Customer Reviews


133 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invasion by DC Alden
Prepared to be very scared, prepare to be excited, prepare to think not "what if".....but "could it"......

Invasion written by DC Alden will grip you from the very beginning, an exciting storyline that takes the reader on a nail biting and extremely frightening scenario of a total breakdown of western life, with the head up to and subsequent brutal and rapid...
Published 9 days ago by Karl Howard

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars good idea mediocre execution
I am a fan of What If books but this one is not one of the best. The idea is good but the research is at best mediocre e.g RAF Mildenhall is aUSAF transport base and the F 18 is not flown by the RAF, these are just a couple of examples of poor research there are many more. The story tries to come across as a fast paced techno thriller but the author does not seem to be...
Published 6 months ago by M. Eyre


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invasion by DC Alden, 19 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: INVASION (Kindle Edition)
Prepared to be very scared, prepare to be excited, prepare to think not "what if".....but "could it"......

Invasion written by DC Alden will grip you from the very beginning, an exciting storyline that takes the reader on a nail biting and extremely frightening scenario of a total breakdown of western life, with the head up to and subsequent brutal and rapid invasion by a dormant but lethal new super power.

This story follows multiple threads that inter twine through out the book, leaving the reader hungry for the next chapter, the next paragraph....the next sentence as you follow at very close quarters the very survival of western society pushed to it's limits.

The detail both militarily and geographical make it feel so very real, this book is as real as it can get, it is an exceptional piece of fiction that in the blink of an eye will suggest to the reader that this indeed could very well become fact.

I will not give any of the plot away.........you must........read this book and enjoy it from cover to cover and begin a journey into absolute terror and desperation as nations one by one succumb to a new way of life.......

I strongly recommend this book......DC Alden is a master at his craft.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An original, thought-provoking thriller, 20 Aug 2007
By 
Tom Dellaney (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Invasion (Paperback)
I have just finished D C Alden's novel and loved it!

You start the ground running and don't stop - the sense of real time just keeps you racing alongside the characters. The military and geographical descriptions are clearly extensively researched and for me these were the backbone of the visual imagery.

The initial chapter sets the tone. As I read I began to realise that even though on some level throughout I was expecting the 'goodies' to win, it wasn't going to happen. But in the book's culmination with this initial scene, finally in full, we see this new society is also flawed like the British one before it. That although the Arabians had quite probably set out with good intentions - to improve a society losing its way - that the cycle is in fact self perpetuating. And so the next generation secretly seek to improve on the tyranny of the new empire - a society which once again is losing its way. The question to ask is will we ever learn from our mistakes.

The aside observations on how characters arrive at a point in time, their traits and families, their personal lives and issues, all show they are rounded and not simply one dimensional people to be killed off, which in turn makes their demise even more shocking. Even if a reader does not agree with certain aspects, there are still fundamental issues to face: inner city gangs and desecration, a fear to intervene or to question, a loss of patriotism and identity. The incorporation of what is happening around us now, set alongside the effects these events could have on society in the future, from congestion charges to out of control immigration, make this a novel to think about long after you have put it down.

I am not sure why some reviewers seem to believe work based on truth and thriller writing are mutually exclusive. Why right a thesis when a point can be made in far more exciting ways. They have clearly missed the entire point of this novel - that hints at truth are often more scary than fiction - especially triffids!
Fantastic! - How long do we have to wait for D C Alden's next novel?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars good idea mediocre execution, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: INVASION (Kindle Edition)
I am a fan of What If books but this one is not one of the best. The idea is good but the research is at best mediocre e.g RAF Mildenhall is aUSAF transport base and the F 18 is not flown by the RAF, these are just a couple of examples of poor research there are many more. The story tries to come across as a fast paced techno thriller but the author does not seem to be able to keep up the pace of the story and let's the various threads wither rather than bringing them to conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now THAT's entertainment..., 6 Feb 2007
By 
Brian Souter (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Invasion (Paperback)
Writing about events in the future is a tough job and not something that I would necessarily attempt, even if I was a writer. Invasion has us believe that the Middle East is now a united force, a super-state with advanced weaponry and cutting edge-technology with not a Burqua in sight. And how is this possible? Well, who knows. But here's what I do know; I don't care. Invasion is an edge-of-the-seat thriller that beats any McNab book that I've read (which is most of them). As a previous reviewer points out (rather unfairly) the plot has holes, but the invasion of Europe is really a back-drop, a stage set for the hunt of the British Prime Minister Harry Beecham and the flight of the other characters as they escape war-torn cities. The scale of the book is impressive: we're transported from London to Paris, from the Syrian Desert to Area 51, from the Atlantic to Scotland - and all the while the story thunders along at a pace rarely seen in such a large novel.

Personally, I don't care if Invasion states the impossible by today's standards: i.e. the unification of the Middle East under a single ruler. Good fiction is about the suspension of what we know and the possibility of what could be. If we don't suspend our belief systems when we read then Science Fiction as a genre would be a dead duck. And if we do focus on reality, who could have predicted the complete and utter collapse of Communism and the Balkans war that followed? Ask any East German living in Berlin in the eighties if they saw what was coming and they would answer with an unequivocal 'Nein'. And two hijacked planes hitting the WTC and their subsequent collapse? Under the noses of the most powerful and technologically sophisticated super-power the world has ever seen? The very idea, even if played out as a Hollywood disaster movie, would seem almost impossibly far-fetched before 2001.

In a world that seems more unstable every day, anything could happen, and that, to me, is what Invasion seems to be about. Maybe Europe WILL be an Islamic state one day. OK, 2020 is probably a little soon and maybe not in the way the book describes, but if demographics and immigration statistics are to be believed then it becomes a startling possibility. How long before the Call to Prayer echoes across English cities. Ten years? Twenty? Would AJ Williams (a previous reviewer, who appears not to have read the book at all) bet that it won't happen? Of course not. The biggest mosque in Europe is to be constructed in East London and will hold 70,000 worshippers. What's more frightening? The fact that the government has allowed such a large-scale project funded by a state that sponsors Islamic terrorism (Saudi Arabia) or the fact that East London needs such a large-capacity place of Muslim worship?

Invasion touches on some of these fears but only briefly, as if to set the tone for what's to come. What follows is action and lots of it. And it never lets up. We can debate forever the likelihood of such events as they occur in the book but surely we're missing the point? Is the storyline believable? Yes. Are the characters engaging? Yes. Did I enjoy this book immensely? Yes. Would I recommend it to others? A resounding YES.

For me, that's what good fiction is all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning vision of the menace we all face, 11 Aug 2011
This review is from: Invasion (Paperback)
Well where to begin? I'm stunned - really I am - because this book is that good. The book proposes, in utterly believable and impeccably researched terms, a fictional Islamic takeover of British society in the near future. Alden makes us believe that this could actually happen by expertly weaving historical facts, fictional but probable scenarios and utterly believable characters, both real and imaginary.

Here's a brief summary of how it all comes about:

In the aftermath of a disastrous Iraq War and increasing turmoil in the Middle East, a charismatic and preternaturally gifted Ayatollah seizes power in Iran. He's a superbly accomplished statesman with the ability to unite and heal the simmering conflicts that have divided Muslim against Muslim for centuries. He's also an incredibly gifted military strategist with the tactical mind of a Napoleon; able to see the world as a giant chess board to be conquered and controlled. Firstly he annexes Iraq, secondly Syria, and before long a new Arabian `Super-state' is spreading alarmingly. He manages to oust the Saudi Royal Family and seizes the oil fields from under a cowed and spiritually defeated America's nose.

But these are only the beginning of his plans...

Over the two decades that it takes for him to build his Arabian Empire he has also astonishingly virtually wiped out terrorism and `modernised' western Islam for the mutual benefit of all. Or so he would wish us to believe. In reality he has spent twenty years scouring the deserts of Afghanistan, Pakistan and other war-torn nations, for broken and embittered victims of western `collateral damage', to go to the UK and become deep-cover `sleeper agents'. He has also inserted in to key government positions apparent `pillars of the community' who patiently await his longed for call: the police, IT industries, Nuclear facilities, secret service - everything has been expertly penetrated.

When the call goes out Britain and the world awakes to mounting chaos, and a war being waged with stolen American technology by utterly ruthless and ingenuous Pakistani and Iraqi Generals - all hand picked and groomed by the mighty Grand Sheik himself, the `new Saladin'.

What's most memorable about this book is the bold and sympathetic characters from all sides of the great War; whether it's General Mousi, the fearsome Iraqi Paratrooper tasked with seizing London and the PM, or the British Brigadier who engages on a cat-and mouse style chase with him through the British countryside, desperately trying to get a most un-Blair like and heroic PM to the safety of the Scottish mountains and the growing resistance movement.

I've taken a decision to champion this book because I believe it's one of the most significant title's of our times and one that's been unfairly overlooked by the mainstream press and reviewers - probably because its content frightens them. I'm utterly astonished that it's not been picked up by a major publisher when it clearly warrants and deserves the support of a giant like Pan or Corgi. Again, call me a cynic, but I can only put this down to cowardice from the publisher's themselves; this is a superb text that could have been written by a Frederick Forsythe or Robert Ludlum. My only criticism is that Alden makes a few minor technical errors on tactics and equipment - but what the hell, we all do - even the so-called experts, so again it's a minor sin in an otherwise mammoth and heroic work.

For my part, I truly believe that the dreadful scenario he portrays could one day come to pass, if we don't all stand together and face-down the growing menace of an intolerant, cult-like, and increasingly angry radical extremism that is based on a doctrine of hate, loathing, voluntary segregation and medieval behaviours. I can one day foresee a `rainbow coalition' of Hindus, Sikhs, Jews, Christians, Atheists, Buddhists and all other races, creeds and beliefs, standing shoulder-to-shoulder to defeat the spread of this virulent and aggressively extremist radicalism throughout the world.

Please read and support this wonderful and superbly written book. I can guarantee that you'll absolutely love it. If any studio had the courage to make a film of this, my God what a story it would be!

Steven McLaughlin,
Author of Squaddie: A Soldier's Story
Mainstream Publishing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just OK, 1 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: INVASION (Kindle Edition)
I have to say this wasn't the most inspiring story I have ever read. I persevered to the end, but some of the plot developments stretched the bounds of the imagination to say the least.

Bearing in mind all that's going on in that part of the world right now, though, it does provide plenty of "what if" food for thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: INVASION (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyable thriller, tightly written with a flowing narrative keeping the reader drawn in....and definitely demanding of any deep reflection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could this be the future?, 25 Mar 2014
By 
DJW13 (Exeter, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: INVASION (Kindle Edition)
You may ask yourself after reading this book - could this be the future? I'm afraid that the answer is yes, it could be. A must-read story for anyone who loves a cracking thriller. I wonder whether there are actually secret command bunkers in England now, but suspect that these days they would not remain secret for long.

I also wonder whether Arabia would be so concerned about the UK - I know that we think we are important but am not sure that the rest of the world does these days.

I would recommend skipping the Prologue as it rather gives away the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars invasion, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: INVASION (Kindle Edition)
This is an amazing book could not put it down,if you love this country you must read it mind blowing!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable read, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: INVASION (Kindle Edition)
Was a bit wary about approaching this book at first as I have picked up a few similar novels on Kindle for cheap and have been greatly disappointed. Not sure with this book. Overall it's a very good read albeit with a bit of a depressing ending! The story of the invasion is superbly told through the eyes of a number of different characters which is no small feat considering the size of the actual invasion. I was expecting someting different at the end to be honest but the fact I didn't get it shows how well the author put this story together. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

INVASION
INVASION by DC ALDEN
£0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews