Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Indy in modern day Middle East!
A fantastic concept here, executed incredibly well by Tony Eldridge who, I believe, is a first time novelist.
The likening to a modern day Indiana Jones is not an exaggeration, this is a real roller coaster, thrill a minute page turner.
Criticisms? One minor one. Mr. Eldridge has a tendency to use too many words on occasion - I stumbled over the odd sentence,...
Published on 22 Jun 2011 by Philip Corbett

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Samson effect novel
I could not make my mind up as to what this book was supposed top be, Sci-fi or present day period. In any event it was enjoyable.
Published 6 months ago by Bruce Warden


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Indy in modern day Middle East!, 22 Jun 2011
By 
Philip Corbett (Market Harborough, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Samson Effect: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
A fantastic concept here, executed incredibly well by Tony Eldridge who, I believe, is a first time novelist.
The likening to a modern day Indiana Jones is not an exaggeration, this is a real roller coaster, thrill a minute page turner.
Criticisms? One minor one. Mr. Eldridge has a tendency to use too many words on occasion - I stumbled over the odd sentence, but it in no way detracts from the detailed plot and the terrific action. If a movie is indeed in the pipeline, I'll be there. Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ancient Mystery & Intrigue awaits you in The Samson Effect, 13 May 2010
This review is from: The Samson Effect (Paperback)
I am a big fan of ancient mysteries, action adventure stories & thrillers, so I was immediately intrigued when I came across The Samson Effect & the blurb from Clive Cussler sealed the deal. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, it's an engaging read with a good sense of place, relentlessly fast pacing, and is populated with lively, colourful characters. A secret held since biblical times has been protected by an ancient order, but there are opposing forces closing in on it. It can impart superhuman powers & near invincibility, so the draw is irresistible. Should it fall into the wrong hands, the consequences could be disastrous.

Mr. Eldridge certainly has a flair for storytelling and creating an interesting mystery. I would have liked it if he had taken even more time in telling it - relationships & events happened quickly and could have afforded a lengthier path to develop.

The ending hints at more mysteries to come, which I hope does happen. I would not hesitate to pick up the next novel by this author. Recommended for readers who enjoy thrillers, action adventure tales, quick reads, and ancient mysteries.

Rai Aren, co-author of the award-winning mystery novel Secret of the Sands
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Samson Effect, 19 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Samson Effect: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
I am not a religious person but found the concept and writing of this novel kept captivated to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Samson effect novel, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Samson Effect: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
I could not make my mind up as to what this book was supposed top be, Sci-fi or present day period. In any event it was enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Samson effect, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Samson Effect: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
This book was riveting I would recommend it to anyone who is interested in all Egyptology and discovery books it was a very good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. Brian Nicholson "Wardonia" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Samson Effect: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
Couldn't put it down. It's 01:30 and I have just finished reading it. Oh, apparently seven more words are required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good thriller, 30 Sep 2013
By 
Michael O'callaghan "mikeoc" (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Samson Effect: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
A good read and a good thriller - good to sit back and enjoy on a quiet evening at home
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wordy but a reasonable read, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Samson Effect: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
It was an OK read the premise was interesting if a little far fetched, I finished it and would read another by the same author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hair raising??, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Samson Effect: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
Sorry for the pun. The book kept me on the top of my mental powers throughout. The characters were believable even if the 'effect' was not
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Samson Effect: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
What an imagination Tony Eldridge has, obviously a lot of research and first hand knowledge of the subject matter made this a thoroughly enjoyable read. Tony Eldridge is a writer who is well worth following.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Samson Effect: A Novel
0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews