Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another teriffic work by Stabenow
Several years ago, his superiors busted Liam Campbell from sergeant to trooper when two of his men fell asleep and failed to heed a call for help, leading to five deaths. Besides the demotion, the brass exiled him to Newenham, a town on the southwest coast of Alaska. Liam's superior hopes that the reassignment will lead to the incident's media frenzy finally ending...
Published on 18 Aug. 1999

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not in "Kate Shugak" league.
From the beginning to the end of every single Shugak novel I was gripped. Consequently I assumed that Liam Campbell books would be of the same quality. However, I have now read the first two and struggled to really care what happens to Liam. Too much information about the area causes an unacceptable delay to the story flow. Left me wondering why after the brilliance of...
Published 18 months ago by Mrs. M. J. Malyon


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another teriffic work by Stabenow, 18 Aug. 1999
By A Customer
Several years ago, his superiors busted Liam Campbell from sergeant to trooper when two of his men fell asleep and failed to heed a call for help, leading to five deaths. Besides the demotion, the brass exiled him to Newenham, a town on the southwest coast of Alaska. Liam's superior hopes that the reassignment will lead to the incident's media frenzy finally ending and the young person returning to his rising career.

Even in the backwaters of Alaska, Liam still has homicides to solve. At an archeological dig, Liam's former lover Wyanet Chounard finds the murdered corpse of an assistant. Someone else notices a fishing boat aimlessly floating downstream. Liam grounds the vessel that carries seven badly burned bodies. Someone tried to cover up the crime by removing the plugs from the boat so it would sink. While his difficult investigation leaves Liam buried in work, his personal life remains in shambles as he still loves Wyn, but cannot find a way back into her arms.

Anyone familiar with the works of Dana Stabenow knows that no one paints a more vivid picture of the Alaskan outback than this awesome author. Her second Campbell mystery (see FIRE AND ICE for Liam's debut) highlights how the native people feel about whites, federal and state laws, and government officials. The mystery is classic Houdini as Ms. Stabenow cleverly misdirects her audience. The touch of romance and other personal problems add a humanizing effect to an already rich police procedural.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable series, 29 Aug. 2011
By 
Fiona P (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So Sure of Death (Liam Campbell Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Once I'd read the first in the series I downloaded the rest and enjoyed them all. The combination of the unusual location (Alaska), the quirky locals and interesting mysteries with a couple of great lead characters made for an enjoyable read. Liam Campbell is someone who doesn't let his fear of flying get in the way of him doing his job - or the difficulty of keeping having to get his uniform dry cleaned! He has to deal with getting to know his new area and the people who live there, plus his guilt about mistakes that have been made in his past which still impact on his life. Am looking forward to reading more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So Sure of Death, 17 April 2011
By 
AJ (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like Dana Stabenow and have read all the Kate Shugak novels. I hadn't approached the Liam Campbell novels so this was my first one. It doesn't seem to have the depth and range of the Shugak novels, but it is set within the same kind of framework and is an enjoyable read. I shall read the rest of the Campbell novels but I shall be watching out for the next Kate Shugak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So Sure Of death, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So Sure of Death (Liam Campbell Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is a new author for me. I read the free book and was delighted to find it set in Alaska which I visited two years ago. I enjoyed the writing style and bought So Sure of Death which I also enjoyed, plenty of twists and turns I shall continue reading the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so sure of death, 10 Mar. 2012
This review is from: So Sure of Death (Liam Campbell Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
A really great read. A fantastic series and unputdownable books. Can't wait to read another please let there be more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So sure if death, 21 Dec. 2013
This review is from: So Sure of Death (Liam Campbell Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I am enjoying the murder investigations in the book but also want to find out how the relationships of the main characters Trooper Campbell and Wy Chouinet progress. Book also gives an amazing insight into life in Alaska.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not in "Kate Shugak" league., 17 Dec. 2013
By 
Mrs. M. J. Malyon "Maureen" (Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So Sure of Death (Liam Campbell Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
From the beginning to the end of every single Shugak novel I was gripped. Consequently I assumed that Liam Campbell books would be of the same quality. However, I have now read the first two and struggled to really care what happens to Liam. Too much information about the area causes an unacceptable delay to the story flow. Left me wondering why after the brilliance of all the Shugak novels would Stabenow indulge in detailed geography lessons about Alaska instead of concentrating on the characters and what they are doing. The result culminates to quite dull reading. This book was sadly disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fatal distractions, 14 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So Sure of Death (Liam Campbell Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the first of the series when it was offered free so I decided to buy the next one.

Great descriptions of Alaska and Alaskan life but I was completely de-railed by the choice of character names - every mention of Molly Malone had me humming "Cockles and Mussels" and the introduction of Diana Prince brought "Wonder Woman" and an instant mental image of Lynda Carter to mind every time she was referred to. As Ms Prince looks like a permanent addition to the cast of key characters I'm probably not going to be able to get past this which is a shame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Top class read, 27 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So Sure of Death (Liam Campbell Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Anyone familiar with the series knows that no one paints a more vivid picture of the Alaskan outback than this Dana Stabenow. Her second Campbell mystery highlights how the native people feel about whites, federal and state laws, and government officials. The mystery writer cleverly misdirects her audience. The touch of romance and other personal problems add a humanizing effect to a novel already rich in police procedures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read!, 24 Mar. 2013
By 
John J. Hunter "bookworm" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So Sure of Death (Liam Campbell Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
A thoroughly good read,reasonably plotted,with interesting main characters. The Authors,first hand knowledge,of a very harsh,enduring, enviroment,and the type of people who survive,on the edge of civilisation,adds immensely, to the overall,enjoyment.Would recommend this to readers of "Adventure/Crime" type Reading.Having purchased and enjoyed the first book,couldn`t wait to read the follow up book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

So Sure of Death (Liam Campbell Book 2)
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews