Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide for writers.
I highly recommend this book. It is written in a way that clearly describes some of the more confusing grammar rules and is an invaluable resource for writers.
Published on 3 May 2011 by SWFbr

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok for the price
More of a short primer than a deep look at the details of grammar. It may suit writers needing a few guidelines during the editing phase. On the down-side, the logic of the organisation is not clear and the text contains a number of basic grammatical errors. However, that said, it is a pleasantly readable guide to fixing some common errors.
Published on 5 Feb 2012 by Acala


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide for writers., 3 May 2011
This review is from: There, Their, They're: A No-Tears Guide to Grammar from the Word Nerd (Kindle Edition)
I highly recommend this book. It is written in a way that clearly describes some of the more confusing grammar rules and is an invaluable resource for writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Instant gratification, 26 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There, Their, They're: A No-Tears Guide to Grammar from the Word Nerd (Kindle Edition)
The best grammar book in the world, probably, at this price and on Kindle anyway :)

After one reading and it was a rather pleasant reading; my grammar and punctuation have improved dramatically. An easy style and layout, this lady certainly knows her stuff, without being stuffy in the teaching process.

This book made brushing up my grammar, comprehensive and enjoyable, highly recommended to anyone that writes anything, even a letter to their milkman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good book to read, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There, Their, They're: A No-Tears Guide to Grammar from the Word Nerd (Kindle Edition)
I choose this book as I am very interested in the grammar, Any one that is interested in the English language would find this book very interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully Readable!, 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There, Their, They're: A No-Tears Guide to Grammar from the Word Nerd (Kindle Edition)
Reading most books on grammar are about as exciting as watching paint dry. Annette Lyon, the daughter of an linguist, makes the subject entertaining while being concise and pragmatic. The book is broken up into bite sized nuggets of information, easily digestible and to retain. I eagerly went through the kindle version of the book every morning while commuting into London. An hour a day keeps the editor's red pencil away! This book also tackles stylistic elements of writing and offers solution that would benefit both the professional and amateur writer alike. This book is a must have, a gift from a thoughtful master of the English language.

My big question is: Is that Ms. Lyon on the cover?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 23 Mar 2013
By 
K. Wilson "skatz" (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There, Their, They're: A No-Tears Guide to Grammar from the Word Nerd (Kindle Edition)
This is perfect for a refresher and reminder about where to put punctuation marks when using quotes or the difference between effect and affect. Great value for just over £1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There, Their, They're: A No-Tears Guide to Grammar from the Word Nerd (Kindle Edition)
I found the product to be exactly as described and am very pleased with it - I would recommend you to my friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grammar in your porcket., 18 Feb 2013
By 
Andy Strutt (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There, Their, They're: A No-Tears Guide to Grammar from the Word Nerd (Kindle Edition)
There are hundreds of books on Grammar and as you can expect it is not one of most peoples favourite subjects to read about, quite often sending the reader to sleep. This book however is very well written and covers all the major problems we humans face when stringing a sentence together. In electronic form and at the price it is for sale, it is a welcome addition to my Kindle when I am out and about and do not want to be carrying a rucksack full of books with me.
Well worth the money, would recommen​d to anyone like me with the less than perfect memory who sometimes needs to brush up on the odd conjugated verb or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok for the price, 5 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There, Their, They're: A No-Tears Guide to Grammar from the Word Nerd (Kindle Edition)
More of a short primer than a deep look at the details of grammar. It may suit writers needing a few guidelines during the editing phase. On the down-side, the logic of the organisation is not clear and the text contains a number of basic grammatical errors. However, that said, it is a pleasantly readable guide to fixing some common errors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For a quick guide, this'll do, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There, Their, They're: A No-Tears Guide to Grammar from the Word Nerd (Kindle Edition)
I just wanted something cheap and simple to make sure I wasn't committing any common grammar crimes. This book did just that, without getting too stuffy. Presented in a quite conversational way rather than dull textbook format, It was quick to read and understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars just what I was looking for!, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There, Their, They're: A No-Tears Guide to Grammar from the Word Nerd (Kindle Edition)
It explains the use of grammar and puts it into context with good examples, which I like. Easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews