Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good Space Opera
This was my first book from this author. It is the second in a series, the first one being Live Free or Die (Troy Rising). I liked this book so much I rushed out to by the 1st in the series and cannot wait for the next.

It is a better book than Live Free or Die. The action overlaps slightly at first, and then swiftly moves on. The author describes the events...
Published on 11 Jan 2011 by R. Stubbings

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much padding
Follows the first book and suffers from too much padding. However, the story line does keep you reading, but with the thought that some parts could well do with cutting.
Published on 4 Nov 2011 by D. A. Sullivan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good Space Opera, 11 Jan 2011
This review is from: Citadel (Troy Rising) (Hardcover)
This was my first book from this author. It is the second in a series, the first one being Live Free or Die (Troy Rising). I liked this book so much I rushed out to by the 1st in the series and cannot wait for the next.

It is a better book than Live Free or Die. The action overlaps slightly at first, and then swiftly moves on. The author describes the events from several points of view. Including junior space navy personnel and workers at the bottom of the scale, as well as from the invading Alien's POV. This makes for much better character development, and a much more believable universe. The action, although fast paced, is not as hectic as Live Free or Die. To my mind this vastly improves the book.

Although this is a basic space opera, with the simple storyline of "humans great, Aliens Stupid, humans win" it is in a believable universe and has a rational explanation for the Humans being able to stand up to what should be a superior technology.

A good book, well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good Old-fashioned Yarn, 5 Nov 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like John Ringo's style and enjoy a good, old-fashioned yarn then this is an excellent read. I wouldn't have liked to have read it without having read its precursor ("Live or Die Free") though.

However, good literature it ain't and so however much I enjoyed it I'll only give it 4 as 5 is reserved for the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No horsing around, 10 Feb 2011
By 
Patrick Mullane (Cork, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Citadel (Troy Rising) (Hardcover)
This is a sequel to "Live Free or die". It continues on from these events and in some places overlaps with a differing point of view. The style of this differs from the original in that instead of three connected novelettes this consists of two intertwining threads.
The first being Earht's struggle against the alien invaders, the Rangora empire, who are fleshed out more fully and their actions set in context. The second is a Heinlein like coming of age of a junior naval NCO and a private sector defense space welder. The latter in his adjustment to the rigors and societal work environment in space is especially well described.
In summary, a well written continuation of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winter Born, 11 May 2011
By 
P. Brooks "Peter Brooks" (Manchester, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Citadel (Troy Rising) (Hardcover)
It Continues on from "Troy Rising" with a bit of an overlap, with two new protagonists A young Naval Rating and a Civilian Construction Worker - As another reviewer has said it does read in part like Classic Robert Heinlein which is always a good thing for a Space Opera.
Faced paced as you would expect from Mr Ringo with rounded characters and excellent action - if you liked his Posleen war series do pick this up.

Have the third installemnt on pre-order and in these cash strapped times, that say's more than Five Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Second in the excellent "Troy Rising" Space opera series, 7 May 2013
By 
Marshall Lord (Whitehaven, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Beware of Glatun bearing gifts ...

This is the second volume in a series which blends elements of First Contact, Space Opera, and military SF.

Originally described as one book in three parts, the three volumes of the "Troy Rising" series published to date are

1) "Live Free Or Die (Troy Rising)"

2) This book, "Citadel" and

3) "The Hot Gate (Troy Rising)."

The books are best read in that order. At the end of the third instalment there are lots of possibilities for further books in the series and I hope Ringo will pursue them.

Mankind's first contact with aliens was friendly and almost an anticlimax. A race of traders, the Glatun, arrive in our solar system and set up a "gate" which can be used by themselves, mankind, or any other star travelling race to travel between this system and other star systems.

Unfortunately, having provided our system with a gate on the off chance that we would have something worthwhile to trade, the Glatun did not at first find that we had anything especially valuable. So at first there was no enormous benefit to our contact with extraterrestials.

And then the gate in our system went from being of little benefit to an enormous disadvantage when a second alien race, the Horvath, sent a warship through it, dropped rocks from space which obliterated three human cities as an initial warning that we should do what we're told, and demanded all the heavy metals humans had available as a "contribution" for their "protection," or they would drop more.

Earth's governments had little choice but to agree, leaving the planet effectively at the mercy of the Horvath.

But in the first book a former Science Fiction publisher called Tyler Vernon had a few ideas on how to get the Horvath off Earth's back, and was willing to stand up to anyone, human or alien, to do it. And some of his ideas were very big ideas indeed ...

At the start of this second book Tyler Vernon, more in spite of earth's governments than because of them, had seen off the Horvath, though not before they had unleashed a whole raft of nasty things on humanity. Among other things Tyler has turned an asteroid into a gigantic battlestation called the Troy.

Most of the action of the first book revolved around Tyler Vernon, but the perspective shifts in this second book, in which the main viewpoint characters are Dana Parker and James "Butch" Allen, two new crew members assigned to the Troy, one as an engineer and pilot, one as a space welder. There is a slight time overlap: the last battle in "Live Free or Die" is also the first battle in "Citadel" except that this time we see it from Dana and Butch's perspectives.

Dana, Butch and the other people on the "Troy" are going to have an interesting time. Because seeing off the Horvath was a much easier task for the Troy and its' crews than the next challenge. A much more powerful race than the Horvath, called the Rangora, has decided to conquer first the Glatun and then, almost as an afterthought, humanity. (The Rangora themselves describe the conquest of our system as a "codecil" to that of the Glatun.)

But the Rangora, for all the power of their military machine, have underestimated how peaceful people can fight when forced to defend themselves. The Glatun may be decadent and pacific traders but they might just be able to give the Rangora more of a fight than the latter had bargained for. And if the Rangora high command have underestimated the Glatun, they may get an even worse shock when they come calling on Earth ...

Which is just as well. Because if this Troy is defeated, there won't be anyone left to write the epic. And there is more than one type of Trojan Horse ...

There are a few strange details: for example, the Prime Minister of Great Britain in this book, published in 2011, is called William Dasher and is described as being "the first Tory Prime Minister of Britain since Margaret Thatcher." Which might have been rather a surprise to John Major and David Cameron: it only makes sense if you see this book as being set in a parallel universe rather than the future. The book is also pro-American and critical of certain other nations such as the French to the point of chauvinism. However, the quality of the story and the excitement makes up for these, in my opinion, comparatively minor flaws.

In my opinion the "Troy Rising" series is the best thing John Ringo has written, even ahead of his Council wars series which begins with "There will be dragons," or the first four books in his "Posleen" universe. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Part 2 of a great sci-fi series, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really great read with some good, interesting main characters.
I love the Troy Rising series as a whole

Ringo is perhaps a little bit too disparaging towards nations other than America throughout the series, but I can forgive him this for writing an otherwise great series (I hope there will be more).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very traditional space adventure (I mean strongly reminds me of 60s/70s SF) That's a good thing occasionaly., 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Aliens come to an unprepared and relatively primitive earth and take advantage.
One man responds intellegently and eventualy leads to a credible defence of us all.
It helps that mostly the aliens depend on inherited tech/science and Earth has the benefit of science fiction, space science/speculation to make the most of what they can afford to buy from the aliens.

This realy applies to the whole trilogy(so far) only Live free or Die(Book 1) can stand alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like to think Cheops was insufficiently ambitious..., 3 Feb 2012
Citadel really puts flesh on the bones that the first book showed us. We see a larger cast of characters, so not every magnificent act of audaciousness is performed by Tyler Vernon. We see the mistakes that are made, and the determination to succeed that the characters enshrine.
A very good installment in this new sci-fi epic - there's just one question. When do we build a 'Troy' of our very own?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much padding, 4 Nov 2011
By 
D. A. Sullivan (Charlton Mackrell, Somerset, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Follows the first book and suffers from too much padding. However, the story line does keep you reading, but with the thought that some parts could well do with cutting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't put it down!, 6 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved it. Really interesting read. Focused on the Good old US of A as many SF books are but this does not detract from the book. I have ordered the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2233e4c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews