Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterclass in medical literature
Guyton and Hall's Medical Physiology is a superb textbook. It is a comprehensive bible for the pre-clinical medical student, with good, clear illustrations and a clinical emphasis which is in keeping with most basic medical science texts of today. However, perhaps more importantly, the beauty of Guyton and Hall's book lies in its smooth, serene prose, which manages to...
Published on 2 Feb 2011 by S. Javed

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It took me 6 months to understand that the details were just blocking my way to understand the principles of physiology
I love details, but the amount of details in Guyton and Hall is overwhelming. As much as I hate to say this, the book was not usefull. As a reference yes, but not as your primary studying book. It takes hours and hours to cover up simple topics because it is so detailed. This made it really hard to figure out what the important stuff is.

In the middle of the...
Published 12 months ago by Anna


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterclass in medical literature, 2 Feb 2011
By 
S. Javed - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Guyton and Hall's Medical Physiology is a superb textbook. It is a comprehensive bible for the pre-clinical medical student, with good, clear illustrations and a clinical emphasis which is in keeping with most basic medical science texts of today. However, perhaps more importantly, the beauty of Guyton and Hall's book lies in its smooth, serene prose, which manages to perfectly convey the dynamic and exciting intricacies of human physiology.

All topics of physiology are covered and the book excels at combining breath and depth. Cardiovascular physiology is one of major strengths of Guyton and Hall. The chapters on cardiac failure and pathophysiology of shock were especially very good and gave a comprehensive overview of the physiological mechanisms that come into play in these conditions. The book's coverage haemostasis, renal and endocrine physiology was also suitably comprehensive and I found these chapters to be very well written. My main complaint was the coverage of reproductive physiology which I thought could have had slightly more depth.

Guyton does not have as great a range of illustrations as its competitors, such as Boron and Boulpaep. This is partly because in Guyton, the diagrams only act to complement the text but I feel that some more illustrations could be included without breaking the flow of the prose. Guyton and Hall feels like a story book at times and I enjoy this dimension of its writing. This is the main reason I prefer it over the onerous and pragmatic writing style that Ganong favours.

The textbook fairly hefty, but physiology is a major part of preclinical medicine and this book encompasses relevant aspects of the discipline for the medical student. It isn't meant to be carried in your pocket, but is meant to sit on your desk as an approachable aid to understanding. Guyton and Hall's physiology also sports a rather big price tag -- well, you get what you pay for-- and, in this case at least, you're getting a textbook of rare quality.

In short, I feel that Guyton and Hall's Medical Physiology stands near the pinnacle of undergraduate medical literature. Surely it is one of the best written books on undergraduate medical physiology and, despite it's massive size, it is very approachable for someone who has just done A-level biology and is taking their first steps in medical school. If you want to avoid spending attention on learning from multiple physiology text and want to study physiology from a single textbook, which doesn't skimp on detail and stays relevant without causing an information overload, look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 Mar 2012
It makes the most complex of concepts simple- that is how well written it is. Admittedly it is a hefty book, but physiology really is the glue that holds everything together- anatomy, biochemistry, histology, genetics, etc and it has a word or two to say about everything. Definitely a good book to use during your studies and as a reference when your done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As Good As Ever, 11 Oct 2010
By 
Dhondy (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
I first read this book as a medical student from 1985-87! Twenty five years later, as a practicing Internist, I had this almost irrepressible urge to go back and see how it's changed. A lot of water has flown under the bridge- Arthur C Guyton is no more, Hall has taken over as the principal author, and medicine has changed almost beyond recognition. The book still retains its almost unputdownable readability though- you are hooked almost as soon as you start, racing through to the next chapter, in a childlike urge to find out what happens next. It's gratifying to see long forgotten Physics cropping up quite often. Did you know for example that Diffusion coefficient of gases is equal to its solubility/square root of molecular weight? Or which among hypercapnoea and hypoxia is the acute driver of respiration as opposed to a chronic stimulator?

The only reason I gave a 4-star rating as opposed to 5 was the continuing use of now outdated terms such as SRS-A- Slow Reacting Substance of Anaphylaxis to the uninitiated. Every man and his dog knows that these are a mixture of leukotrienes- something that the author acknowledges in another part of the book- one really can't be too careful when you have old fogeys with long memories re-reading the text after 25 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice! It's understandable and very extended., 1 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very nice book! It contains a lot of examples for the topics contents in the book. It's very useful to understand the very specific and technical physiology of the human body, I mean, the author explains the physiology through various experiments were done so far.
If you are a medical student, I suggest to complement this book with another one which is more basic and concise.
This is the ideal book for those who like to know all the processes and the very single details which sometimes are not so important in spite of being very curious and interesting.
If you want to buy it, just do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Guyton physiology, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Explains all physiology concepts with the assumption you understand nothing- whilst this does make it unattractive for reference it is perfect for ensuring you understand physiological principles. Detail somewhat lacking but you can use Borons as a reference. Recommended for purchase for a medical student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Everything you need for physiology modules at med school. It is a long read though so not too good for revision, but comprehensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for my daughter, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for my daughter who is studying medicine at university and was recommended for her degree. She tells me it is perfect and is still using it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book, very concise, clear explanations, great for quick revision, and preparation for exams, will definitely recommend to friends and colleagues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very usefull, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Helps a lot as a first year, has everything you need to know about the physiology of the body.
Would Recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Medical Physiology book, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I cannot speak highly enough about this book. I'm a first year medical student finishing my first year and this book has had everything I have needed so far.
It is extremely well written, clear and concise. So for those lectures where you didn't quite grasp the concept it's perfect for going over again.

I particularly like how it helps to link different aspects of physiology together by signposting you to linked concepts which is great when trying to retain such a vast amount of information.

The information is delivered with clear subheadings in larger topics with themes and units throughout, the diagrams are fantastic and especially for making your own notes in a power point presentation, student consult enables you to put digital versions of the diagrams into your notes.

Definitely my favourite textbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews