Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
15
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 October 2012
An excellent bit of nostalgia depicting the railways of the period accurately. The stunts perfomed were quite beathtaking and would
give present day health and safety officials a heart attack. the screen debut of Ray Milland showed the talent that was to take him
on to a great film career, and a real treat to see a hardly recogniseable young Moore Marriot (of later fame in the classic "Oh mister porter")
All in all a good watch for film and railway buffs.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2011
I have had previous VHS copies of this film. The DVD version is very much clearer and the sound track is less hissy. All in all a good buy and an excellent copy of an important early British sound film. For railway buffs, it is now possible to freeze frame on engine scenes other than those of the Flying Scotsman engibe itself.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
The Flying Scotsman DVD 1929 - great old film - the first part is silent, then it gets sound - most unusual. Good story line, and fun film. Moore Marriott is a good recommendation, then there is Ray Milland! Great shots of the Flying Scotsman train, and great stunts. LOVE IT!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
Never seen it before and only saw it existed via the internet. having seen it I now understand why the LNER management were so unhappy. Transition from silent to talkies make it a historical item. the plot is ok, not too difficult to follow by the stunt work by the artists themselves is astounding. High recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2016
Terrific for train fans, as it shows the Flying Scotsman in all its glory - it is the STAR OF THE FILM !
The very first British talkie - it begins as a silent film & then sound comes in after 15 minutes, so a good one for film fans & those studying this area as part of a course. Ray Milland's film debut too - made before he goes to Hollywood, he has yet to acquire an American accent!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2014
This for its day was a good film. Its daring stunts , shots of the flying scotsman speeding along,
and ray milland playing a jealous man make it watchable The sound wasnt so good then
and the script is poor , but its stll enjoyable .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2016
This is a wonderful exciting film with superb shots of the Flying Scotsman at speed. However, BEWARE, the copy I received is a shortened version of the film and if you want to see the evocative scenes in Kings Cross Top and Bottom Sheds, you'll be disappointed. Many of these scenes have been shortened or or even cut out completely. I e-mailed the owners Studio Canal to ask about this, but never received a reply.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
I was uncertain about this rare old film. It took a little while to get going, but I really enjoyed seeing the train and the storyline was believable too! I think it would appeal to enthusiasts as it did my husband.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
This is the second dvd of this title. First one refused to play in my modern Samsung player. Treble checked. Not my player, was the dvd. Received second disc [thank you Amazon, no quibble] however this one also does not play. Obviously a disc error issue. Too much hastle to return. Eventually may find something to play it on. Quite frustrated. Nobodys fault though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2016
This movie contains an interesting plot in addition to some great shots of steam locomotives. It's a film everyone can enjoy. Print quality is very
good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse