Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short but to the point
I was really looking forward Brock's book. I couple of days before it came out I saw the reviews, on how short or bad the book is. The book is shorter but does get to the point. The main thing about Brock is that he pretty much says what is on his mind in any interview he does. So if you are looking for new material about Brock you are not really going to find it in the...
Published on 20 Jun 2011 by K. G. A. Alavi

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Decent book
This is a decent book and worth a read but overpriced for how little there is on the book. I had expected it would be short and lack any details however. One thing I will say though, Brock the curt henning chapter... 24 lines is not a chapter, it wasn't even an actual full page mate.

Buy this book for a decent read to kill an hour or two. Dont buy this book if...
Published on 25 Jun 2011 by Mr. Idris C. Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short but to the point, 20 Jun 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was really looking forward Brock's book. I couple of days before it came out I saw the reviews, on how short or bad the book is. The book is shorter but does get to the point. The main thing about Brock is that he pretty much says what is on his mind in any interview he does. So if you are looking for new material about Brock you are not really going to find it in the book because he has already said it on an interview or on th internet. For WWE fans this book might be very disappointing because Brock says himself he does not really remember all the stuff that went on in whilst on the road for his WWE career. He skims to the highlights of his title wins, being the youngest world champion, not only in age but in wrestling maturity. Remember he was only in the wrestling business from 3 year. 6 months were spent in development territory. Then 2 and a half years in the media spotlight. A lot things Brock is not allowed to print due to the case with the WWE. Probably because they do not want young wrestlers to know how much they spent on Brock, also his settlement with the WWE proving their non-compete should be illegal. Having said that Brock pulls no punches with what he thinks about the wrestling business and Vince himself. He speaks about his attempted football career and finally his UFC career. The difference Brock saw the WWE and even football as a way of making money rather than a passionate career. He does not seem to feel the same way about the UFC or armature wrestling so the book is heavier on these details. Brock still being a very private person does not talk much about his family life aside from the values installed in him to the support he received from them. One major thing that does evident in this book is Brock may be loud, crude, or even egotistical, but he does not blame anyone for his faults or mistakes. It can be summed up in his last statement when he speaks about the Cain fight. "Cain was the better fighter on that day". Just do not expect him to say the same thing about Frank Mir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Decent book, 25 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a decent book and worth a read but overpriced for how little there is on the book. I had expected it would be short and lack any details however. One thing I will say though, Brock the curt henning chapter... 24 lines is not a chapter, it wasn't even an actual full page mate.

Buy this book for a decent read to kill an hour or two. Dont buy this book if you want an in depth look into Brock's life, he doesn't even remember half of his short wrestling career...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too short, but still enough content to have an impact!, 22 July 2012
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Ten years ago, Brock Lesnar made his debut as a professional wrestler for World Wrestling Entertainment. I was instantly blown away by his intense ferocity, his power and brute strength combined with such speed and agility...such technical proficiency. Labelled `The Next Big Thing' and later `The Pain', Brock was an athlete who was clearly destined for greatness in sports-entertainment.

The things that Lesnar accomplished in his brief tenure as a WWE Superstar are truly remarkable and unmatched in the eyes of many fans and peers. How quickly he achieved main-event status, became the biggest star of wrestling and established himself as a multi-time world champion and one of the greatest workers and most legitimate athletes in the business - in only two-years of the business - before his untimely departure...it's all truly amazing.

As was Brock's shocking (and successful) transition to the world of Mixed Martial Arts in 2008. Rising through the Ultimate Fighting Championships in no time at all (like WWE), Lesnar came, saw and conquered those pitted against him to become the undisputed world heavyweight champion, earning the awe, respect and/or anger of fans all over the world.

After overcoming a life-threatening case of diverticulitis, and suffering a series of devastating losses that made this one-of-a-kind beast retire from MMA, Brock Lesnar is currently back in WWE, wrestling on a part-time basis. Lesnar has sure generated a lot of attention/controversy throughout his career and life...and had a huge impact on both sports-entertainment and mixed martial arts as we know them.

I've been a big Brock Lesnar fan over the last decade, and his autobiography is something I've been meaning to check out for some time. Death Clutch is a title that's most appropriate to describe Lesnar, his career, his life and all the challenges he's faced (particularly his battle with diverticulitis), and like the man himself and his wrestling/MMA careers, this is a read that's short, often-restrained, often-unrestrained and makes you feel that there could've been so much more.

And yet...it has such an impact on you.

Brock has sat down with long-time confidante and real-life friend Paul Heyman (his agent in wrestling and former owner of ECW) to produce Death Clutch, and the result naturally works, given their relationship and Heyman's own credentials (particularly when it comes to his own blog `The Heyman Hustle'). The writing style Heyman uses is engaging, and Brock's voice makes the reading material even more so. It's a winning combination that will have readers and fans hooked.

Alas, as has been said by fellow reviewers, Death Clutch feels lacking and criminally too short. The whole read only took me a few hours, and readers could truly have benefitted more if Brock had gone into more detail over various issues.

Lesnar is evidently a private man, which although commendable, will leave WWE fans feeling rather cheated, especially those who've read the highly in-depth and compelling autobiographies of Mick Foley, Bret Hart and Chris Jericho. His WWE run is covered but not in as much detail as we would've liked. It's the same with things like his childhood, his college days, winning the NCAA Championship etc. All touched upon and discussed, but really, it's only when we arrive at the chapters regarding his transcending to the UFC and his battle with diverticulitis that Death Clutch feels truly gripping. If only the same level of enthusiasm could've been applied from start-to-finish. It makes this book feel something like a lost opportunity.

Nonetheless, this remains a grand insight into the mind of one of the most extraordinary athletes/fighters in history. Brock comes across as many things; arrogant, humble, respectful, disrespectful, sympathetic, vicious, ruthless, competitive, driven, a family-man etc. Lesnar is very open and honest throughout regarding pretty much everything (barring the areas deemed off-limits by himself and his lawyers), and it's a (more-or-less) fair, impartial view of everyone & everything involved in his life/career.

Working with the likes of Hulk Hogan, Big Show, Undertaker, The Rock & Kurt Angle, the truth behind his WWE departure, his relationships with Vince McMahon & Dana White, his hatred for rival Frank Mir, the court-battles with WWE and incidents with New Japan Wrestling, training for MMA, remembering Curt Hennig, his controversial victory shoot at UFC100, his family life involving wife Rena (Sable) and their children, his real-life problems and challenges and losing the UFC World title to Cain Velasquez...Brock tells it all like it is. No sugar-coating, no B.S., just openly and up-front, all the good along with the bad. Lesnar truly comes across as a man of integrity on the whole...and while some of the stuff here is bound to ire both wrestling and MMA fans alike, Brock evidently doesn't care. And for that, I say `fair enough'.

In closing, Death Clutch is a damn good read. Despite it feeling somewhat lacking, this is an autobiography that manages to sum up Brock Lesnar's life and career in a nutshell; very short for one still so young, yet has accomplished so much to take the whole world by storm. For fans of WWE, UFC or both, this is still a quality - and recommended - read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No great masterpiece, but an interesting insight into a mind of a VERY driven man, 25 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Clutch: My Story of Determination, Domination, and Survival (Kindle Edition)
Brock Lesnar is a beast of a man, and that comes across in spades in this book.

From High School wrestling champion through the WWE to UFC (sadly not "and back to the WWE" - it was published before that), this is a man who's at the top of his game - and knows it. He won't let anyone forget it either.

His true-life 'heel' persona shines through all over the book, and whilst some might find his obsession with money against the blinkered notions they have of wrestlers or professional fighters I found it refreshingly honest and realistic.

It's a short book, only taking me a handful of reading sessions to get through, but its simple layout lets you drop in for minutes at a time and get through a lot.

I'd recommend it to anyone who's followed Brock's career, and thank author Paul Heyman for giving us an interesting insight to Mr Lesnar in his own words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very short & lacking depth, 18 Jun 2011
By 
Sean H (Dublin) (Dublin, Ireland.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Death Clutch: My Story of Determination, Domination, and Survival (Kindle Edition)
Got the Kindle version, and as per previous reviewer, I breezed through it in a couple of hours - his whole career is there (i.e. he doesn't skip any sections of it) - but it's skimmed over and really offers no insight into anything of note. Very short. Meh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good book could've told more about wwe, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Clutch: My Story of Determination, Domination, and Survival (Kindle Edition)
Brock lesnar book was a good read I feel his story is quite incredible coming from being a poor farming family with nothing to becoming a successful wrestling champion and UFC champion. He tells good stories but I feel that he could've told more about his tenure in WWE.

He does say he didn't quite remember his time in wwe as he hooked on Vodka and vicodins on the road. I also felt for the price this book was for sale the book was very short as there were only 210 pages.

overall it was a good book and a good success story to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but not amazing either, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Clutch: My Story of Determination, Domination, and Survival (Kindle Edition)
Ive recently worked my way through most wrestling autobiographies and whilst this was a good read it wasnt as entertaining as some others. Interesting story, maybe not such an interesting man though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My brother loved it., 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my brother, who is a Brock Lesnar fan. I haven't read it but my brother (who i wouldn't call an avid reader) loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brock Lesnar - Death Clutch, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love everything about this guy and find him extremely fascinating! This book does him justice and is a great read. It is very simple wording but with great effect that leaves you wanting to carry on to the next chapter and the next... Like others have mentioned it isn't a massively long book but I found it was enough and left me hoping that another book will be published in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Clutch: My Story of Determination, Domination, and Survival (Kindle Edition)
This is a very good book and Brock has been really honest with everything but I think it would be better if it was longer even though he says at the end.....maybe in DeathClutch 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews