Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amos Lee - A man on a mission
Perhaps having this album burned for me today is not the best way to advise on its value for money but having listened to it a number of times it comes as a very decent set of songs with a guest list to die for. Amos Lee has somewhat unfortunately since the release of his debut become tagged as the male "Norah Jones". Let me explain this further since since Ms Jones is in...
Published on 24 Jan. 2011 by Red on Black

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars can't match his first
I like his work in general but it doesn't reach the heights of his 1st album.
Still pleasant to listen to.
Published 22 months ago by Elena Maria Accinelli


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amos Lee - A man on a mission, 24 Jan. 2011
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mission Bell (Audio CD)
Perhaps having this album burned for me today is not the best way to advise on its value for money but having listened to it a number of times it comes as a very decent set of songs with a guest list to die for. Amos Lee has somewhat unfortunately since the release of his debut become tagged as the male "Norah Jones". Let me explain this further since since Ms Jones is in every respect an admirable artist who has taken a good few chances since her eponymous debut "Come away with me" propelled her to world domination. The problem is that despite her best efforts she has become synonymous with a sort of tasteful jazz/blues standard that can feel a little middle of the road. Amos Lee has suffered a similar fate and his albums particularly on the American Amazon site started with hundreds of reviews when he was heavily linked to Jones on the Blue Note label but have faded as he has cut out on his own. A shame really since he has a classic blue eyed soul voice and in his previous songs like "Arms of woman" and "Baby I want you" his debt to artist like Otis Redding and Bill Withers was both respectful and very well done.

His new and fourth album "Mission bell" takes a few more chances and while not a work of massive originality it is packed with songs that impress. The added value however comes in the form of excellent production from Calexico mastro Joey Burns who builds an expansive sound. In addition any album which includes in its guest list "Iron and Wine's" Sam Beam, the wonderful John Convertino of Calexico, country chanteuse Lucinda Williams and that craggy old rogue Wille Nelson is fine by this reviewer. Beam's influence on the stunning and almost sonic song "Violin" is a joy. Other highlights include "Stay with me" a slow acoustic soul ballad which could grow to be a classic torch song, the lovely slow opener "El Camino" which is brilliantly reprised later with the old outlaw Willie Nelson and an excellent duet with Williams "Clear blue eyes". Both artists also manage to give the album a rougher edge which it needs.

Overall "Mission Bell" tends to place Lee in a trajectory which starts with Otis Redding and is currently inhabited by artists like Ray LaMontagne. Frankly I dont think this album is quite as good as the latter's recent "God willin the creek dont rise" not least since it drew more explicitly on some of the darker undercurrents of Neil Young. Yet as stated this reviewer is not looking a gift horse in the mouth and "Mission Bell" is an album with real charm and depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't Stop Listening To This, 4 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Mission Bell (Audio CD)
I have heard Amos Lee's music before and found him a bit poppy and safe for my liking even though he is clearly one talented guy, but this album really hits the ball out of the park.
"Violin" is a stunner, "Windows Are Rolled Down" is high energy beauty and the appearance of Willie Nelson on the conclusion of the album right before the dark "Behind Me Now" seals the deal.
The production is atmospheric and edgy at the right moments and glorious and clear for the positive ones.
If he made this kind of album a few years ago I would already been a fan.
Brilliant stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't stop playing this record!, 4 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission Bell (Audio CD)
Just got this one from Amazon.uk, and I haven't been able to stop playing it yet! So many good songs, lyrics alike, and what not? My favourite is VIOLIN, as good as it gets, but also STAY WITH ME and JESUS are excellent, moving songs. Amos has a great voice and surrounds himself with very good musicians and singers. I own most of not all of his albums, but this one just might be his very best viewed as a whole. Buy it or regret it if you don't!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic ..., 19 Feb. 2011
By 
This review is from: Mission Bell (MP3 Download)
Amos Lee has done it again, produced an album that is the quality of his first one featuring "Arms of a woman". I wasn't too keen on his follow up, but this new one, Mission Bell, is absolutely fantastic.

The haunting title track "El Camino" is just definitive Amos Lee, including a wonderful collaboration with Willie Nelson at the end. The "Learned a Lot" track is another stand-out track, but you will find yourself humming and playing this album over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 24 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Mission Bell (Audio CD)
I hadn't heard of Amos Lee before, this was recommended by Amazon based on prior purchases. I listened to the 30second samples, read the reviews and bought it, at such a low price little to lose.
It is brilliant and features frequently on the i-pod.
I'm certainly looking at further Amos Lee CD's, his voice is brilliant and the mood is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it!, 21 Jan. 2013
By 
P. Axford (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mission Bell (Audio CD)
I love this CD! I discovered Amos Lee quite by chance and thought I would give it a go. I think 'violin' is my favourite, but to be quite honest all the songs are great. I can't rate this highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best cd i have bought this year, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission Bell (Audio CD)
not a bad track on this cd , if you are looking for something different and new buy this cd , i then bought everything amos lee has done up to now , i dont normally leave feedback ,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what beautiful words, 2 Jun. 2013
By 
Dr. Tim Hutchings "Tim" (Oxford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission Bell (Audio CD)
i just love this guy, i heard one of his songs in house series 3 i think and looked it up. Purchased three albums and love them all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars xmas cd present, 9 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission Bell (Audio CD)
great cd great service great price really pleased with the service supplied and will definetley be ordering again soon.thanks a lot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 31 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission Bell (Audio CD)
Heard one of his songs in a film, tracked it down and bought the album. Very talented musician of southern soul. Love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mission Bell
Mission Bell by Amos Lee
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews