Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
Thomas Sowell is a clear-sighted economist and writer, who has produced here a highly readable and very informative insight into free market economics.
He invites the reader to look to the results of policy, rather than the intentions of politicians (good as they may seem) - for instance, he shows how minimum wages increase youth unemployment and rent controls reduce...
Published on 12 April 2011 by MonsterMunch

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Infuriating in the extreme
this is an unbelievably biased and simplistic right wing version of economics with very selective use of information and statistics. It was like watching a traffic accident and I had to get to the end though I was annoyed the whole time and i consider my political views to be right wing. Not only was it biased it was overly long and slow and I never want to hear the word...
Published 4 months ago by paulkuk


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 April 2011
Thomas Sowell is a clear-sighted economist and writer, who has produced here a highly readable and very informative insight into free market economics.
He invites the reader to look to the results of policy, rather than the intentions of politicians (good as they may seem) - for instance, he shows how minimum wages increase youth unemployment and rent controls reduce the availability of cheap housing, when both are ostensibly aimed at achieving entirely different aims.
I give this four stars, rather than five, only because I feel that it is slightly over-written; he makes the same points more than once. I'm sure that this is because he is trying to hammer home a message to non-economists, but it occasionally drags.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon emailed me about trading my copy in..., 31 May 2013
By 
Mr. J. Riordan (Ealing, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Trade this book in?

No chance - its brilliant, and I want to read it again, probably more than once.

Thomas Sowell is not just insightful, wise and clever, he has a gift for putting forward complex ideas in the most concise and accurate terms, and makes a dry subject fascinating and even at times funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 12 Mar 2014
By 
A. F. Lane (Lichfield England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Worried it would be too high-brow but it is clear simple, concise, and well informed. So pleased I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Infuriating in the extreme, 17 Mar 2014
this is an unbelievably biased and simplistic right wing version of economics with very selective use of information and statistics. It was like watching a traffic accident and I had to get to the end though I was annoyed the whole time and i consider my political views to be right wing. Not only was it biased it was overly long and slow and I never want to hear the word "moreover" again for a long time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Excellent., 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
AN excellent book from Mr Thomas Sowell.

Excellent writer, very prolific, well documented and with an excellent sense of pointing out the truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basic Economics, 18 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very easy to read book for anyone who wants to give themselves a basic understanding of economics. It is very lengthy but very informative. For people like myself who have little or no understanding of economics I found this to be a very good & indepth primer.Do not be put off by its length.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well written but downright biased, 2 Mar 2012
By 
I am giving 3 stars to this book because it is well written and quite engaging. Furthermore, it encourages people to think about economic policies in terms of their effects on prices and incentives and their possible unintended consequences.

However, it is an embarrassingly one-sided praise of free markets, with cherry-picked examples to suit the author's ideology and no consideration to other valid points of view. Even the most simplistic introductory economics textbooks offer more room for critical thinking that this book.

No matter what your ideology and politics are, if you want to understand a bit more about economic problems, and you want to see through the arguments of many "experts" and politicians, you need a more balanced view of both the subject of economics itself, and how it applies to the world around us, than what this book offers. Still, if you keep this in mind, it's a fairly good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 9 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. C. Hall "Chris" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant. Clearly stating how economics actually works rather than how many people wished it worked. Thomas Sowell is a great popular writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag, 9 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book gives a good overview into the general principles of economics, and how markets can work to create wealth. In that, it does a reasonable job.

However, there are two issues I have with the book:
- The first is the desperate desire to "sell" free-market economics, based on anecdote, and with negative coverage of all forms of regulation or alternative economic models
- The second is the amount of time the author spends talking about how important economics is, how it is vital that people use it to solve the worlds problems (or rather, use it to realise that they can't). I'd much rather he talking about economic theories and models!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DRM protected, will not load onto Kindle, 19 Oct 2013
By 
Robert B. Franks (sheffield, yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased the digital copy of this book to read on my Kindle. It loads onto my PC OK and the cover loads onto the Kindle but then comes up as "Invalid item this item is protected with DRM and cannot be read on your Kindle."

Don't buy the kindle version, it won't download to a Kindle.

Have not read the book, since I can only read it on my desktop PC.

I can't give it zero stars on the Amazon system, so its rated as one star = zero (avoid).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews