Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album, mainly filled with ballads
Clare wrote one song, While, and co-wrote another, One more, both of them excellent. The rest of the album contains tastefully-interpreted covers of songs from diverse sources, illustrating Clare's eclectic musical tastes. Some of them sound more or less how you would expect from Clare, but others may come as a surprise.

I was particularly interested to hear...
Published on 25 July 2011 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars snooze music
suprisingly dissapointing,nothing lively about this .found myself falling into a stupor,......please please go back to swing and jazz .
Published on 6 July 2011 by dunce


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album, mainly filled with ballads, 25 July 2011
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hey Ho (Audio CD)
Clare wrote one song, While, and co-wrote another, One more, both of them excellent. The rest of the album contains tastefully-interpreted covers of songs from diverse sources, illustrating Clare's eclectic musical tastes. Some of them sound more or less how you would expect from Clare, but others may come as a surprise.

I was particularly interested to hear what Clare had done with It's not unusual, the old Tom Jones classic. I've also heard Jackie Trent's much slower cover of that song and I felt that arrangement might suit Clare better. In fact, Clare's interpretation comes somewhere in between pace-wise but adapted for jazz, and it works brilliantly. Because I was looking forward to hearing this track and Clare lived up to my expectations and then some, it is my favorite track here, but there is plenty else to enthuse about.

Clare has included some relatively modern songs, among them being Why (Annie Lennox), Chasing cars and Sing it back, as well as another sixties song, Care of cell 44 (Rod Argent). Among this group of songs, I only recognized Why, but Clare chose these songs well. I may even look for the originals one day.

The remaining songs were around even before I was born, but that's OK because I've learned to love a lot of those songs. Clare is a lot younger than me and she clearly enjoys them too. The oldest of them (The Salley gardens) is now more than a century old, but it's a great song. Love is the sweetest thing (a Ray Noble song from the thirties) is as up-tempo as this album gets. I like Clare best on the slower songs, but a bit of variation here and there never does any harm.

Among the other brilliant tracks here is A nightingale sang in Berkeley Square. The recent revival of interest in Vera Lynn's music may have brought this song to a new audience , although it wasn't included on Vera's chart-topping compilation. Clare's recording is more or less what I expected of her, but apart from confirming her impeccable song selection, I'm glad she recorded it just in case there are fans out there who still don't know this song. The nightingales that inspired the song have long since departed Berkeley Square, but the song is timeless.

Clare has recorded several albums now and this one maintains the very high standard that I have come to expect from her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars snooze music, 6 July 2011
This review is from: Hey Ho (Audio CD)
suprisingly dissapointing,nothing lively about this .found myself falling into a stupor,......please please go back to swing and jazz .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mmmmm, 19 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hey Ho (Audio CD)
Clare has a knack of producing beautiful sounding sexy soulful sounds that just fill the air with class and soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Enjoyable., 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hey Ho (Audio CD)
A present for my husband. We really enjoyed it. Ligfhter listening than the others, but great all the same. More pop than jazz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best, 22 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hey Ho (Audio CD)
Have always liked Clare and have seen her live on a few occassions. This is a lovely CD with a great selection of songs sung with feeling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clare Teal Hey Ho, 18 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hey Ho (Audio CD)
Having heard Clare Teal sing on Radio 2's mix up day I thought this CD was a must. Its fantastic and very easy to listen too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars class!!!, 5 Nov 2011
This review is from: Hey Ho (Audio CD)
We were lucky enough to see Clare live this week in Worcester.Yes she can swing, but wow!! Can she sing modern clasics. Pulling every heart string in the process. Clare sounds fantastic live. We bought the album and it is stunning. Just buy it!! You will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 7 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hey Ho (Audio CD)
Clare has the most wonderful voice. It is so effortless and a joy to listen to. Do not hesitate to buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A more varied playlist but with all her usual style!, 20 Jun 2011
This review is from: Hey Ho (Audio CD)
We've always been big fans of Clare and have seen her live several times and love this her latest offering. It's a more random selection of tracks with covers of modern classics than her usual standards selection but she brings so much style to what she does it raised it above the usual.

We love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful music, 11 Jun 2011
By 
Rich "Rich" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hey Ho (Audio CD)
I've been a fan of Clare Teal on her Radio 2 show for some time so when I say this CD had been released I went out and bought it. The selection of songs is eclectic but her voice and the arrangement suit them all. Worth buying if you are a jazz fan or if you just like easy listening music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hey Ho
Hey Ho by Clare Teal (Audio CD - 2011)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews