Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sturdy, but be aware...
For the price this is a good lens hood - solid and well made. But be aware that if you are fixing it on to the Canon 18-55mm kit lens it will suffer from the same issues as other hoods - namely, revolving when you manually or auto focus. This is a limitation of the lens rather than the hood though...
Published on 14 July 2011 by Jason King

versus
111 of 111 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Get a hood matched to your lens instead
As others have noted this petal design is not suitable for the 18-55mm kit lens. Canon's own hood for this lens is round, not petal shaped, as in inherantly required for lens with a rotating front element.

I'm not sure if its suitable for the others the seller lists either. A hood needs to be matched to the focal length (or range of lengths for a zoom), not...
Published on 25 Nov 2011 by Dulux


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flower petal hood, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 58mm Flower Petal Camera Lens Hood for Canon EOS EFS 18-55mm EFS 55-250mm EF 70-300mm EF 50mm Lens (Camera)
It performs as anticipated. My only criticism is that at wide angle, the hood impinges on the picture. It is i regular use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 58mm Flower Petal Camera Lens Hood for Canon EOS EFS 18-55mm EFS 55-250mm EF 70-300mm EF 50mm Lens (Camera)
Hood does not fit any of the lenses correctly. Too long and causes shadow on picture. Was cheap so i got what i paid for. Will remember not to order from this source again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Will be returning it., 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 58mm Flower Petal Camera Lens Hood for Canon EOS EFS 18-55mm EFS 55-250mm EF 70-300mm EF 50mm Lens (Camera)
The hood can be seen in the viewfinder and photographs taken. I will be returning it for a refund as it is of no use whatsoever. Very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars d denton, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 58mm Flower Petal Camera Lens Hood for Canon EOS EFS 18-55mm EFS 55-250mm EF 70-300mm EF 50mm Lens (Camera)
the lens hood aririved on time it was well packed and i have used it quite a few times now, i soon realised i should have bought one for each lens to save the hastle of screwing it on to each lens so i will be ordering another one soon thanks once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lens hood, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 58mm Flower Petal Camera Lens Hood for Canon EOS EFS 18-55mm EFS 55-250mm EF 70-300mm EF 50mm Lens (Camera)
Straight forward replacement for lens hood that I lost. For anyone considering problems of glare affecting photos essential piece of kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You get what you pay for, 10 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 58mm Flower Petal Camera Lens Hood for Canon EOS EFS 18-55mm EFS 55-250mm EF 70-300mm EF 50mm Lens (Camera)
At the end of the day, this is a really cheap product, it is made of fairly high quality plastic, and does the job of blocking out the sun. However it does not fit fully in with the filter thread in my camera, but this is good as it is easily adjusted to keep the long part at the top of the picture. Also it cannot be used with a filter as this will mean some of the hood shows in the corners of the picture. Moreover it would be good if there was a filter thread on the front of the hood so my lens cap could be put in front of the lens hood so I wouldn't have to keep taking it off to put my lens cap on.

Canon EOS 60D
18-55mm IS lens
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 58mm lens hood for Canon DSLR, 2 Aug 2011
By 
C. Hart (Herts, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 58mm Flower Petal Camera Lens Hood for Canon EOS EFS 18-55mm EFS 55-250mm EF 70-300mm EF 50mm Lens (Camera)
Bought this for my Grandson for his Canon 500D. Although I have no experience in using it, I know my Grandson is very pleased with the lens hood both in quality of manufacture and what it does for the camera. Well pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not suitable for Canon 18-55mm kit lens, 6 July 2014
This review is from: 58mm Flower Petal Camera Lens Hood for Canon EOS EFS 18-55mm EFS 55-250mm EF 70-300mm EF 50mm Lens (Camera)
This is not really suitable for my 18-55 EFS canon lens which has a rotating front element. As a consequence the hood is never aligned properly and is often in the field of view when using the lens at wide focal lenth. Only way I found to using it is to hold the petals during the auto focussing which is less than ideal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars petal hood, 3 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 58mm Flower Petal Camera Lens Hood for Canon EOS EFS 18-55mm EFS 55-250mm EF 70-300mm EF 50mm Lens (Camera)
Keeps lens flare to a minimum
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Better than nothing, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 58mm Flower Petal Camera Lens Hood for Canon EOS EFS 18-55mm EFS 55-250mm EF 70-300mm EF 50mm Lens (Camera)
I originally did not have a problem with this type of lens hood, but over time found the task of removing the hood each and every time I wanted to change the lens filter soon wore me down.

I have since purchased a bayonet fitting lens hood and find changing over filters much easier. Although you still have to remove the hood to change the filter, it is a lot less fiddly especially on very cold days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews