Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Beautiful
The best of her recent folk albums and getting nearer to what she wants to do. 'Will ye Gang Love' and 'Ythanside' are certainly a far cry from the pop period, but are sublime.This album is almost all Scottish and her take on Robert Burns (for my money) is much more honest than the recent forays by other interpreters. I think Burns would be pleased to hear such perfect...
Published on 18 Mar 2011 by Gerard Kelly

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BARBARA DICKSON - Words Unspoken
Having travelled musically from her recognised commercial sound back to traditional roots, Barbara Dickson has now become...more or less...a duo working with her collaborator of many years multi-instrumentalist Troy Donockley. This album nails its `folk' colours firmly to the mast by starting with "The Magical West" (co-written by the protagonists) featuring a technically...
Published on 2 Sep 2011 by Pete Fyfe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Beautiful, 18 Mar 2011
This review is from: Words Unspoken (Audio CD)
The best of her recent folk albums and getting nearer to what she wants to do. 'Will ye Gang Love' and 'Ythanside' are certainly a far cry from the pop period, but are sublime.This album is almost all Scottish and her take on Robert Burns (for my money) is much more honest than the recent forays by other interpreters. I think Burns would be pleased to hear such perfect phrasing and mellow tone. She's now 64 and can still sing the head off most of the award winning folksters - as seen at the recent folk awards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BARBARA DICKSON - Words Unspoken, 2 Sep 2011
This review is from: Words Unspoken (Audio CD)
Having travelled musically from her recognised commercial sound back to traditional roots, Barbara Dickson has now become...more or less...a duo working with her collaborator of many years multi-instrumentalist Troy Donockley. This album nails its `folk' colours firmly to the mast by starting with "The Magical West" (co-written by the protagonists) featuring a technically nuanced display of low whistle provided by the former You Slosh member and serves as the appetizer before the main course. I would like to point out that those expecting `commercial' styled arrangements won't find it on this recording as this is a far subtler project reflected in Dickson's choice of songs. From established ballads including "Jamie Raeburn" and "King Orfeo" to Robert Burns "Ca' The Yowes" it would appear that Ms Dickson relishes the challenge in the re-birth of her musical direction and with arrangements that are sparse but effective she seamlessly appears to have crossed back with no difficulty. As stated before, this is predominantly a traditional recording with the only other concession being Paul Simon's "Bridge Over Troubled Water" that finishes the album simply backed by Donockley's finger picked guitar. Of course, Dickson's retrospective career, having plied her trade in folk clubs now stands her in good stead for a return to the fold and it's pleasing to note that she has already been booked by several `folk' festivals throughout 2011.

PETE FYFE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very high quality and sensitive to the songs., 18 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Words Unspoken (Audio CD)
This was all that I expected and had a personal quality. Would recommend to those who enjoy both perceptive and quality folk and popular music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a bit disappointing., 18 Mar 2011
By 
David Pillinger "tezzertog1962" (Stroud Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Words Unspoken (Audio CD)
Barbara Dickson has a beautiful voice, so she's done this album very well and she seems to sing as well as she ever did. I'm afraid it was just too folky for my taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok barbara, look forward to your pop easy listening stuff!, 19 Feb 2012
This review is from: Words Unspoken (MP3 Download)
I am a massive Barbara fan and have always enjoyed her varied taste and cover of music. I feel she always finds a nice balance in choice of music to please all tastes, pop to easy to folk. This album, however, just doesn't do it for me. It is far to doom and gloom, very heavy Folk, and finishes off the album with just one contemporary track to please. Ok album, definately not one of my favourites, sorry. x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing voice, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Words Unspoken (Audio CD)
I love everything Barbara Dickson has ever sung and this is full of total pleasure. I especially like Personet Hodie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Words Unspoken, Barbara Dixon, 8 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Words Unspoken (Audio CD)
Words Unspoken
Well, this is better than the last of Barbara's CDs I bought! In my opinion it is still over-orchestrated and over-produced and I long for the old, folky Barbara of sacred memory. Still there are some unaccompanied tracks and her voice is as good as ever. On the whole - not bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars still going strong, 27 April 2011
This review is from: Words Unspoken (Audio CD)
watched this show at the theatre on the end of Cromer pier on a cold windy Feb night - she is great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Words Unspoken
Words Unspoken by Barbara Dickson (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews