Customer Reviews
21


1,152 Reviews
5 star:
 (895)
4 star:
 (123)
3 star:
 (46)
2 star:
 (40)
1 star:
 (48)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


295 of 314 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply stunning
'Sometimes it lasts in love... and sometimes it hurts instead'.

My expectations for this release were raised when I saw Adele perform 'someone like you' on Jools Holland - and it literally made me cry. It was the first track that I played when I got hold of the album, and I was pleased that she had stayed with the simplicity of the live performance - but...
Published on 24 Jan 2011 by Don Panik

versus
118 of 140 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the worst CD transfer in the history of music
First of all Adele 21,as a piece of Music is a great, Turning tables, Set fire to the rain are just brilliant, and the Cure cover Lovesong also fantastic. So why the three stars. Well first of all Adele 21 is a five star album, however the compression on this CD is unbearable,it has at times is so harsh it has distorted the music.This appears to be because the transfer...
Published on 2 Aug 2011 by Mr. R. G. Prizeman


‹ Previous | 1109 110 111116 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Adele...its like the cd is on loop!, 4 Sep 2011
This review is from: 21 (Audio CD)
URGH! Heard 2 decent songs of Adele on the Radio and my girlfriend fancied the album. Whacked in to the car system and she fell asleep whilst I was weighing up which tree to drive into. The 2 decent tracks are Set Fire to The Rain and Rolling in The Deep really are something to talk about, however Rumour Has It - what utter tosh! On balance the rest of the album is ok. This album is probably best for a dinner party when you can concentrate on the food and the conversation more than the music.

If you do happen to like slightly more vibrant music there are some cracking remixes of set fire to the rain out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding vocal masterpiece, 13 May 2011
By 
G. Wheeler "Media Critic" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 21 (Audio CD)
After the success of her album 19, 21 follows the story of Adele's breakup and the aftermath there after. This album smashes onto the scene with a soulful sound that resonates with maturity. The blend of bouncy, upbeat tracks and melodic, haunting ballads are enough to keep attention spans until the very end and show off Adele's brilliant vocals.

The CD starts off with the chart hit 'Rolling In The Deep' with some gorgeous vocals and a sing-a-long style song that has ignited the charts for weeks on end. The song itself has stayed in the top 40 chart for many weeks on end which just goes to show the strength of this track.

The upbeat style continues through to 'Rumour Has It' which features more hints of her breakup and a more pulsating sound, driven by strong drums and a guitar riff. The track might not be to everyone's tastes but after a few listens, this song quickly grows on you and is one of my favourite tracks on the album.

'Turning Tables' and 'Don't You Remember' shift the tone and pace of the CD on its head with some slow ballads, showing off Adele's brilliant vocal talents. The latter is a heartbreaking, soulful song focused solely on missing her ex and is another standout on the album.

The blend of pop, soul, R'n'B and blues throughout the album shows off the diversity of Adele and 'Set Fire To The Rain', despite being a beautiful song, feels more of an R'n'B track and may well feature a remix in the future. Hopefully not as the track is perfect the way it is, but it just goes to show how diverse Adele is with her songs.

'He Won't Go' and 'Take It All' emphasise the theme of the entire album with two heart-wrenching ballads directed at her ex partner. Adele's vocal range is fantastic here and her effortless emotional voice resonates throughout the two tracks with the background track slotting seamlessly behind the vocals.

The ballads stop momentarily for the bouncy blue's sounding track 'I'll Be Waiting' with yet more decent vocals and an excellent backing track, featuring a piano riff, some brass instruments and a bouncy drum beat before the ballads return with 'One And Only' and 'Lovesong' which float by in no time at all.

The album closes on 'Someone Like You' the first chart hit for Adele from this album and the haunting vocals fit perfectly with the piano riff in the background and the euphoric break for the chorus is exactly what the album needed for the end with a suitable uplifting track. The track is by far the best ballad on the whole CD and gives me goosebumps every time I hear it.

Smashing several different records, including longest consecutive time at the top of the album charts, 21 is testament to Adele's vocal talents and how far she has come in 21 years. There are some excellent tracks here and none of the songs feel like fillers with a story and theme to each one. The variety in tracks also help with influences of R'n'B, Blues, pop and soul all intertwined to deliver a fantastic album well worthy of the praise it has received both critically and by fans. An excellent album worthy of a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars adele 21, 4 May 2011
This review is from: 21 (Audio CD)
Im happy with my purchase even though the first one got lost on post but i get a nother one for free which im really happy about.thank you very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Adele 21, 3 May 2011
This review is from: 21 (Audio CD)
I have listened to this once - to be able to appreiate it in full, it needs more 'listening to'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it's a cd, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 21 (Audio CD)
it played music like expected, it's a cd, this did not come a s a surprise, it fitted my cd player, as i hoped it would
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant cd, 9 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 21 (Audio CD)
I love this cd. I only knew 3 songs but I have played it in the car so many times that I know all the words
of them all backwards!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply to have on vinyl, 28 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 21 [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Having originally bought a music centre with vinyl player for my husband, I have to say I really got into it myself and as I decided to treat myself to some true gem albums, Adele's 21 just had to be the first one I bought. The delivery was super quick, the record is simply amazing and features all 11 tracks, making it the standard cd version (not the deluxe). Really authentic, six songs on the first side, five on the other. Simply the album to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FABULOUS LADY, 10 July 2012
By 
Rodney Stephens "Rosskernow" (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 21 (Audio CD)
It has all been said before and now wonder this is one of the best selling albums of all time. Soaring emotional songs from the heart. fabulous lady
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely present, 23 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 21 (Audio CD)
Recently purchased this for my mum's birthday, and she absolutely loved it!! It came within 2 working days with a free gift message aswell, definitely a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good songs..., 17 Dec 2011
This review is from: 21 (Audio CD)
I thought this cd was great, Adele has an amazing voice! However, I bought this cd as a christmas gift, (bought brand new from amazon) so when it arrived, I was disappointed to find that the case was dirty and covered in scratches. I don't know how this happened, it may have just been the way it was packed, but it certainly doesn't look good enough to give as a present to someone. Very disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1109 110 111116 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

21
21 by Adele
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews