Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars158
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 January 2016
Good steady album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2015
Modern classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2011
Although some of the songs on this album are good, I was disappointed by how repetitive a large number of the tracks are. It's as if the band came up with a decent few bars, and then feel the need to repeat them endlessly instead of musically progressing.

Would recommend listening to at least half a dozen of the tracks on YouTube before buying, rather than relying on the Amazon samples as I did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2011
Really not sure what all the fuss is about with this album. A few of the tracks are very catchy (if a little simple) but the album as a whole is very average.

In fact, if it wasn't for the last track on the album (which I really like) I'd only give this 2*. Not a total waste of time but I found myself really disappointed after reading what people were saying in early reviews.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 March 2016
The Vaccines, a four piece indie-rock band from West London positively exploded on the mainstream music scene back in 2011 with the release of a truly great debut album. 'What Did You Expect from the Vaccines' is filled from top to bottom with feel-good indie punk-rock anthems that readers of NME magazine will love. Catchy and light-hearted, but never cheesy or annoying, this is a rather charming listening experience laced with wit and excitement.

Each short and snappy track on this album instantly grabs at you, shakes you about a bit, and keeps you coming back for more. My favourite tracks are the chaotic opener 'Wreckin' Bar (Ra Ra Ra)', 'rocktastic' (if there is such a word) 'Blow it Up', the sing-along 'If You Wanna', the anthem-like 'Wetsuit' with it's catchy melodies, and the somewhat humorous 'Post Break-Up Sex'.

The Vaccines are a great band who have gone onto release two excellent album which further showcase their original strengths, but also the growing versatility. This ear-catching first album is a whole lot of fun which will appeal to those who loved artists like The Strokes and The Cribs, especially in their early days. It's unmistakeably British both in the lyrics of the songs, and the overall sound, and a firm favourite of mine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2011
Brilliant, simple as that. On first listen every song seemed pretty crap if i'm honest. A week later and 50 listens later says it all. I cant get enough of this album. My neighbours must think i've lost the plot. Pop, Rock, Indie, pointless labels, just my new favourite album of the year. Cant wait for the follow up already, BUY IT!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2015
Great debut
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
I love the vaccines and know this is a good album but unfortunately only 6 of the songs downloaded and now I have to go through the hassle of contacting amazon. Not the first time it's happened so next time I''ll buy the CD instead!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2015
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2015
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£5.33

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)