Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basic 2.1mm ID 5.5mm OD 3metre long extension cable
I bought a bunch of these to help connect the power to some White LED strip lighting. At 2.1mm Inside Diameter (ID) and 5.5mm Outside Diameter (OD) the connectors are a standard size for most 12V DC systems, including many CCTV cameras and lots of Power Supply Bricks (PSBs). Some PSBs use the slightly larger 2.5mm(ID)/5.5mm female which usually (but not always) makes...
Published 19 months ago by R. F. Stevens

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars incompatible
I got this to extend the range of the very short power cable of the D-Link DCS-932L Securicam Wireless N Home IP Network Camera with Infra Red. However when installing this extension lead, the camera no longer functions correctly, until I remove it.

I would not recomend this product for use with the D-Link DCS-932L Securicam Wireless N Home IP Network Camera...
Published 10 months ago by R Davis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basic 2.1mm ID 5.5mm OD 3metre long extension cable, 13 Sept. 2013
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: kenable 5.5 x 2.1mm DC Power Plug to Socket CCTV Extension Lead Cable 3m (Camera)
I bought a bunch of these to help connect the power to some White LED strip lighting. At 2.1mm Inside Diameter (ID) and 5.5mm Outside Diameter (OD) the connectors are a standard size for most 12V DC systems, including many CCTV cameras and lots of Power Supply Bricks (PSBs). Some PSBs use the slightly larger 2.5mm(ID)/5.5mm female which usually (but not always) makes good connection to the 2.1mm(Pin)/5.5mm male.

I measured the loop resistance of each of the five leads and they were all the same at 0.6 Ohm there and back. So if the lead is passing 1 Amp it will drop 0.6 Volts. This resistance is reasonable for powering a CCTV camera which typically uses 0.08 Amp in daylight and maybe 0.3 Amp when lighting the Infra Red LEDs for the night vision. Furthermore, most of the cameras have a local regulator and are designed to tolerate a small drop in the supply voltage when using long leads, so yes, we can use these leads with a CCTV camera - if the plugs fit.

However for my LED strip lights, which take a lot more current than a camera and are sensitive to voltage variations, I had to make sure these power leads were cut as short as possible before soldering the cut end to the strip, and the LED strips were also cut into short lengths so as not to take too much current, and all were star connected back to the two dimmers and the power supply.

Other 5m and 10m leads of this 2.1mm/5.5mm style I have used in the past, but of a different make (4.8mm cable diameter, but alas no longer available), were significantly better at about a fifth of the resistance, which means these thinner (only 2.8mm cable diameter) ones supplied by Kenable lose a star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just the trick to extend the power supply to Logitech iPod dock, 1 May 2013
By 
El Geraldo (South of Watford Gap) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: kenable 5.5 x 2.1mm DC Power Plug to Socket CCTV Extension Lead Cable 3m (Camera)
Bought my son an Logitech Rechargeable Speaker S715i for iPod and iPhone for Christmas that has a 2.1mm DC jack for the power supply input. He lives on the top bunk and has a shelf by his bed for the dock. Supplied power adapter wouldn't reach. Could have butchered the wiring and spliced a longer piece in, but why bother voiding your warranty when you can just buy a handy extension cable for peanuts?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars incompatible, 14 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: kenable 5.5 x 2.1mm DC Power Plug to Socket CCTV Extension Lead Cable 3m (Camera)
I got this to extend the range of the very short power cable of the D-Link DCS-932L Securicam Wireless N Home IP Network Camera with Infra Red. However when installing this extension lead, the camera no longer functions correctly, until I remove it.

I would not recomend this product for use with the D-Link DCS-932L Securicam Wireless N Home IP Network Camera with Infra Red.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality product.. Quick dispatch, 7 Sept. 2013
By 
Ayoub Aliwi - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: kenable 5.5 x 2.1mm DC Power Plug to Socket CCTV Extension Lead Cable 3m (Camera)
Good quality.. arrived quickly. I recommend it.
Just to sort out confusion in the title, the item should be advertised as: 5.5mm male part diameter, and 2.1mm is the diameter of the pin in the female part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent quality problem solver. I used this to extend ..., 19 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: kenable 5.5 x 2.1mm DC Power Plug to Socket CCTV Extension Lead Cable 3m (Camera)
Decent quality problem solver. I used this to extend an adapter lead for an external alarm box. It works perfectly and avoided the purchase of an alternative adapter with a linger cable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars This isnt correct for the ip dbpower camera it was linked with !, 1 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: kenable 5.5 x 2.1mm DC Power Plug to Socket CCTV Extension Lead Cable 3m (Camera)
this was linked with the dbpower ip cam as an extension lead in the buy this plus this for XX price ..........BUT it doesnt FIT its the wrong size ! the connectors are far to big
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't fit my Tenvis camera!, 22 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: kenable 5.5 x 2.1mm DC Power Plug to Socket CCTV Extension Lead Cable 3m (Camera)
Not sure if I received the wrong product but this does not fit my Tenvis cctv camera.
Ordering from a different supplier on Amazon and hoping the second one will fit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 24 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: kenable 5.5 x 2.1mm DC Power Plug to Socket CCTV Extension Lead Cable 3m (Camera)
Product good price good but had to drill the male end a little as slightly undersize for my security camera's female socket
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Quality Product, 30 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: kenable 5.5 x 2.1mm DC Power Plug to Socket CCTV Extension Lead Cable 3m (Camera)
Does what it says on the tin ! Came in the post very quickly - just purchased another one - longer this time !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 2.1 DC Power Plug to Socket CCTV Extension lead cable 3m, 17 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: kenable 5.5 x 2.1mm DC Power Plug to Socket CCTV Extension Lead Cable 3m (Camera)
Great lead for my Bird Box much more suitable than the long lead that came with the kit. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews