Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars12
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: Audio DownloadChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 11 January 2011
This was my first book from this author. It is the second in a series, the first one being Live Free or Die (Troy Rising). I liked this book so much I rushed out to by the 1st in the series and cannot wait for the next.

It is a better book than Live Free or Die. The action overlaps slightly at first, and then swiftly moves on. The author describes the events from several points of view. Including junior space navy personnel and workers at the bottom of the scale, as well as from the invading Alien's POV. This makes for much better character development, and a much more believable universe. The action, although fast paced, is not as hectic as Live Free or Die. To my mind this vastly improves the book.

Although this is a basic space opera, with the simple storyline of "humans great, Aliens Stupid, humans win" it is in a believable universe and has a rational explanation for the Humans being able to stand up to what should be a superior technology.

A good book, well worth reading.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 10 February 2011
This is a sequel to "Live Free or die". It continues on from these events and in some places overlaps with a differing point of view. The style of this differs from the original in that instead of three connected novelettes this consists of two intertwining threads.
The first being Earht's struggle against the alien invaders, the Rangora empire, who are fleshed out more fully and their actions set in context. The second is a Heinlein like coming of age of a junior naval NCO and a private sector defense space welder. The latter in his adjustment to the rigors and societal work environment in space is especially well described.
In summary, a well written continuation of the series.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 5 November 2011
If you like John Ringo's style and enjoy a good, old-fashioned yarn then this is an excellent read. I wouldn't have liked to have read it without having read its precursor ("Live or Die Free") though.

However, good literature it ain't and so however much I enjoyed it I'll only give it 4 as 5 is reserved for the best.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Beware of Glatun bearing gifts ...

This is the second volume in a series which blends elements of First Contact, Space Opera, and military SF.

Originally described as one book in three parts, the three volumes of the "Troy Rising" series published to date are

1) "Live Free Or Die (Troy Rising)"

2) This book, "Citadel" and

3) "The Hot Gate (Troy Rising)."

The books are best read in that order. At the end of the third instalment there are lots of possibilities for further books in the series and I hope Ringo will pursue them.

Mankind's first contact with aliens was friendly and almost an anticlimax. A race of traders, the Glatun, arrive in our solar system and set up a "gate" which can be used by themselves, mankind, or any other star travelling race to travel between this system and other star systems.

Unfortunately, having provided our system with a gate on the off chance that we would have something worthwhile to trade, the Glatun did not at first find that we had anything especially valuable. So at first there was no enormous benefit to our contact with extraterrestials.

And then the gate in our system went from being of little benefit to an enormous disadvantage when a second alien race, the Horvath, sent a warship through it, dropped rocks from space which obliterated three human cities as an initial warning that we should do what we're told, and demanded all the heavy metals humans had available as a "contribution" for their "protection," or they would drop more.

Earth's governments had little choice but to agree, leaving the planet effectively at the mercy of the Horvath.

But in the first book a former Science Fiction publisher called Tyler Vernon had a few ideas on how to get the Horvath off Earth's back, and was willing to stand up to anyone, human or alien, to do it. And some of his ideas were very big ideas indeed ...

At the start of this second book Tyler Vernon, more in spite of earth's governments than because of them, had seen off the Horvath, though not before they had unleashed a whole raft of nasty things on humanity. Among other things Tyler has turned an asteroid into a gigantic battlestation called the Troy.

Most of the action of the first book revolved around Tyler Vernon, but the perspective shifts in this second book, in which the main viewpoint characters are Dana Parker and James "Butch" Allen, two new crew members assigned to the Troy, one as an engineer and pilot, one as a space welder. There is a slight time overlap: the last battle in "Live Free or Die" is also the first battle in "Citadel" except that this time we see it from Dana and Butch's perspectives.

Dana, Butch and the other people on the "Troy" are going to have an interesting time. Because seeing off the Horvath was a much easier task for the Troy and its' crews than the next challenge. A much more powerful race than the Horvath, called the Rangora, has decided to conquer first the Glatun and then, almost as an afterthought, humanity. (The Rangora themselves describe the conquest of our system as a "codecil" to that of the Glatun.)

But the Rangora, for all the power of their military machine, have underestimated how peaceful people can fight when forced to defend themselves. The Glatun may be decadent and pacific traders but they might just be able to give the Rangora more of a fight than the latter had bargained for. And if the Rangora high command have underestimated the Glatun, they may get an even worse shock when they come calling on Earth ...

Which is just as well. Because if this Troy is defeated, there won't be anyone left to write the epic. And there is more than one type of Trojan Horse ...

There are a few strange details: for example, the Prime Minister of Great Britain in this book, published in 2011, is called William Dasher and is described as being "the first Tory Prime Minister of Britain since Margaret Thatcher." Which might have been rather a surprise to John Major and David Cameron: it only makes sense if you see this book as being set in a parallel universe rather than the future. The book is also pro-American and critical of certain other nations such as the French to the point of chauvinism. However, the quality of the story and the excitement makes up for these, in my opinion, comparatively minor flaws.

In my opinion the "Troy Rising" series is the best thing John Ringo has written, even ahead of his Council wars series which begins with "There will be dragons," or the first four books in his "Posleen" universe. Strongly recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 11 May 2011
It Continues on from "Troy Rising" with a bit of an overlap, with two new protagonists A young Naval Rating and a Civilian Construction Worker - As another reviewer has said it does read in part like Classic Robert Heinlein which is always a good thing for a Space Opera.
Faced paced as you would expect from Mr Ringo with rounded characters and excellent action - if you liked his Posleen war series do pick this up.

Have the third installemnt on pre-order and in these cash strapped times, that say's more than Five Stars.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
There's a military saying "Poor Generals think about tactics, good Generals think about logistics" and this book certainly follows that: the lion's share (and the strongest part) is the humans building up their infrastructure so they can fight off the alien invaders, even if most of the demands made are considered "impossible" (until they're done by our heroic engineers). Now if this ended with a heroic "humanity defends Earth against technically advanced aliens until they, at great cost, fend them off," it could have been great. But instead, it continues to the point where humanity starts going on the offensive and the question isn't "Will humanity survive?" but "Will humanity win?" which... is kinda weak, because anyone reading it is pretty clear which way that war is going to go (Hell, we even have the US President referencing the Japanese Campaign in World War II, just in case there's any doubt!). It doesn't help that the aliens are portrayed as ridiculously overconfident (even after an attack that is utterly obliterated!) despite being a "Warrior Race" and we don't get a named human casualty (to alien action) until about 90% of the way through. If you want to make me worry (even fleetingly) about the way the war is going, try making your enemies at least passingly competent!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
Aliens come to an unprepared and relatively primitive earth and take advantage.
One man responds intellegently and eventualy leads to a credible defence of us all.
It helps that mostly the aliens depend on inherited tech/science and Earth has the benefit of science fiction, space science/speculation to make the most of what they can afford to buy from the aliens.

This realy applies to the whole trilogy(so far) only Live free or Die(Book 1) can stand alone.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2012
Citadel really puts flesh on the bones that the first book showed us. We see a larger cast of characters, so not every magnificent act of audaciousness is performed by Tyler Vernon. We see the mistakes that are made, and the determination to succeed that the characters enshrine.
A very good installment in this new sci-fi epic - there's just one question. When do we build a 'Troy' of our very own?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
A really great read with some good, interesting main characters.
I love the Troy Rising series as a whole

Ringo is perhaps a little bit too disparaging towards nations other than America throughout the series, but I can forgive him this for writing an otherwise great series (I hope there will be more).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 4 November 2011
Follows the first book and suffers from too much padding. However, the story line does keep you reading, but with the thought that some parts could well do with cutting.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers who viewed this item also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.