Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superman
Smallville Season 10 is the culmination of a 10 year journey which set out to follow the life of a young Clark Kent as he accepts his destiny and becomes Superman. So did Smallville go out with a bang or a whimper?
I for one love the final season of Smallville....whenever you are trying to finish off a story it can be difficult especially with a character as iconic...
Published on 26 July 2011 by Shaunie B

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Season ten up, up, but not quite away
For Smallville fans it goes without saying that this final season is a must, just so you can see how it all turns out. But, having said that, this final season is really quite disappointing. I've watched the show since the first season, and stuck with it through the ups and downs. This season repeats many of the mistakes of previous seasons and also doesn't generate any...
Published on 13 May 2012 by Rich


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superman, 26 July 2011
This review is from: Smallville: The Final Season [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Smallville Season 10 is the culmination of a 10 year journey which set out to follow the life of a young Clark Kent as he accepts his destiny and becomes Superman. So did Smallville go out with a bang or a whimper?
I for one love the final season of Smallville....whenever you are trying to finish off a story it can be difficult especially with a character as iconic as Superman and with the weight of 10 years of expectation but amazingly it manages to produce an end that is befitting of a superman.
This season really is all about how Clark Kent finally becomes Superman and almost every episodes deals with this acceptance of destiny. The season kicks of where season 9 ended with Clark Kent falling to his apparent death....this episode kicks off the season on the right note, with nods to the past seasons as well as hints for what the future holds. This season has so many memobrable episodes such as Homecoming, the 200th episode that is one of the best episodes have ever produced, other highlights include: Supergirl, Harvest, Abandoned, Luther, Icarus, Fortune (one of the funniset Smallville episodes ever!), Kent and Booster. You can see just by the number of episodes listed just how good the final season was.
However, what could make of break this season was the two part Finale in which we fianlly see Clark Kent embrace his destiny. I believe that this episode is one of the best finales ever produced, it is important to remember that Smallville is more about Clark Kent then Superman and as such this character takes the focus for the majority of the episode and it benifits for it. These episodes also include the return of Lex Luthor and I think that the scenes between him and Clark are perfect. Also, when Clark finally puts on the suit we get to see more Superman action then I'm sure anyone was expected. And the final scene is a perfect way to finsih the story.
Tom Welling has played Clark Kent for 10 years and every season we have seen him grow as and actor and a director and I think that he has managed to bring new life into this character and took him in a truely unique direction. Although, this show wouldn't be what it is/was if it wasn't for the rest of the supporting cast especially Erica Durance who in my mind is the best Lois Lane that the screenhas seen and thanks to her acting she has become just as much of the Smallville story as Clark Kent himself.
Thank you Smallville for 10 great years and for breathing new life into a an inconic character...you will be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super, Man!, 2 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Smallville: The Final Season [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
One of the best seasons to date, and a true tribute to the superman legacy. Different in a way from the movies with Chris Reeve, mainly because the entire season basically revolves around Clark Kent as the main character, and not superman...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good!, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smallville: The Final Season [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
quick delivery and everything seems fine. haven't heard a complaint from my brother so it must work etc. good price. would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars review, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smallville: The Final Season [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I bought the final season and thoroughly enjoyed it. I now have all ten seasons in boxsets and lent them to friends who also enjoy them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars smallville, 19 July 2013
By 
Rita Vella - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smallville: The Final Season [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
love this. i am a smallville fanatic. never missed an episode on tv. so it is good to have the whole set and watch it whenever i please
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smallville: The Final Season [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Can't wait for the next series (hopefully!). Lived up to expectations and well produced. Good Story line and action details
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superman is born!, 26 Jun 2013
This review is from: Smallville: The Final Season [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Series 10 wrapped smallville up nicely, some great episodes culminating in a 2 part finale which I genuinely enjoyed!
Thats the nice bit out of the way, now to reflect.. so so many questions! did we really need to see 10 dragged out series? What was the point in lana lang? Did pete ross just disapear an keep clarks secret then? Why did they get rid of lex luthor? An spoiler alert... why why why did we not see tom welling in the superman outfit? After playing clark kent for 10 years youd think the writers would show him more respect.
Anyway all that aside I enjoyed smallville an the superman theme at the end of the finale always gets the hairs standing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teenage must, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smallville: The Final Season [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
well what can I say a must for all teenager who are smallville fans personally music is driving me bonkers ,fast delivery good quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Super!, 3 Aug 2012
By 
D. W. Chester (Woking, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You are buying this, probably, because like me, you've been watching Smallville from the start of season 1. It has been a brilliant journey. Over the last 10 years we have watched Clark Kent grow from a kid, (well there was the baby Clark too I guess!) to an adult. Now in Season 10 we see Clark become Superman. The only downer, and it is a major one for me, is that it's over! Smallville is done and gone, and that is sad. I would very much like to have seen Tom Welling as Superman in the forthcoming movie reboot along with the Lois of Erica Durence who, like Clark, we have come to love. I watched Smallville with my daughter the first time around as the shows were released (on DVD initially obviously) and recently we watched the whole Smallville Series 1 to 10 almost back to back. It's just as good the second time around and I know you will love this final season which gives closure on Smallville and a new beginning for Superman.

As far as the Blu-Ray version of this Smallville 10 is concerned I really can't fault it. It is region free. Along with Season 9 it has the ability to resume playback from where you last were. Something which was a frustration before. The picture quality is great as is the sound with DTS HD Master 5.1 (English) available on this disc as opposed to only Dolby Digital 5.1 on previous discs.

If you have been following Smallville, they you are going to buy this anyway lets face it! But rest assured you will not be disappointed by this Blu-Ray version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Season ten up, up, but not quite away, 13 May 2012
This review is from: Smallville: The Final Season [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
For Smallville fans it goes without saying that this final season is a must, just so you can see how it all turns out. But, having said that, this final season is really quite disappointing. I've watched the show since the first season, and stuck with it through the ups and downs. This season repeats many of the mistakes of previous seasons and also doesn't generate any sense that this is the epic last season; there is no sense of momentum or build up towards a climactic ending. Considering this was the final season I was quite shocked by how weak many of the episodes were, as it just felt like little thought had been given to developing a driven, powerful and emotive story arc. Instead we get a season that feels like a collection of standalone episodes. Sure, it ticks the boxes in terms of Clark getting the glasses and a few nods to the Superman movies, but it all feels contrived and poorly integrated into the whole. At a time when the show should be focused on the end goal the season insists on taking the focus from Clark and putting it onto other superheroes, parallel universes and distracting plotlines. How can the reveal of Superman be something unique to the world when we have so many other superheroes running around the place? Seriously, the first 'red and blue' flying save comes not from Superman but from Supergirl...awful! In addition we have the terrible Hawkman and his buddies(too many to mention) and we get yet another flying hero in the form of Booster Gold. Whilst the Booster Gold episode was actually good, I don't think the show should have any other flying superheroes! It just doesn't fit and only detracts from Clark's journey and his uniqueness. And that essentially sums up season ten: It's a watchable season and the episodes are entertaining enough for the most part but many of them don't sit comfortably in a show that is about Clark becoming Superman.

Having 'watchable' episodes is not the same as having a satisfying season. In season ten Smallville continues to make the same mistakes that it has in previous seasons : too many other heroes, too sci-fi with parallel universes as a vehicle to bring back long dead characters, awful filler episodes, too many kryptonians running around, main characters developing superpowers, standalone episodes, memory wipes, poor fight sequences, mind control, undeveloped plotlines, overuse of the same sets, time travel, possession storylines, rushing good storylines, etc.

For me Smallville was at its brilliant best in season two. Wow! I was addicted. A real driven season! But it was clear that at the pace things were moving in season two the producers would have to slow things down if the show were to continue long term. And that is what happened, they put the brakes on and started getting sci-fi. And once that happens you have a show with no rules, where anything can happen and any event can be undone or rewritten. We can jump into the future, change the past, memory wipe, etc. In essence you back the show into a corner, and the end result is a show where nothing of any consequence can now happen, and it therefore feels like little is ever at stake. When Smallville grounds itself a little the show is a total winner.

I don't doubt how difficult it is to keep a show going for ten years, especially when the producers rarely know far enough in advance if they are going to get picked up for another season. This must make it very challenging for the writers when they are geared up for the end game only to then get renewed for another year at the last minute and on a smaller budget. But I still don't think that's an excuse for not getting the basics right in a final season. Don't get me wrong I have loved Smallville, there have been some incredible episodes and seasons, I just feel the whole series could've been epic had there been tighter control over plotlines.

Here is my take on the episodes in season ten:

Lazarus: Awesome. Heading in the right direction. Loved it.
Shield: mixed. Terrible Hawkwman stuff and just messy.
Supergirl: awful. The first red and blue save is from a flying Supergirl. Who wrote this?
Homecoming: great. But it should've been a two parter and much later in the season.
Isis: awful. Smallville at is worst and we've seen it so many times before.
Harvest: v.good episode but filler.
Ambush:brilliant. Smallville gets its heart back.
Abandoned: average. The granny goodness stuff really sux.
Patriot: brilliant. Good ol action episode.
Luthor: Watchable but just has no place in a show like Smallville.Parallel universes and the return of Lionel? Really? There isn't time for this stuff in a final season.
Icarus: awful. Looks cheap, and no impact.
Collaterall: very good episode despite being matrix inspired. But again, pretty much filler.
Beacon:very good episode.
Masquerade:rubbish. Feels so out of place.
Fortune: total filler episode but watchable.
Scion: very good episode but Conner seems to be character they don't know how to handle at all. The lex clone should've been much more of a plotline Instead of being used ad-hoc.
Kent: pretty good episode but there isn't time for parallel universe stuff in a final season it just detracts. Filler.
Booster: very good episode but another flying superhero in Smallville is just a big no-no if you want Superman to have any impact at all for Metropolis and the world.
Dominion: again a watchable episode but it delivers nothing of any value and is totally wrong for the show. All of a sudden it seems we are allowed to see Clark throw a few punches for once but sadly it is mainly whilst beating Oliver up! Why don't we get so see Clark/superman throw punches elsewhere against real foes?
Prophecy: dreadful. The penultimate episode and we see lois with Clark's powers.deary me.
Finale: Good. Some awesome moments mixed with some rubbish (Darkseid stuff, Apokolips, Lex being a clone, Lionel channeling Darkseid, Oliver being evil are all rubbish moments). It could and should have been better. Not quite the send off I'd hoped for but I'm just glad it had some powerful and memorable moments in there. We may only get strange CGI suited Clark In th end, but at least we do get superman.

Extras: couple of good documentaries but not having the series retrospective on here is mean, and an insult to the loyal fans who have stuck with the show. If you want to see it you have to shell out for the series box set.

So, overall I still love Smallville and this season is worth a watch it just could've been so much more.

Season rating from best to weakest:
Season 2
Season6
Season 5
Season 1
Season 4
Season 7
Season 9
Season 3
Season 10
Season 8
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Smallville: The Final Season [DVD] [2011]
Smallville: The Final Season [DVD] [2011] by Tom Welling (DVD - 2011)
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews