Customer Reviews


129 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Indie Rock Album
For the past 5 or 6 years, perhaps longer, I've really struggled to get excited about any British guitar bands. America, Canada and Scandinavia have been churning out really inspired music, whilst the UK scene has produced bands that either seem to be either stuck in 2001, or intent on trying to break the mould without any real idea how, just so long as they get famous...
Published on 17 Mar 2011 by WaitingForTheTide

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars mmmmm!
Couldn't make my mind up about these guys but the when I heard some of the new stuff I thought it was worth buying this.
Published 19 months ago by Geoff Allen


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I like :), 11 May 2011
This review is from: What Did You Expect From The Vaccines? (Audio CD)
I had no idea what to expect from the Vaccines! but when I got the CD I did like them. this is not to everyones taste but overall I think most people will like them :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Average, 28 April 2011
By 
S. Tingle - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What Did You Expect From The Vaccines? (Audio CD)
Really not sure what all the fuss is about with this album. A few of the tracks are very catchy (if a little simple) but the album as a whole is very average.

In fact, if it wasn't for the last track on the album (which I really like) I'd only give this 2*. Not a total waste of time but I found myself really disappointed after reading what people were saying in early reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Killer, nearly., 27 Mar 2011
By 
Mr. Gary Hay "Gaz Hay" (Sunderland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What Did You Expect From The Vaccines? (Audio CD)
Brilliant, simple as that. On first listen every song seemed pretty crap if i'm honest. A week later and 50 listens later says it all. I cant get enough of this album. My neighbours must think i've lost the plot. Pop, Rock, Indie, pointless labels, just my new favourite album of the year. Cant wait for the follow up already, BUY IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Did You Expect From The Vaccines? (Audio CD)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Music, 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Did You Expect From The Vaccines? (Audio CD)
Very Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best thing so far this year, 16 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ramones via the Jesus & Mary Chain - I'm liking this a lot.

Knocks the new and much heralded REM offering into the shade and from what I've heard on torrent will give The Strokes a run for their money.

Good on yer lads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 30 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars MUMMY DADDY, 25 Jun 2011
This review is from: What Did You Expect From The Vaccines? (Audio CD)
Another reviewer of this album applauds the fact they do not try.Very strange.Trust me even though The Strokes are obscenely cool a LOT goes into the work.I got caught on the hop with this record,seduced by froth at the mouth press hype,a Jools Holland performance.The best thing about this record is the sleeve cover.The title which thinks its oh so clever actually epitomises whats wrong with this boil in the bag "indie" band and this instant microwave meal of an album.The album clearly is aiming for "This Is It" style gratification,zipping along with that choppy percussive post poppy punk...you know karate chop riffs...much more like The Hives.The length of the songs highlights the vacouness as does the dumb lyrics,hollow motivation.Bereft of passion these are just rich little posh boys no better or relevant than Hard Fi.This is music for boring bank managers,30 something step dads who think they are with it or a school disco for 13 year olds.Its an aykward fumble behind the bike shed,a fart in the bath.I despise the way indie has become so far away from its true alternative origins.What did i expect?Not much.And seriously the singer DRESSES AWFULLY.SO SO BADLY.Never trust someone who TUCKS THEIR SHIRTS IN THEIR JEANS.Awful.A band that in a year will be forgotten to be replaced with another hyped to the hilt band called The...whatever.Gone are the days of The Smiths,The Fall,Suede..bands with passion,opinion,star quality,ethos.These guys are limp lifeless gimps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Did You Expect From The Vaccines? (Audio CD)
Aaa
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not a lot and thats what I got!, 13 July 2011
This review is from: What Did You Expect From The Vaccines? (Audio CD)
Having seen them live at Hyde Park, and being singularly unimpressed by their playing, posing and the behaviour some of their fans. I was told by a friend, "Oh they are really good, the sound was just crap, here listen to the album." Yes OK the sound at Hyde Park was crap, and so I expected little from the vaccines, and thats what I got. Its unoriginal half baked grunge. I love raw grungy stuff like The Kills, but as the Vaccines showed, its not easy to get right. 3rd in the "Sound of 2011" award? BBC you're having a larf, expect them to sink without trace with maybe the frontman making a career with better musicians in whatever genre he choses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What Did You Expect From The Vaccines?
What Did You Expect From The Vaccines? by The Vaccines (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews