Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars283
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 July 2014
Interesting plot but thinly written. Characterisation dreadful - the British PM was feebly portrayed. Battle scenes less than engaging. A fairly long book that I almost abandoned at the half way point but I struggled on as you do in the hope of better to come but ultimately it was 10 hours of reading time wasted.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2015
Ok but not a believable plot
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2011
This review refers to the original version of Invasion - apparently it's now even better!

This book is an epic in the style of a Tom Clancy (although Alden is less biased and more realistic) and explores a vision of the future where a united Islamic theocracy organises itself for an invasion of Europe. Technically a science fiction work (though with few sci-fi elements), the book is set in the near future and charts the build up, the invasion and the aftermath of the invasion and follows a number of key characters, including an MI5 agent, the British Prime minister and other more day to day individuals as they try to cope with events. I was really pleased to see that the book is certainly not racist in any way, with a multi-ethnic cast and although one suspects that DC Alden is at least sceptical of Islam and a potential Islamification of the Europe, he avoids giving the impression of such a bias within the book and writes it in a very balanced, matter of fact manner. Alden's style avoids unnecessary poetics in favour of providing a satisfyingly rich level of background and contextual detail, he's highly competent at world building, character building and plotting and his style is fast-moving, gripping and easy to read. Highly recommended.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2012
Having recently read a series of excellent 'what if' books, I came across this and decided to give it a go. I read this in one long day. I couldn't put it down for the simple fact that every page turn grew more incredulous than the last, finally topping with the US revealing it had cracked alien technology to produce an unlimited power source hence no need to deal with those Arabs. That's taking the genre of 'what if' just a wee bit far. The author might as well have thrown in Hogwarts as a last redoubt, throwing back the Arab hordes with the swish of a wand. It's that improbable.

The blurb for this book describes it's characters as being 'utterly believable' with bold and sympathetic characters from both sides of the war. This is complete tosh. If you like your characters drawn with the sort of massive crayon last used in infant school, this is your book. Every single Arabian character is a cartoon bogey man, badly drawn and not the least bit sympathetic. Hanging rioters does not a sympathetic character make. These characters are cyphers instantly recognisable and aimed at the more weak minded of reader, bound to inflame those with a lack of education, short of temper and ready to blame societies ills on a minority. That sort will lap this book up. Witness the glowing 'reviews' for this. I'm sure they read a different tome that this.

The politics within the book are simplistic, naive and unbelievable. It's not a 'what if' novel if the events you're describing are not in the slightest bit possible, as other reviews on here have pointed out. There isn't even a prologue explaining how the Russians came to side with the Arabian State so completely or how the Islamist sects came together. An Arabic/Russian army rolling through Europe in what feels like 24 hours after being overrun by handfuls of terrorists? No one noticing that vast armada of shipping heading from what has already been stated is a closed state?

What this book does is attempt to reinforce far right scaremongering with it's explicit last line like a call to arms for such dolt headed types. It's so obvious what this books intent is about it barely hides it. The title review describes it as 'one of the most significant title's of our times'. Don't make me laugh.

I read elsewhere that this was originally a movie script. Little wonder it got nowhere. It's garbage. Hence I write this review, having wasted a day reading this pap. The least I can do is warn the more discerning reader away from it. It has no sublety, nuance, character, originality, depth or is in the slightest bit a 'what if' novel as it asks too much for the reader to swallow.

For the record, I threw mine in the bin. If I seem harsh, then it's only because I feel some good should come of a wasted day by writing this review.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
Chillingly believable plot, well written, glad there was some hope in the end.
Looking forward to the next book already downloaded.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
Excellent read. Fast paced. Could not put it down without finishing. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Would recommend it for reading. Great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2012
I started reading this book and was gripped. Whilst elements of it are difficult to accept (and perhaps at times a little uncomfortable), it had elements of reality about it.
As a novel it was a superb read and at the end left you with questions.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
Great read bits of history with a modern twist ie Roman empire,world war two,and keeps you thinking about more modern times
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2016
Pertinent yarn as the writer admits and quite a page-turner even though the premise (Shia/Sunni unity) is totally flawed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2014
A great book, I couldn't put it down. It makes you think about how things could develop from the world we live in today!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse