Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Salisbury Key
I'd almost given up on this genre, M/M romance. The majority are basically pornographic, weak plot, weak characters and poor writing. Not so with this Harper Fox novel.
A great thriller/mystery story with protagonists that just happen to be gay. Thouroughly enjoyed it and will now look up other novels by this author. British and based around my local area,...
Published on 9 Sep 2011 by Simon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Began well, ended poorly.
I chose this three star rating because the story began well as a love story with a mystery attached and this was intriguing. The descriptions and characters were well describe and interesting. The inner world of the main character was well drawn especially when things began to go wrong. The emotion of the main character was intense and I found it gripping. But then. It...
Published 4 months ago by Margaret Foster


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Salisbury Key, 9 Sep 2011
By 
Simon (Bournemouth, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Salisbury Key (Kindle Edition)
I'd almost given up on this genre, M/M romance. The majority are basically pornographic, weak plot, weak characters and poor writing. Not so with this Harper Fox novel.
A great thriller/mystery story with protagonists that just happen to be gay. Thouroughly enjoyed it and will now look up other novels by this author. British and based around my local area, Wiltshire/Dorset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Again...fantastic!, 3 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Salisbury Key (Kindle Edition)
Having just finished Scrap Metal I was on the lookout for another Harper Fox novel... and this one did not disappoint! Harper Fox is a great writer, the characters are subtle and believable, the setting is richly detailed, and the romance/tension keep you interested to the end. Safe to say I will be downloading more of her books. Fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 28 Aug 2012
By 
Jax065 "Jax" (South East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Salisbury Key (Kindle Edition)
I agree with other reviewers that this genre can be disappointing if a reader's looking for plot, believable characters, clear motivations and a credible romance, so thank heavens for Harper Fox. I've only read excellent books from this author and this was no exception. It had a cracking pace, a denouement I didn't see coming and all the complex ends tied up in a very satisfying way.

The two main characters were realistic and the romantic thread was moving and erotic by turns.

I'm currently working my way through Harper Fox's books and thoroughly enjoying all of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great novel, 11 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Salisbury Key (Kindle Edition)
With Daniel being an archeologist I thought I knew how this story was going to develop. I was so wrong. I now know that I could never be an author because I do not have the creativity to develop a plot which keeps you hooked. The ability to build relationships and characters that are likeable and beleievable. Characters who are not major but whose contribution to the story tells you more than you could have possibly of thought.
Thankfully I know a good read and Harper Fox has written one here.
Suspense and intrigue and one man's guilt makes for one hell of a good story.
I will be reading everything by Harper Fox in the future. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story, 8 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Salisbury Key (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this story and have re-read it. At the beginning Daniel seems immature, but that may be because he is with a much older partner. But as things develop he seems to grow up and take control of his life, once he meets Rayne. On the second reading I did find myself skipping the sex scenes which are quite detailed and not for the faint-hearted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 19 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Salisbury Key (Kindle Edition)
The Salisbury Key

This is a great read - combining some of the best adventure writings in the way of Scott Mariatti or Andy McDermott with a tremendous love story. No reason why the gay community cannot have some good love stories - we fall in love too.

Well thought through, fast pace and takes you on a whirlwind trip with one or two shocks along the way.

Thoroughly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 23 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Salisbury Key (Kindle Edition)
Interesting plot, well written, sexy (without the gratuitous anal obsessions of some - esp American - M/M writers). I even re-read it and enjoyed it as much the second time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 24 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Salisbury Key (Kindle Edition)
Harper Fox is simply one of the most talented authors in the M/M genre at this point in time. The Salisbury Key is the latest addition to her growing body of work and for fans of her previous novel, Driftwood, will be everything they have been waiting for. I have no inention of revealing the plot line other than to say this is a great thriller in its own right and the addition of the M/M subtext only adds to its appeal. The characterisation is superb, the locations well researched and beautifully described and the plot well developed and pacey.

Does this beat the amazing Driftwood? Buy it and find out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Salisbury Key (Kindle Edition)
I've only just discovered this author ... this is the second of her books that I've now read and I'm impressed. This has the staple ingredients I want in an m/m romance - sexy heros and HEA endings - but is also intelligent, absorbing and very well written. The raw emotions of the first few chapters were difficult to read but I'm glad I perserved with it. There are very few contemporary m/m romances that end up as keepers in my collection (I tend to favour fantasy & historical) but this is going to be added to the few.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Began well, ended poorly., 9 Dec 2013
By 
Margaret Foster (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Salisbury Key (Kindle Edition)
I chose this three star rating because the story began well as a love story with a mystery attached and this was intriguing. The descriptions and characters were well describe and interesting. The inner world of the main character was well drawn especially when things began to go wrong. The emotion of the main character was intense and I found it gripping. But then. It all unraveled. While it was an exploration of love, loss and grief it worked well. Unfortunately the mystery part became far fetched and by the end it I found it very silly. The important thing that the characters were looking for ended up microwaved. And that solved that. Well if it was so darned dangerous that it could be eliminated in a microwave oven why the fuss? I am not averse to a good chunk of steaming sex either but this book bogged down in it, sex, grief, sex a bit more sex and then some more grief. It was a bit like being force fed. Even in the most improbable places and times sex got in the way of the adventures tension. Now I am thinking about this book it is more like a first draft idea than a full blown story. It is as though the first half was well conceived but the second half was not worked through. I can't say more because I would need to tell the story and that would spoil it for those who want to chance it. Personally I would look for something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x108e7024)

This product

The Salisbury Key
The Salisbury Key by Harper Fox
2.78
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews