Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab
Fantastic video image quality, superb photo's and robust feel make this camcorder worth every penny.

In truth it is both camcorder and camera rolled into one.

The only downsides are the multitude of menus - but this reflects the professional nature of the camcorder. Image quality is excellent, surround sound processing is very good and the facility...
Published on 2 Jun 2012 by L. Stockton

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Panasonic HDC-HS900 camcorder with HD Writer AE 3.0
For a couple of years I have a Panasonic HDC-HS60 which I have been very happy with but it lacked a viewfinder and the lens was scratched as there was no way to add a protecting filter. The HDC-HS900 has both although the viewfinder is digital, not optical. Another problem with the 60 was wind noise. Even with the wind noise canceller it was still a problem on windy days,...
Published 19 months ago by mr t brodrick


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 2 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic HS900 Full HD 1920x1080p (50p) 3D Ready Camcorder - Black (3MOS Sensor, 220GB HDD, SD Card Recording, Leica Dicomar Lens and Manual Control Ring) (Electronics)
Fantastic video image quality, superb photo's and robust feel make this camcorder worth every penny.

In truth it is both camcorder and camera rolled into one.

The only downsides are the multitude of menus - but this reflects the professional nature of the camcorder. Image quality is excellent, surround sound processing is very good and the facility to enter full manual mode is just wonderful.

The more up-to-date video editing software will recognise the camcorder and transferred the data quite quickly and without a hitch.

I have recently had the opportunity to use the camcorder semi professionally by filming a wedding. This meant going into manual mode to allow me to connect an external microphone, This was a piece of cake, the setup of the external mic plus other manual settings was quite painless. To get the best from the camcorder, it's worth tinkering in the manual mode. However, if that's a bit too much don't worry - in all but the very extreme light conditions, the camcorder produced superb images.

Even now, 14.4MP on camera mode is still very good.

To conclude, BEST MONEY I'VE EVER SPENT ON A CAMCORDER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good product!, 11 Feb 2012
By 
This review is from: Panasonic HS900 Full HD 1920x1080p (50p) 3D Ready Camcorder - Black (3MOS Sensor, 220GB HDD, SD Card Recording, Leica Dicomar Lens and Manual Control Ring) (Electronics)
I have not used much yet but so far I have been happy with the quality of this camcorder. I noticed that when recording in the dark it's not great due to the lack of built-in lamp or night shot. The battery power is also not great, even with an optional battery the maximum recording time is about 3 hours. Overall a good camcorder when comparing to the few other camcorders currently on the market that comes with a built-in hard drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 24 Oct 2012
By 
Graeme Triggs "better days" (Hampton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic HS900 Full HD 1920x1080p (50p) 3D Ready Camcorder - Black (3MOS Sensor, 220GB HDD, SD Card Recording, Leica Dicomar Lens and Manual Control Ring) (Electronics)
I've only had this cam'corder 24 hours. I am lost for words that so much high quality technology and engineering could be condensed into such a compact space. I will be busy for months delving into the depths of this most magnificent piece of equipment, it was well worth spending the extra to buy a unit like this. I hope that I can achieve it's full potential, the only weak link so far is me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Camcorder, 15 Mar 2012
This review is from: Panasonic HS900 Full HD 1920x1080p (50p) 3D Ready Camcorder - Black (3MOS Sensor, 220GB HDD, SD Card Recording, Leica Dicomar Lens and Manual Control Ring) (Electronics)
Rather disappointing in that it saves images as individual scenes rather than one continuous movie. This means that I have to stitch each scene together in order to produce a smooth playback. There is also no place to connect a strap to hang around your neck. I use the neck strap for safety in case the camera is knocked, or falls, out of my hand. Picture quality excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Panasonic HDC-HS900 camcorder with HD Writer AE 3.0, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic HS900 Full HD 1920x1080p (50p) 3D Ready Camcorder - Black (3MOS Sensor, 220GB HDD, SD Card Recording, Leica Dicomar Lens and Manual Control Ring) (Electronics)
For a couple of years I have a Panasonic HDC-HS60 which I have been very happy with but it lacked a viewfinder and the lens was scratched as there was no way to add a protecting filter. The HDC-HS900 has both although the viewfinder is digital, not optical. Another problem with the 60 was wind noise. Even with the wind noise canceller it was still a problem on windy days, drowning out commentary. The 900 has a socket for an external microphone (and earphones) and I'm hoping a small boom microphone will reduce the problem. There is a shoe adaptor on the top the 900 for this which the 60 does not have. It will also take 3D video using the CLT1 Conversion lens. Unfortunately, when this is attached twenty six of the functions on the camera are disabled e.g.1080/50p mode is cancelled and recordings are AVCHD (still excellent). The optical zoom on the 900 is only 12X compared with 35X for the 60 but 12X should be sufficient for most situations. Both have a large Hard Drive in addition to a card slot. The Hard Drive gives about 16 hours of recording at the highest quality. There is also the facility to download from the HDD to the card on the camera and vice versa.
The single VBN 130 battery supplied gave just over one hour of recording on a freezing day.There is a VBN 260 available which I assume gives twice as much. The genuine Panasonics are very expensive. An HDMI lead is not provided.
There are other new bits which look interesting such as the Manual Ring and Camera Function button which I haven't tried yet.
I have only had it a few weeks and so far I am really pleased with it. The quality of the recording is outstanding esp 1080/50p.
Unlike the HS60 it does not have a light which can be switched on and off manually when using video (very useful). This has an AF Assist Lamp which is only applicable when taking still photos. This is a backward step. You will need to buy a separate accessory light for using video in poor light.
Having had the camera for several weeks I cannot fault its performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HS-900, 17 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic HS900 Full HD 1920x1080p (50p) 3D Ready Camcorder - Black (3MOS Sensor, 220GB HDD, SD Card Recording, Leica Dicomar Lens and Manual Control Ring) (Electronics)
Awesome camera, picture quality is stunning.
Battery life from the supplied battery is poor though with around 1 hour max.

Shame Panasonic don't give you a HDMI cable with it, they give you all of the cables for SD footage but this is a HD camera?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super camcorder, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic HS900 Full HD 1920x1080p (50p) 3D Ready Camcorder - Black (3MOS Sensor, 220GB HDD, SD Card Recording, Leica Dicomar Lens and Manual Control Ring) (Electronics)
Im happy after this purchase, just only one comment - HDMI cabel is not included. I have to order that separatelly.Very fast delivery, quality of picture is really amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic HS900 Full HD 1920x1080p (50p) 3D Ready Camcorder - Black (3MOS Sensor, 220GB HDD, SD Card Recording, Leica Dicomar Lens and Manual Control Ring) (Electronics)
Very Good 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews