 112 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 18 July 2011
Firstly lets get a few things straight. This is not a movie for twee middle class mums to watch with their daughters about being a ballet dancer. Many reviewers seem to think that would be the case. Be warned it is not. The 15 certificate may have given it away. 15 years ago it would have been an 18.

It is a very dark and bleak study of a top ballerina. And believe me Natalie Portman is outstanding. I know nothing about ballet but she seems to have put her heart and soul into this role.

Brilliantly directed, fantastically edited, superbly acted this is a visceral movie of the highest order. But as said earlier this will not be for everyone!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The darker side of creativity, 7 July 2011
By 
A. Belcadenza (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film is not residing in the middle of the road. It definitely has an original, darker stroke fitting well with the title. Nathalie Portman pays her dues for her Oscar in a great performance, showing off a wide pallette of emotional expressions. Though we've seen the "if you want fame, you gotta pay with sweat" theme before, this movie goes further into the darker quarters of how the human mind responds to stress overload. The main character is an ambitious young ballerina, working hard with her dancing, dreaming of doing the lead role in a famous ballet production. To achieve her goal, she evidently has to face more stress than her mind can bear. The deeper she sinks into mental exhaustion, the more she is plagued with hallucinations and paranoia and her tense relation to the ballet production director doesn't make things easier. This movie is definitely more than a chick flick for wanna-be-ballerinas and it takes a peak behind the curtain, depicting the thin line between hard work and being absorbed in absurdum with a task. The director included a couple of graphically explicit, lesbian sex scenes. If they add substance to the story is to be debated. I guess the director didn't dare to omit this oldest trick in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Black Swan., 17 July 2011
This review is from: Black Swan [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Seeing a new film from Darren Aronofsky is always cause for excitement, and Black Swan is arguably his best to date, mixing elements of The Red Shoes, Repulsion and Suspiria to awesome effect. Reminiscent in many ways of his debut feature Pi, the film is a master class in genre cinema, with the tension and surreal madness being orchestrated to fever pitch. It's a real assault on the senses, bombarding the viewer with increasingly weird imagery and loud, frantic bursts of opera and classical music. Aronofsky walks a thin line between madness and genius in his movies, and you are never really sure which side he spends more time on. His previous films can justifiably be classified as being disturbingly brilliant, or brilliantly disturbed depending on your point of view, and Black Swan is no different. His movies are not what you might describe as being "feel good", but they all are capable of evoking reactions in the audience. That reaction may not always been what they want to feel, but it is always deliberate, and always well done. Aronofsky's films are not always well received (especially The Fountain, which was critically and commercially panned), but they can be respected for what they attempt.

The film revolves around Natalie Portman's Nina Sayers, a woman who has dedicated herself completely to the ballet and the art of dance, that it has stunted her development in many ways. She is cold and isolated, and has difficulty relating to people, while still retaining a purity and naivety that teeters between innocence and cowardice. She is afraid of everything, but has no idea why. Fueling this repression is Nina's mother Erica, a former dancer who achieved only moderate success, and now lives vicariously through her daughter. When it is announced that the star of the show, Beth MacIntyre (Winona Ryder) has been made to retire, the remaining dancers all compete to win the coveted role of the Swan Queen in the first production of the season, a role that will elevate the dancer to fame. The movie hits its stride about 3/5 through, as Nina begins to change, both physically and mentally. She undergoes a form of mental torture that she subjects herself too, and this is where the genius and madness of Aronofsky shines.

Portman delivers what is arguably the best performance of her career, you pity her and you feel for her, but you are also frustrated and annoyed by her reluctance to embrace her opportunities. The actual dancing also plays a major role in the film, and Aronofsky approaches it in such a way that without wasting much time in lengthy explanations, you understand the logic of the ballet and its insulated world. The film looks fantastic on Blu-ray with an excellent 1080p/AVC MPEG-4 encode (2.40:1) which looks every bit like it did in theaters. Filmed with a combination of digital cameras and Super 16, the stylized picture comes with a thick grain structure and restrained contrast levels.

Whites remain crisp and bright nonetheless, and the textured grittiness weirdly adds to the movie's grimly surreal theme on psychosis. Theres plenty of special features including Black Swan Metamorphosis (HD, 49 min) -- This three-part featurette is essentially a making-of doc that looks at the early stages of production and moves into the final phases with some digital touch-ups. A trailer, along with some interviews with the cast and Fox Movie Channel Presents (SD, 23 min) -- Which is a series of five promo pieces that originally aired on the Fox Movie Channel program called "In Character" grouped together, but appear separate in the bonus area. Darren Aronofsky's Black Swan is a masterful psychological thriller set in the physically and mentally demanding world of ballet. It's a beautifully photographed but a creepy film that harkens to Roman Polanski's early works and features an enthralling performance from Natalie Portman. I highly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Dark Side of Ballet, 19 Mar 2012
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Let’s face it, mum's send their little girls off to ballet lessons and perhaps push them that little bit harder, but ballet at the top is much more than just prancing around in a tutu. Nina's mum gave up her ballet to bring up her daughter, who she wants to live her life through her. Nina is quite sensitive to start off with, but when she wants the part of the Swan Queen in Swan Lake, things start to get harder.

With her teacher not sure that she can play the role of the Black Swan, and fears that another dancer is also after the part Nina finds herself being pushed over the edge. Starting to hallucinate, her life starts to change as she heads towards the final climax, her playing of the Swan Queen. But will Nina be able to survive such a demanding role, when her sanity is already crumbling around her?

This is a really good dark film that draws you in and holds your attention. Also available is a code so that you can also download a digital version to your iPod, etc. If you thought ballet was for sissies, think again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unmissable!, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm always a little wary of films which have received a lot of hype and this one was no exception. So many of my friends enthused about it and urged me to watch it, so I finally gave in and decided to find out for myself if it really deserved all the praise and plaudits. I have to say that this film more than exceeded my expectations and they were very high! Natalie Portman is always watchable anyway but her performance as the ambitious ballet dancer Nina, who is becoming increasingly unhinged, is outstanding. Watching her character unravel, I went through so many different emotions, I was positively wrung out at the end. I think that my heart fractured slightly, watching everything her character goes through. The performances of the main leads are all exceptional, in particular, Barbara Hershey, who gives an emotionally taut performance as Nina's mother. The choreography is amazing and the ballet scenes are mesmerizing. All in all, I would say that this film comes as close to perfection as any film possibly could. It's haunting, chilling, disturbing, offbeat and brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and disturbing, 24 Jan 2012
SOME SPOILERS I recently overheard two teenagers comment that they want to be "Black Swan thin". After watching the film I can see why, Natalie Portman looks stunningly fragile as bulimic Nina. She has no sign of the rotting teeth and bad skin some bulimics have. She does, however, start to have hallucinations. Whether this is due to her eating disorder or the pressure of being cast as the lead in Swan Lake is unclear. This film is packed with symbolism and I think I will need to watch it again before I can begin to fully understand it. Natalie Portman is perfectly cast and her portrayal of Nina's descent into madness is utterly convincing. It seems to begin when she allows the Black Swan part of her new role take her over. She is usually an uptight perfectionist but she lets her guard down and goes out with another ballerina, Lilly who is mischevous, sexy and very devious. Lilly's character was less convincing. I am not sure how many ambitious ballerinas would have their backs heavily tattooed, surely a drawback when wearing traditional costume? Nina is stifled by the weight of her Mother's expectations and resentment. She has absolutely no privacy, her mother even undresses her at bedtime and puts her in a bedroom fit for a seven year old. Her mother has taught Nina to be totally subservient and there is the slightest hint of sexual abuse. Nina is bullied and manipulated by just about everyone and eventually even the viewer becomes confused about what is real and what is her paranoia. Winona Ryder plays aging ballerina, Beth and her role brings a touch of horror to the film. There is a very explicit sex scene and ten years ago this film would probably have been given an 18 Certificate. I suspect the director got around this by limiting the nudity. A terrific film but not one to watch with your ballet-mad ten year old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning set piece into madness, 15 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: Black Swan [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Ok firstly this film will most probably be not to everyone's taste. It can appear slow and maybe a bit weird. While others will disregard it as one of those boring chick flick films about the beauty of Ballet.
But this film is far from a feel good movie about dancing and a girls love and desire to be the main lead.
No this is a dance into madness.
You have to admire Darren though he could have tried to be all artsy with the camera work; which as usual he doesn't.
This film is strong; and the acting is first class. Even Natalie Portman brings in a good performance. (not to say she is a terrible actress) (Leon) this film will no doubt be loved by some and hated by others.
Not your typical Hollywood yarn. No feel good messages no hidden meanings.
it has etches of sadness that flows through the story.
I don't know I compare this to Donnie Dark as in trying to explain this film to someone and why they should watch it. As with Donnie Darko it is quite hard when you go. well its a film about a guy who sees a person dressed as a 6 foot
rabbit. :)
Well I enjoyed this film; maybe I'm mad who knows;
but would recommend this film. With stunning choreography.
and as the story progresses just gets better and better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant film: would definitely recommend, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Speedy delivery, well packaged, brilliant film: would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Swan [Blu-ray]
Black Swan [Blu-ray] by Darren Aronofsky (Blu-ray - 2011)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews