Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frankie's swansong.
The often ignored second and last FGTH album.
More of a straightforward album than "Pleasuredome" it delivers eight infectious rock/funk/disco tracks. Recorded at a time when the band were split in terms of musical ambition (Holly wanting more of a disco sound, The Lads wanting a rockier sound) the songs hold together surprisingly well and have a style of their...
Published on 8 Jan. 2004 by Richard

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frankie Says... Somewhat Under-rated
Liverpool was the second and indeed final album from the Scouse mid-80s megastars (even though much of their first album was played by session musicians).
This cut was lambasted by the critics upon it's release and it was never really going to get the tricky tag of 'the difficult second album syndrome' removed from it. It's certainly not up there with FGTH's epic...
Published on 9 Dec. 2002 by Chris-Hyams


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars I haven't listened to this for 27 years, until ..., 11 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liverpool (Audio CD)
I haven't listened to this for 27 years,
until tonight.
I owned the cassette once.
It was definitely worth the wait....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gr8, 25 Feb. 2013
By 
K. Brookes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liverpool (Audio CD)
Wish I'd bought it years ago!!! I keep playing it time after time. FGTHW THE BEST!!!!

get it now guys
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value!, 15 Aug. 2011
By 
S. Bach (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liverpool (Audio CD)
If you already have the standard edition of this album, as I had, you're probably most interested in the bonus mateial. If you haven't, but like Frankie, there's really good value for your money here. The second disc alone was worth the purchase for me, as it is full of previously unreleased material, especially if you don't have those old cassettes. Even if you have, it's nice to get it in this great quality... don't forget that half of CD1 is bonus material as well :-) And in a nice packaging to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Swansong of greatness., 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I LOVE FGTH. this is a great album. We need more....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Nov. 2014
By 
J. A. Lille - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liverpool (MP3 Download)
ahead of there time glad i had them when i did
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Anti Climax, 27 May 2014
By 
Mr. Peter Steward "petersteward" (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Liverpool (Audio CD)
Sadly this was a sorry kind of anti-climax after Pleasuredome and this one hasn't aged that well. There is little to recommend a stodgy album that rather than being a celebration of Liverpool is a reminder that some bands peak all too soon and then fizzle out.

The name is completely wrong. As if plucked out of the air "hey guys what should we call the second album - let's call it after our home town." Not a good idea. There is little of the Scouse feel about this - indeed Pleasuredome was more of a homage to the Mersey than this ever was. Languid songs without a great deal of change of tempo - as if Frankie was saying cop a load of this, it's not very different but you will like it. The problem is most people didn't - and so Frankie Goes to Hollywood pretty much sailed into obscurity with only their fine first album to remember them by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liverpool (Audio CD)
great thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reissue, 20 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Liverpool (Audio CD)
I love Frankie!! Plain and simple.

All the extras (especially the remixes) on the cd are worth the Price of admission.

Enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Liverpool (DeLuxe Edition)
Liverpool (DeLuxe Edition) by Frankie Goes To Hollywood
Buy MP3 Album: Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews