Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart, witty, and well crafted
I purchased this series on a whim and I only wish I could pick lottery tickets that turn out so well!! It's very smartly written and well animated. The story is enjoyable and keeps it together very well, there is very little wandering off into esoteric ramblings like many such series do. Now all I need is for the last series of D-Gray Man to be released and all will be...
Published 18 months ago by R. J. Barrow

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh...
This will be a short review. Bought this anime off of the strength of the studio producing it (Bones, the studio behind FMA, samurai champloo, darker than black and many others). The series started well - good characters, good premise and great art style, but the series degenerates rapidly as it approaches its very contrived lacklustre ending.
Published 3 months ago by K. Mitchell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart, witty, and well crafted, 24 Dec 2012
By 
R. J. Barrow - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul Eater - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased this series on a whim and I only wish I could pick lottery tickets that turn out so well!! It's very smartly written and well animated. The story is enjoyable and keeps it together very well, there is very little wandering off into esoteric ramblings like many such series do. Now all I need is for the last series of D-Gray Man to be released and all will be good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Soul Eater is something..., 16 July 2012
This review is from: Soul Eater - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I want to say it is awesome, I want to agree with the critics I want to make this the back bone of great animation but the more I try to think of it's flaws the more I think about how much hard work went into this anime compared to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death with a smile!, 20 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul Eater - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
It's funny, brilliant animation that made me constantly think about how many episodes I had left because I didn't want it to end. If you like Bleach, Naruto, Kiba, Death Note, Claymore, Wolf's Rain, Outlaw Star, Guran Lagann or any such animes, you would be mad not to give it a go. Then again if you don't want 17 straight hours of your life spent watching this series, walk away - scroll up this page and click on something else I am sure you'll 'accidentally' click on this eventually and then you can buy it then :P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Mar 2011
By 
R. M. Hedworth (NE U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Soul Eater - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
While I don't own this box set I have all 4 volumes seperatley and I can honestly say that if you're an anime fan or just getting into anime that this is the series for you.
The artwork may not be as good as the likes of Angel Beats! but it is still good in its own way, the fight scenes are spectacular and the plot is near perfection bar a few bits that just randomly popped up at the end with no explaination into them.

I completely enjoyed watching this series and [] is a very good price for all 51 episodes seeing as at the likes of hmv you're looking at 25 per volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Your Soul Is Going To Be Mine!, 23 Oct 2011
This review is from: Soul Eater - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Soul Eater is fantastic. Its funny, its weird, its exciting, its got most of what you expect in a good anime. The series is great to watch because its got a good and decent story. The dub is very good, espcaily with Tod Haberkorn (Ling in Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood) as Death the Kid, and Vic Mignogna (Edward Elric Fullmetal Alchemist series) as Death Sythe. The animation is also very good and dosn't change through-out the whole series, especaily when it comes to fillers. Even though the series is good I have to point out some miner bad points. Theres the fact that the series takes a good number of episodes to get going, but when things get going you'll want to keep watching no matter what. Also in some way I didn't exacly like the ending, it was'nt as good as I hoped it would've been. Still apperently the ending to the anime and manga are different, so it'll be intersting to see how different the ending is compared to the anime. Don't get me wrong I like the ending, but it could have been better. Still this series is good enough for there to be a second season, so hopfuly there'll be a second season based on the second Soul Eater manga series-Soul Eater NOT!-which is a continuation of the first Soul Eater series. Still if you like other anime series like Naruto, Bleach or the Fullmetal Alchemist series, then this is for you. Even if you are new to anime still try out this series, its very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Your soul is mine, 25 Aug 2011
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
"A sound soul dwells within a sound mind and a sound body." If a soul becomes evil, it has the potential to turn into a demonic kishin -- which is when the meisters and their shapeshifting weapon/partners come in. "Soul Eater Parts 1 and 2" is a solid beginning to a well-written, deliciously Halloweeny fantasy series, with solid writing and a twisty-turny subplot that promises to get even better with time.

The meisters of the DWMA work for Lord Death to keep the world from being overrun with kishin -- they get rid of evil souls, kill monsters, battle witches, and try to collect souls so that their weapon/partners can become Death Scythes. Among their number are Maka and her scythe Soul Eater, narcissistic ninja Black Star and Tsubaki, and Death's OCD son Death the Kid and his twin pistols Patty and Liz.

But nabbing the right combination of evil souls isn't their only problem: they have to grapple with zombies, mad scientists, the legendary sword Excalibur, a vengeful werewolf, and the demon blade Masamune (who also happens to be Tsubaki's brother). Even worse, the meisters must battle the evil witch Medusa, who has infected Soul Eater with the madness-inducing black blood. Btu this little group may be the world's only hope when Medusa seals away Death and his meisters, so she can unleash the ultimate horror on the world.

"Soul Eater" is a series that looks kind of... well, cartoonish. Think bug-eyed trees, big grinning sun and moon, cats in pointy hats, and an academy apparently built out of skulls and candles. All it needs is some vampires. Fortunately, there's substance under all the Halloween kitsch -- "Soul Eater Parts 1 and 2" is a solid dark fantasy story that becomes outright brilliant in its second half.

The series starts out a bit fluffy, but once the characters have been introduced, the writers spin up a good balance of action, a hint of romance, and plenty of comedy ("Why are you standing up there yelling like an idiot?" Soul asks Black Star, who was trying to sneak up on them). And it dips into darker territory as it winds on, especially with the grotesque madness that is sneaking up on Soul.

It also has a strangely endearing cast, who are usually odd couples. There's uptight Maka and laid-back Soul, who bicker and snipe but clearly care deeply for one another; Black Star makes Naruto look sedate, but turns out to be deeper than his narcissistic rantings would suggest, and the mild-mannered Tsubaki is a sweet foil to him. Death the Kid rounds out the cast nicely -- he's violently OCD (and I mean that literally), and obsessed with symmetry in everything. Don't mention his hair.

The voice actors also deserve a shout-out -- Laura Bailey, Monica Rial, Vic Mignogna and John Swasey all do excellent jobs as their characters, and Todd Haberkorn is utterly brilliant ("I'm a pig! A louse! I deserve to die!"). And relative newbie Micah Solusod (who sounds eerily like Johnny Yong Bosch) is perfect as the titular character.

This solid, kitschy-horror series starts off a bit frothy, but soon achieves a brilliant balance of light and darkness. "Soul Eater Parts 1 and 2" is a solid first half to an enjoyable series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the Wait, 6 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul Eater - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
My son waited for this for a long time but the wait was definitely worth it. Although not my cup of tea I was gripped as much as my children and would definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny. But!, 18 July 2011
This review is from: Soul Eater - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This box set was most certainly worth every penny, as this was cheaper than buying all the volumes individually. The story line is awesome and the comical relief added in does make this an awesome anime. However, this ends on episode 51 and there has been no sign of a second series which may disappoint some who want all the loose ends, tied up. All in all, it was worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Soul Eater - one of the best anime series of all time..., 30 Jun 2014
This review is from: Soul Eater - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is the second anime series I have completely watched start to finish, and it still remains one of my all time favourite anime. The anime features many unique characters and the art style is one which cannot be seen in any other anime. It's certainly not your usual anime series, and there are a few alterations from the manga - the voice acting is great, animation feels smooth and the comic relief is a nice touch! 9.5/10 would watch again! (Japanese with English subs)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Go for it!, 10 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul Eater - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I'm still reading the manga and some years ago I watched the first episode, but just that one. When I saw that was available at Amazon I choose to buy it.
Not bad but not the same story as the manga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Soul Eater - The Complete Series [DVD]
Soul Eater - The Complete Series [DVD] by Brittney Karbowski (DVD - 2011)
49.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews